Caravan 5th Gear March 29, 2007 Share March 29, 2007 Interesting article here. http://www.danielsternlighting.com/tech/bu...onversions.html So you've read about HID headlamps and have it in mind to convert your car. A few mouse clicks on the web, and you've found a couple of outfits offering to sell you a "conversion" that will fit any car with a given type of halogen bulb. STOP! Put away that credit card. An HID kit consists of HID ballasts and bulbs for "retrofitting" into a halogen headlamp. Often, these products are advertised using the name of a reputable lighting company ("Real Philips kit! Real Osram kit! Real Hella kit!") to try to give the potential buyer the illusion of legitimacy. Fact: While some of the components in these kits are sometimes manufactured by the companies mentioned, the components aren't being put to their designed or intended use. Reputable companies like Philips, Osram, Hella, etc. NEVER endorse this kind of "retrofit" usage of their products. Halogen headlamps and HID headlamps require very different optics to produce a safe and effective ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear March 31, 2007 Share March 31, 2007 Must.....we......drag.....this.....dead....horse....back....to.....flog? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dantyc Neutral Newbie April 5, 2007 Share April 5, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pat10lim Neutral Newbie April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 i saw some cheap one for 80+ wonder r those gd?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 this 80+ are still halogen bulb that are blue tinted (some with higher wattage than the stock 60/55w) and claimed to he HID lights Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 i rather spend slightly more and get real HID, any idea any group buy coming up? wan to install at fog light HID oso..ahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 cannot do here liao, you can try the Hyundai club, they should still have group buy on HID Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 You may want to put the idea on hold for a while if you want to do a HID conversion for your headlight (fog lamp should be less likely to be caught). Heard that ROV may be cracking down on that and CF bonnet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 CF bonnet cannot meh? why ah? i can go n educate my buddy and save his $$. he plans to install one for his swift sport Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 11, 2007 Share April 11, 2007 I think a CF bonnet will break into small, sharp pieces upon impact. I may be wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 Not quite true My friend juz get stopped by ROV bcuz his ride too eyes catching (CF bonnet etc) Upon popping up bonnet got spotted illegal exos mod But when he enquire with the ROV The ROV replied not a problem with CF bonnet But of course it'll attach a 2nd look End of e day Got snapped a $800 ++ fine CF bonnet excluded Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 Silverblade, pls stop this CF bonnet = illegal urban myths. We've been there, round the merry mulberry bush, and back. We've enquired LTA before. As long as the CF bonnet is designed for the car model, has structural backbone framework and has proper locking mechanism (no hood pins) that utilises the OEM catch, they're OK with it. So those getting original Mugen, JS Racing etc should be OK. If getting replica's, check as stated above. Don't perpetuate this anymore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...