Teo_jason Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 Hi, has anyone tried wet sanding to remove water etch mark???? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 (edited) u wana try,i know of a place which does it for water mark,a rotary more or less can do it but no 100%.. wet sanding to remove orange peel Edited March 31, 2007 by Maddriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 (edited) Talk a bout wet sanding...yesterday just did a car, the owner's wife tried to help wash the car but instead of using cloth or sponge or mitt, she used the GREEN WOOL (the one used for washing plates) . The whole bonnet was badly scratches up and the reflection was totally muted. No matter what method of polishing, it did not solve the problem, so ended up wet sanding the whole bonnet . Btw to answer your question, wet sanding does help to remove water etched marks but personally I will not recommand doing it because the etched marks will come back again sooner or later. Edited March 31, 2007 by Gen2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teo_jason Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Author Share March 31, 2007 ok... so do u mean its not removing but rather masking or hiding is it??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teo_jason Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Author Share March 31, 2007 no lah juz wanna try doing on my test bonnet which i got from the scrap yard.... tried playing with my PC and different compounds on it yesterday!!! quite fun... no pressure as i m not afraid of damaging it!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 (edited) Wet sanding will remove the etched marks. What I meant is even you do regular maintenance with wax or sealant, you can never prevent future water etched marks from forming on your car. I don think you want to wet sand your car everytime you see water etched marks, right ? Otherwise the clear coat will be gone very soon. If you are doing wet sanding you will need a rotary to remove the sanding marks, a PC is almost impossible to clear up the sanding marks. Edited March 31, 2007 by Gen2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teo_jason Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Author Share March 31, 2007 okok got it!!! thanks for the advice bro!!!! after i get more familiar with the PC den i will explore the rotary.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 wah.. use scratch-pad to wash car. she must think the car is really dirty! Same thing could happen to owners who don't teach their maids the proper way to wash cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 Good intention but use the wrong method lor . Luckily still managed to recover the condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teckheng Neutral Newbie April 1, 2007 Share April 1, 2007 Womans should stay in the kitchen... DIE DIE DIE !!! so many womans drivers in the forums !!!! DIE LIAO !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie April 1, 2007 Share April 1, 2007 Wah...you like that say many sista here will protest liao . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rliewky 1st Gear April 1, 2007 Share April 1, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear April 1, 2007 Share April 1, 2007 Nice meeting u bro ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...