Modify my car's brake system.

Gylgyl

[:)] Hi All,

In order to enhance my car braking ability, i considering upgrade my brake system. I am driving a Toyota Corolla G8 which presently using two disk brake at front and two drum brake at the back. I thinking to buy a set of ventilated disk brake to replace my front brake and then shift the old disk front brake to the rear. Do u guys think is it feasible?? Any problem ?? Any recommend workshop and brand of ventilated brake which i get from?

It is not as easy as just shifting the front rotor to rear, you will need to get the whole rear section from a corolla that got rear disk brake...nod.gif

Actually to have better brake capability, just use performance brake pad and if possible change all brake hoses to steel braided one....thumbsup.gif

brand new bremo brake disc cost abt 130 and get a 350degree brake pad and u will be impress by the enhance braking effect [sunny] if u upgrade to aftermarket brake pad, yr disc may wrap after some time...it better to upgrade disc & pad together.

FK sells bremo disc and some pads or can try JC for advice [:)]

Change brake pad and steel braided hose enough liao??? my mechanic suggest me to change the entire brake system for my car to ITR 5 lugs brembo brake....price, i would say it's rather cheap, but is it necessary??? now car only little pony leh.....

In your case, I don't think it is necessary to change to ITR one unless you are going for some serious power up ....thumbsup.gif

who is JC and FK?? person or shop name??? brake disc?? for the front brake?? but my rear brake seem not working well... my front still ok.... Thanks

HI,

so u recommend not to upgrade it?? but my rear brake ab it weak... somestime at slope will roll back even i pull up my hand brake... what should i do??

JC - jeep chee FK - fong kim. both are reputated car mod workshops. hmm..why u think yr rear brake not working well? if u compare the brake disc between the front and back, the front is bigger, rite? front brake is utilised more during braking, maybe 70%front/30%rear.

bcos of the roll back... i have to pull the hand brake very high before it can stay there... [sweatdrop] mmm... i think i will take saaber advice to change the rear drum brake lor...