Chan0004 Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 Hi guys, I went to Autobaccs to day and a guy was promoting this fission thingy to me...He claim that it is fuel saving and improves performance of the car. He said the improvement would be felt immediately after installation and has a 30 day money back gaurantee... Anbody tried it? please advise.....it has a damage level of 280 SGD ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched April 4, 2007 Share April 4, 2007 (edited) Hi Chan0004, why don't you go the manufacturer's website and get more detailed information on the product. That least you get whatever query you have from them. Personally, I don't fancy this 30 days payback guarantee as it would be difficult to tell unless you are very knowledgeable and able to detect any improvement after installing the device. If you don't know your car very well, you may not feel be able to feel whether it is effective or not. Edited April 4, 2007 by Mikeyeo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 Iran and N Korea will be interested in such a product. Wow! Fission! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 i believe the last edition of Hotstuff has a write-up and review on it. Including a dyno test. Torque increased by 14nm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clubace Clutched April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 Dont play play ok...the device going by its name means its nuclear powered. Its the thing can provide enough power to time travel (aka back to the future) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 if really so fantastic ah, the manufacturer would have sold it to all the major car manufacturers already loh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 Hi guys, I went to Autobaccs to day and a guy was promoting this fission thingy to me...He claim that it is fuel saving and improves performance of the car. He said the improvement would be felt immediately after installation and has a 30 day money back gaurantee... Anbody tried it? please advise.....it has a damage level of 280 SGD If you dun need the $280 for 30 days and lives near Bt Batok, get it. Just remember to return it before the 30 days. Then if the same fella tell you that it need a little more time to see the effect, get the refund first, look around the place and come back 5 mins later and get your wife to buy it for another 30 days money-back trial. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 Forget to add, Repeat if necessary or allowable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 if it dosent kill the engine ... heck, just try. make sure u can get your money back if it dosent work Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 (edited) Hi Eyke, there are so many manufacturers producing different products. It would be difficult for car manufacturers to choose which is best. In turn, this will jack up the car price. That is why vehicles that are brought to Singapore are quite basic but still expensive due to our local tax. If the vehicle owners want to install or replace the stock components to better ones, it would at the cost of that owner without affecting the base price of vehicle. Take the air-con and the in-car-entertainment set for example. Some vehicles that are imported here do not come with these so as to reduce tax. The local AD and PI will then install them here. Why is the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution so pricy in Singapore? If I am not wrong, all the bodykits and performance parts are installed in their Japan factory before exporting here. Assuming that if the Lancer Evolution is imported here without bodykits and performance engine and install them here, I believe that the selling price would be much cheaper than what is selling now. As this car is popularly known to be a high performance car, I doubt the manufacturer in Japan would want to take any chances as they have all the sophisticated technologies to produce this car. As for the bodykits, I'm not sure whether they are installed in their factory or here. Another point that I would like to raise is that why are there so many vehicle owners who have changed the stock funnel shaped air-intake to the aftermarket cold-air-intake (CAI). It's becos the latter is more costly if every vehicle will to be installed by the manufacturer. Edited April 5, 2007 by Mikeyeo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 The fact remains that all these gadgets have NEVER been used by ANY car manufacturer, as compared to air-con, body kit, etc. Do you know that car manufacturers are always striving to increase power while at the same time reduce fuel consumption? Why else have all this VTEC, CVVT, etc? If these gadgets work as advertised, do you think they need to spend millions of dollars doing R&D on those technologies? Hell no, it'll be much cheaper to pop one or even a few of those gadgets in. Or even used in F1 where money is almost no object. Difficult to choose from all those gadgets? Hardly! Those are engineers that work in car manufacturers, not laymen that are easily swayed by pseudo-science; one look at the "explanations" of how the gadgets work is enough to dismiss 99.9% of them as snake oil, without even have to try it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullbig Clutched April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 Very good idea.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casey Neutral Newbie April 6, 2007 Share April 6, 2007 (edited) i'm not too sure what this "technology" does. but then again, always refer to this website before making any purchurse. This is my only advise to u http://www.fuelsaving.info/index.htm Edited April 6, 2007 by Casey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched April 6, 2007 Share April 6, 2007 I think what you said is only 80% correct. Other add-ons like those F-con, superchips, E-manage, piggybacks and etc could have sold to car manufacturers as well for power or FC improvement. But why car manufacturers are not using them and have their internal ECU tuners sacked??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 6, 2007 Share April 6, 2007 (edited) Cost efficiency is top most in the minds of all manufacturers, all the components in every car are built to a price point. The original ECU in normal cars work well and is tuned for the needs of the majority of users in the majority of markets, so there are definitely compromises that can be optimized by aftermarket solutions. HOWEVER, there's an ECU in every modern car, so all the piggybacks and replacement ECUs are nothing new, just enhancing/tuning/replacing an item that is ALREADY being used by ALL car manufacturers. Improving an existing component VS adding some dubious gadget is a world of difference. Do you know that manufacturers in the US have been fined millions of dollars for not achieving US gov fuel efficiency limits? So if any of the those silly gadgets really do work, then they would be in most of our cars liao loh. Why spend millions on R&D instead? Take your 20% of correctness and go buy all the gadgets you can find and knock on their doors lah, sure way to become a multi-millionaire... Edited April 6, 2007 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear April 6, 2007 Share April 6, 2007 i believe the last edition of Hotstuff has a write-up and review on it. Including a dyno test. Torque increased by 14nm wow, torgue increase so much, better than turbo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched April 6, 2007 Share April 6, 2007 The Q&A are all in your reply... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chan0004 Neutral Newbie April 6, 2007 Author Share April 6, 2007 Hi everyone again, this guy came over to my place today and fitted the Fission on my G9 as well as on my brothers Vios. The guys were friendly and were more than willing to let us try their product on the car. Both my G9 and my bro's vios felt an increase in power immediately after installation.....we went to TPE to try out twice..with and without the Fission...have to admit that the difference was there. Furthermore, in my G9, the vibrations were reduced remarkably and the car is quieter. But this is just the first day of my installation....as for the FC....i have to monitor it.....will update again!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...