Selespeed156 Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 Aye brothers... I changed to a new battery in less than 10 months ago. During servicing today, Massa (Alfa Agent) told me that my battery is about to "die" very soon, need to change immediately. I am using a 66 amp continental make maintenance-free battery. I never had the experience of needing to change the car battery only after 9 months of usage....... The thing is,... for a maintenance free battery, a friend of mine (who happen to sell Hoppekke (spelling) car batteries) warned that it should not be meddled with (i.e. the kiasu act of topping-up "battery water"), else the life-span would be reduced. Whereas the battery shop Ah Peh"(whom I bought my present battery from)" said Singapore weather hot.... need to top-up once in a while.... I am confused..... any advice....?? Looks like I am going for the 74 amps one man.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 Change to the Hoppecke 74Ah one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 Change, change, change! Don't feel too sorrowful about the early death of your battery...my maintenance-required battery died on me at the age of 1.25 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Selespeed156 Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Author Share April 29, 2003 (edited) Thanks... the question is ... should I top-up or not to top-up the electrolyte of my next maintenance-free battery?? Do you do that, how long has your battery lasted?? Edited April 29, 2003 by Selespeed156 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 (edited) 10 mths, that's really fast. Ur car loaded with plenty of ICE? Edited April 29, 2003 by Shagmobil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Selespeed156 Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Author Share April 29, 2003 no leh... got something to do with "trying to do maintenance" to maintenance-free battery I suspect... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dome Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 Yo bro, To make sure your "maintenance-free battery" have a longer life span, its wise not to do any top-up. Such battery are usually seal up for longer lasting usage. Usually you can't even see the opening screws. My advice.... since its "maintenance free"...then just leave it as it is. "Live Life to the max." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 My hoppecke batter is the sealed up maintenence free type, no need to top up.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie April 29, 2003 Share April 29, 2003 "how long has your battery lasted??" Hi! there, Selespeed156, Send your car back to Massa and ask for a new battery. It's still under warranty right?? Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duadua2 Neutral Newbie April 30, 2003 Share April 30, 2003 maybe the battery for continental car is not suitable for our climate,so have to change every 9-12 mths.my 2cts opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear April 30, 2003 Share April 30, 2003 that's a bit too fast.. mine normally last at least 1.5 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 I learn that most battery comes with a 20,000km or 12 months factory warranty, maybe you should chewck on this before you change. (month is a bit too short unless your luck is bad. Anyway, life span of battery depend on luck sometime and most of the time, your usage. If the rating is wrong, then life span affected badly, try upgrade to bigger capacity.....price not much diff but worth the trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bprr Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 Wow, very strange that is short in life. Mine last me abour five years since day one i.e. orginal battery comes with my new car. Hope the new one will last. Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Selespeed156 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Author Share May 4, 2003 5 years?!?!?! That's very long time... good for you. Thanks for all the advice and comments guys.. Got mine changed to Hoppecke 74 amps one! One of the biggest rating one. I will never open up to top up battery water liao... if not warranty will void. Lets see how long this would last. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 I am a newbie so please bear with me. I tried cranking engine today and discovered that the batt was flat. In the end my uncle had to come and help. We could only jump start my car after his battery was swapped with mine i.e. put his batt in my engine bay. After returning his battery, i thought that driving will charge back my discharged battery via the alternator. when i reached my grandma's hse, i did an engine crank after switching off the engine and it was fine. But when i return to the car with the purpose of leaving, the car engine couldn't be crank started again. Since i was able to jump start my engine with my uncle's battery so i think the charging system ie. alternator is alright. But I thought that driving normally will enable charging of the accumulator to take place? How come the battery ended up getting discharged in a matter of 2~3 hours? Now I am contemplating between sending the car battery for a charging and getting a new battery altogether. Please help by giving valuable inputs. Thank you very much! btw, i am driving a stock G9 corolla with no additional ICE whatsoever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 u need to change ur battery its not about the alternator anymore its about the capacity of the battery to charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 mine always last only 1.2years i wonder is it my alternator spoil experts any comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 Thanks for replying.. Do you know where i can get car battery like tml or something? I heard of Nam Wah but dunno whether they open or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...