Tempering of Petrol Gauge

Code01

I ve always maintained that giam-siap people who look for 101 ways to save on petrol should not drive cars.

its like want to drink kopi but find it costly so tell the hawker,

"mai terng, mai gunee, mai puay, mai arn nee chuay kopi hoon"

U referring to my Avatar??? [laugh]

when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? [hur][hur]

they will put one long metal rod into the car fuel tank.. just like checking oil level.. they will know if tank is 3/4 full or less

Have you tried inserting something into your fuel tank before?

BTW, have you seen the various shape and sizes of fuel tank as well?

YA n the shaft from the opening into the petrol tank isn't a straight line down lor... it is quite impossible or difficult to take measurements of ur fuel level with a dipstick. [sweatdrop]

Ppl come up with all sorts of myths bout the customs like X-ray machines to scan ur petrol tank etc etc... [laugh]

Go by weight oso not accurate, if u have passengers, got lotsa ICE etc how?

But I really wonder how they catch these ppl too. Bcoz they don't routinely stop cars to check the fuel needle either. Do they randomly stop cars to check the fuel needle and inspect for tampering? So far I haven't seen that.

Or those caught were baotohed by others who knew.... lipsrsealed.gif

Sis, i believe that most likely is kena 'Baotohed' gossip.gifgossip.gifgossip.gif

there was once my tank was between 1/2 and 3/4.

they checked my gauge and let me go.laugh.gif

Sometimes, they 'Pang Chan' [:)]

Good for you [thumbsup]

In Reply To
these custom guys very experience one, if the car is empty tank, the weight of the car sure lighter than if its 3/4 tank full. they just observe the tyre pressure on the road can leow..

Steady.. observe thru the pressue of tyre pressue.. Very innovative sly.giftongue.gif

your comment..trying to make me laugh all over again izzit..? tongue.gif

tyre pressure.... laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif[/reply]

We need innovative answer to innovative idea [:p]

In Reply To

when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? hur.gifhur.gif

they will put one long metal rod into the car fuel tank.. just like checking oil level.. they will know if tank is 3/4 full or less

i've also heard of story whereby the officer will come close to the fuel tank opening and then yell in it..he will then try to hear for echoes.. if there is and depending on the number of echoes heard, its an indication of the level of fuel left in the tank.. rolleyes.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif[/reply]

Oh ya..I have heard of that as well. Hear say it's quite accurate... Apparently those officers are very well-trained and is in demand. [laugh]

In Reply To
i think they measure by the weight..

petrol is not light you know..

What is the weight of an Amp? or Sub woofer?

How about steel rim vs Forged rim?

and what is the weight difference between full and empty tank?

also a good excuse to be fat..to compensate the fuel weight.. rolleyes.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif[/reply]

so a visit to the toilet for big and/or small also make a difference then

when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? [hur][hur]

YA n the shaft from the opening into the petrol tank isn't a straight line down lor... it is quite impossible or difficult to take measurements of ur fuel level with a dipstick. [sweatdrop]

Ppl come up with all sorts of myths bout the customs like X-ray machines to scan ur petrol tank etc etc... [laugh]

Go by weight oso not accurate, if u have passengers, got lotsa ICE etc how?

Thus, there's good reason why we shd shift this thread to litz and Ez.. [sly]

quick question: do they check for illegal modifications? or should i say do they care if u have illegal modifications ?

i got coilover. i can vary the ride height? than how???

i believe it's paotoh lah.. they will pump out all the fuel n weigh it. cannot escape this check [dead]

Addtional of a switch whereby once you activate it, your fuel gauge will show 3/4 even when your fuel tank is empty [nod][nod][nod]

These 2 guys might have got caught by doing what u've said. If they have, maybe, half tank, they might not get caught at all. Why? IMO, they were caught when their car passes through the X-Ray machine...... [lipsrsealed]

Btw, X-Ray is not a myth, its those portable types that they've once shown to public in a news report.

Edited by Gilgamesh

In Reply To

when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? hur.gifhur.gif

i've also heard of story whereby the officer will come close to the fuel tank opening and then yell in it..he will then try to hear for echoes.. if there is and depending on the number of echoes heard, its an indication of the level of fuel left in the tank.. rolleyes.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif[/reply]

this actually makes more sense than looking at the tire pressure or the state of sag of the suspension [laugh]

In Reply To
these custom guys very experience one, if the car is empty tank, the weight of the car sure lighter than if its 3/4 tank full. they just observe the tyre pressure on the road can leow..

Steady.. observe thru the pressue of tyre pressue.. Very innovative sly.giftongue.gif

your comment..trying to make me laugh all over again izzit..? tongue.gif

tyre pressure.... laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

We need innovative answer to innovative idea tongue.gif [/reply]

and dump question will be met by 'intelligent' answers.. laugh.gif

In Reply To

i've also heard of story whereby the officer will come close to the fuel tank opening and then yell in it..he will then try to hear for echoes.. if there is and depending on the number of echoes heard, its an indication of the level of fuel left in the tank.. rolleyes.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Oh ya..I have heard of that as well. Hear say it's quite accurate... Apparently those officers are very well-trained and is in demand. laugh.gif [/reply]

they even beat dogs who are trained to sniff for petrol.. lipsrsealed.gif

In Reply To

What is the weight of an Amp? or Sub woofer?

How about steel rim vs Forged rim?

and what is the weight difference between full and empty tank?

also a good excuse to be fat..to compensate the fuel weight.. rolleyes.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

so a visit to the toilet for big and/or small also make a difference then [/reply]

not only that.. your gf, wife, mistress or even maid's boob size also make a difference.. sly.gif

In Reply To

In Reply To

they will put one long metal rod into the car fuel tank.. just like checking oil level.. they will know if tank is 3/4 full or less [/reply]

i've also heard of story whereby the officer will come close to the fuel tank opening and then yell in it..he will then try to hear for echoes.. if there is and depending on the number of echoes heard, its an indication of the level of fuel left in the tank.. rolleyes.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif [/reply]

this actually makes more sense than looking at the tire pressure or the state of sag of the suspension laugh.gif

so much opinions..that some can even make little kids laugh.. rolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif

if so much worried on how they knew or how they check, ask those jokers who have been caught or check with anyone who knows the immigration/custom officers who works there and ask their modus operandi lah.. unimpressed.gifPosted Image

quick question: do they check for illegal modifications? or should i say do they care if u have illegal modifications ?

Nope they don't...

Edited by Yc86

Just escort u to the nearest petrol station and ask u to top up can already ba

From the model can know the capacity, then compare with how much can pump in. [:/]

all these weighing methods are non-standard.. what if car gt accident b4, have alot of weldings?

+ addons like bodykits, spoilers, CF hood... etc.

Factor in all these? [dizzy]