Brock 1st Gear April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 I just changed my brake discs and brake pads. On the 2nd day, I heard some sounds coming from the front of the car. I'm not sure whether is it the brakes or not. When I move off slowly and gently press the brake, everything is fine. However, after travelling at higher speeds (e.g. 40km/h) and I start to brake, initially it would be fine. However, when the speed slows down to 25km (approximately) or lesser, there will be this 'grock grock grock' sound and it gets slower as the car moves slower until it comes to a complete stop. This has been happening for the past two days. Is this normal after a brake disc + pad change? Or is there a problem? If it's the latter, what is roughly wrong with it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 What is your car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear April 18, 2007 Author Share April 18, 2007 Auto tranny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 Sounds like a warped brake disc? Best to get it checked, this is a safety consideration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 There are quite a few topic spoken about this. However, it sounded like new brakes scrubing in..if the disc rotor is warp, there will be vibration to the steering upon braking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 i also have his problem too...but i dun think its new brake scrubing in leh coz mine is like going 6mths old...could it be the brake housing not well lubricated??? i just guessing.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear April 18, 2007 Author Share April 18, 2007 Thanks for the reply. It's a new brake disc. Changed a new pair of front brake discs, including the brake pads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear April 18, 2007 Author Share April 18, 2007 Thanks for the reply. I did not feel any vibrations to the steering wheel upon braking. Just heard the sounds. Hopefully it's just new brakes scrubbing in. I'm just worried about safety that's all. The installer told me to run it for 20km. Not sure whether is that enough or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 Yes, you are absolutely right. There are many issues too, like cold brakes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 There are many reasons to this, lack of lubrication on the brake parts and cold brakes is also an issue (always reminded my wife about it). Safety is definitely a concern, then try hard braking and feel it, make sure you do that in a safe environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 I oso have this 'grock grock grock' sound when I apply brake to slow the car just 2 mths ago. Send back to TCM & they say that is due to the rotor & replace it foc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antisocial April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 everytime for the first 2-3 braking of my car, the brakes will have a screaming sound... check with my friend who previously owned an ATOS, it's quite common for old cars... driving a G7 corolla here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 me too, damn sian, last servicing i complained and they just removed some parts out and lubricate...now it still gives out the sound occassionally... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 think like wat one bro mentioned could be sign of rotor going to kaput. complain last servicing, they just removed some parts and lubricate and i still have the sound occassionally going to complain again next servicing...hard braking grip is still good, just dun like the sound Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 If rotor is going, you can feel it when braking, buffeting on the steering during light braking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 it is possible with new brake pads, but should be going in a few days. did you check yuor brake disc, maybe warp and need some trimming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 wah...then headache liao....dunnoe wat wrong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear April 18, 2007 Author Share April 18, 2007 There are many reasons to this, lack of lubrication on the brake parts and cold brakes is also an issue (always reminded my wife about it). Safety is definitely a concern, then try hard braking and feel it, make sure you do that in a safe environment. Thanks for the reply and will try it the hard braking in a safe environment. There's a pretty long stretch of empty road near my place...every week there's illegal racing there too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...