Blind spot mirror?

Redcafe10

I don't use one as my previous car (05 Civic) have few blind spots. Now thinking of getting them as my new car has a couple of bad blind spots, directly behind the rear pillar. Side mirrors not possible to see that spot. The larger (50mmx20mm) ones mounted on the lower corners of the windscreen seems to ones to get.. Time to visit Autobacs :-)

Trivia: I believe in Germany they are called autobahn mirrors

No need for blind sport mirror.

With blind sport mirror there will still be a blind sport.

Jus turn and check lor.

Can totally trust these kinda thing meh.

I only trust my eyes. Its safer.

Same here.

I ain gonna put my life on a $10 thing when all I need is a slight turn of head.

Too bad when I turn my head to check blind spot now, all I see the interior of the cargo hold. I still really on my head turning to check when driving a car though.

But I think I have become reliant on the blind spot mirror to park.

Ever since I realised how helpful it is for parking after I installed it in my van.

So now I have problem parking without it... [shakehead]

Still... It's a cheaper alternative to reverse sensor... [;)]

Agreed. Try to rely on your skills lar...

But if driving commercial vehicle, must get.

If not, will be a hazard to other road users, esp. motorcyclists that squeeze between cars.

Or if you find that you keep breaking your car's butt, then better get to cut cost... [lipsrsealed]

If you adjust your side mirrors correctly, there is no necessity for additional ones.

See this:

http://www.motorists.com/right/adjust_mirrors.html

What is the solution to tunnel vision and blind spots? Simply adjust the sideview mirrors just beyond the point where you could see the side of the car on the inside edge of the mirror.

I thought in driving school, we're always taught to adjust our side mirrors to see a little of the car body. The above statement tells us not to leh, which one is right?

I have been driving for many years with side mirrors adjusted according to the article in the link. Try it, once you get used to it you will know how good it it. As for the internal rear view mirror, get one that is wide angle.

Do note that even if you use this method, you should probably turn you head to check.

Because in adjusting this way, the blind spot between your car body and the mirror coverage will become slightly bigger. Big enough for motor bikes to hide in there.

The site does not mention this, because it's an American site.

And in US, bikes don't travel between lanes.

Not even in California where many people drive like Singaporeans... [lipsrsealed]

I believe that with or without the blind spot mirrors, it's still up to the driver's own discretion to practice safe driving whenever on the roads.

With a high situation awareness and high social responsibility, we should always be aware of the traffic conditions and speed around us whenever we want to change lanes.

With 100% concentration, anyone can change lanes without any problem by using cues of vehicles around you.

Any reasons are not acceptable for changing lanes abruptly without thinking of safety of other road users. [shakehead] (Irresponsible fools)

Point observed is that how come Singaporean drivers are more impatient compared to other countries in Asia? Furthermore, we only need max 1hr to get from edge to edge in our country compared to others...maybe we are more stressful... [gossip]

For me, I will adjust the side mirrors to the point where a bit of the car can be seen at the inner edge...so that can "siam" any stupid pillars in multistoreys... [sweatdrop]

Thanks for the suggestion bro,

My intention is not to really use for blind spot but more for parking that allows me to see the kerb and parking line, i do not want to adjust my side mirror everytime when doing parallel parking, it is also not practical.

Just want to know what kind of side mirror should i get for parking purpose and if the blind spot mirror can double up as that, it will be good. If not, i dont mind get a seperate one just for parking purpose.......

Actually if you stick the blind spot mirror at the bottom of your mirror, it should help with parking but I find that it's too small to see anything useful.

in cars..i think its almost next to useless..true that it may help you in parking..but the mirror area that it took up is simply not worth it..

i rather have the full area of the mirror..anyway, blindspot can be easily checked by just turning your head slightly to glance..

I'm too reliant on the blindspot mirror to do my parking these days. However, I'm going to remove the blindspot mirror cos I found that it reduced the effective side view substantially.

The mirror may be small and round, but my brain likes rectangular images, so the effective side view becomes just 2/3.

Also, the glue has leaked out and has made the side mirror partially non-reflective, reducing the effective area further.

I'm not going to paste anything on the mirrors anymore!

Thanks bro,

I only need the blind spot mirror for my parking so i can see the kerb or the parking line, not realy for watching out for blind spot. Just want to confirm, any blind spot mirror will serve my purpose? We can paste the mirror in such a manner that it actually face downards and be able to watch for kerb and parking line?

I am new to driving hence not sure about this.

same usage as mine too idea.gif

From what i know, there are aftermarket side mirror replacements which is wide-angled...

Think I saw it at Autobacs and JDM...looks like those on Benz with slight bluish colour.

Quite nice, definitely looks more sleek than those stick on aftermarket blind spot mirrors... [thumbsup]

Edited by Silveratenza

OK the little round ones may be distracting, then how about those small rectangular ones that are suction-mounted on the inside of front windshield? My wife's driving instructor strongly recommend using it to check blind-spot. However it wouldn't be very useful for parking though.

36766.jpg