Code01 Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 Just saw in papers yesterday, 2 guys caught tempering their petrol gauges kanna fine $500 n jailed for 2 weeks. One car even got compound. Such a heavy punishment. Though first time offence is fine only.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 They were warned before. Unless you have the whats and the know-how, do not go to these mechanics or shop. I have a hunch they tip-off the authority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 ya, if it is not these authorities tip off, i dun think anyone would know at all....double head snakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 (edited) U can risk empty tank across causeway anytime u want.....try your luck, at most fine $500 nia. But tempering the petrol gauge is a totally different kind of risk!!!!!! U can pass through 50 times, 100 times even 500 times without been caught........But u only need to get caught ONCE.....GAME OVER liao. Car confisated + Jail term awaits. Future gone down the drain. The risk is similar to OPC cars cheating on the $20 coupon. Kena once will pay a very very heavy price. Edited April 12, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 People like them deserve the punishment IMHO Got $$$ to buy car yet chut this type of pattern to cut down on petrol expenses might as well as don't drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 did paper state that its their first time? i guess not their first time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbx750p 1st Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 Wonder if they knew of the repercussion of getting caught with a modified fuel level gauge ? If they don't then, the punishment seems too harsh but if they knew but yet took the risk, they deserve the punishment that have been melted out. The fine is okay but the jail terms seems overboard IMHO. CBX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 (edited) Just saw in papers yesterday, 2 guys caught tempering their petrol gauges kanna fine $500 n jailed for 2 weeks. One car even got compound. Such a heavy punishment. Though first time offence is fine only.... eerrr... can I ask how do they tempered their petrol gauges?? Didn't read the newspaper yesterday... But I heard alot of pple go into m'sia to do something to their guage so whenever they pass thru the custom its always 3/4 full... Edited April 12, 2007 by Ngaiky83 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 Addtional of a switch whereby once you activate it, your fuel gauge will show 3/4 even when your fuel tank is empty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 I think now it comes in remote control somemore. Ma chiam like switch on TV like that. Press button nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 ........But u only need to get caught ONCE.....GAME OVER liao. Car confisated + Jail term awaits. Future gone down the drain. I thought TS said first time offence is fine only? So are those 1st-time or repeat offenders? Or 1st time straightaway jail + fine + car confiscated? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilb Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 Guess the police offer quite a big sum of rewards. Becareful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 Den I better warn my fren against doing it in m'sia According to him quite a number of pple having it done in m'sia workshop.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 I believe they are more strict nowsadays. Once caught....confirm fine + jail. Whether the car kena confisated or not, depends on the judge mood. Once in a while, these things get reported in the papers. I think about once or twice a year bah.....but for sure every year got ppl kena caught one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 I don't think can scan the petrol level ba... if not I think more than 2 will be caught le.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 Those scanners dont scan yr petrol tanks lar. Its to scan the whole car in general only. Even so, the car got so many fluid containment, how to see from the tv screen on a moving car somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 12, 2007 Share April 12, 2007 if the car petrol gauge not working, how? Still remember when I was small kid, my uncle car all kind of gauges not working but still can drive happy happy lo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...