ICE sounds different when playing radio as compared to CDs

Theoldjaffa

hi all,

when playing radio channels, the sound is very flat. Almost like a laptop speaker

However, when playing CDs, the sound is better. can hear the bass and mids difference.

any idea why? my amp and front components are ported from my previous car, and they sounded equally good with radio and CDs.

i'm using a Sony HU that came stock with the FL Lancers, front JBL components, a single 4-ch amp powering the front and woofer, and a 10" Cadence woofer. Rear speakers are stock and powered by the HU.

i installed my ICE at a shop at Mackenzie. He said "its like that one". [shocked]

Tuning and positioning could make them better, but most likely its that the sony's reception IC is of a different make compared to your old HU.

Alpine is good [thumbsup] but dear

yo, how's life man =)

my previous HU also Sony, no such issue. hmmz. maybe this model of Sony is not good for radio reception.

Well, radio is playing at 22hz 8bit stereo if i'm not wrong...CD are 16bit 44hz stereo.

CDs definately sound better than Radio unless you using DAB la..

Sony HUs are known to have bed radio reception and sound quality...

In any case, the quality or radio sound will never be similar to CDs...at most 75% similar if your tuning is done correctly.

yup thanks!

i know radio quality will never be as good as CDs.

just that i am puzzled that with the same setup (front components and amp), it sounded really bad and flat on my current car as compared to my previous car. no bass at all.

with the difference being the H.U. Both Sony btw.

Life's treating me well, hows yours bro? [:)]

I know the equaliser settings of our radio stations generally have increased lower frequencies (bass) and reduced higher ones(treble) to reduce crackling in areas of poor reception.

Radio recep would not be as crisp as CDs, but to have no significant bass could be due to some points overlooked in HU tuning or glenn ong forgetfully cutoff the lower frequencies you have set for your woofer that morning.

it is also due to the limiter process before broadcasting.

the limiter brings down the high amplitudes in the waveform, preventing it from clipping.

therefore the music on radio sounds flat without any dynamics.

Hi Bro,

Just curious... were u previously active in NECs (Nissan Club)?

Question: Were you previously using an external antenna and now an internal one coz that also makes the difference in reception quality.

my setup is not high end, but definitely a small improvement over stock lor.

but not supposed to sound this bad lah when i am getting better radio sound with the same amp and speakers in my previous car.

me ah, life is getting better. minister pay up mah!! [laugh]

i fiddled around with my HU, still no improvement.

i gather that the only solution is to change HU.

but to do that for better radio quality, like not worth it leh.. aiya sianz... hahah

hi Uncle Bob,

yes its me. i use the same nick in every forum [:)]

to answer your question, i am using external antenna. the ones found in all lancers :)

Anyway i still think it should not sound different.

I have just removed my present setup and install with a cheapo one

1 Sony headunit / 1 set 4way coaxil mid / 1 set tweeter stock / 1 set back speakers stock

All just for less than $100 Bucks..hahahah

the sound is still not bad..hahahahah

maybe you need to shift the sound more to the centre near your headrest, the sound will be better..hopefully