Parking Warden: The Other Side of the Story

Vooth

Just now as I was washing my car in the mscp wash bay, I saw a cisco scooter came into the mscp and proceeded to move slowly. Thinking nothing of it, I continued washing my car. After about another 10 mins, the same scooter then again moved by and then went up to the next level. I was thinking wow, they sure damn on tonight.

After drying my car, I drove up to the 5th level to finish off the job with some qd. After that was done, I then proceeded to recondition the leather seats and it was at this moment that another scooter came by and this time, the warden stopped and asked (politely) whether I was washing my car. I replied that I have finished washing at the wash bay and was doing some maintenance work in the interior and the warden then actually stopped the scooter and with a sigh, started telling me the type of s-hit they faced in their job ( I guess he was lonely and needed to vent out his frustration but I dunno why he chose me, I normally have the kind of unfriendly looklaugh.gif).

He took out an email from his jacket and told me that someone (around my area) have complained to HDB about some indian FTs washing cars in the lots and dirtying the area and demanded that action be done or else he'll go see his MPhur.gif. I was perplexed...I knew washing in the lots is against HDB's rules but I also felt that the Indians did not mess up the area and generally the floor was just a bit wet. And because of that complaint, the wardens have to be extra 'on' (MP mentioned mah) and those cars/vans that were washed by the indians have their numbers taken down and will be fined $50 by HDB while those indian fts had their particulars taken down and sent to the police.hur.giffrown.gif

The warden then proceeded to cite more complaints by some of our dear HDB dwellers:

1) There was this chap who was staying in a block near the coffeeshop and would frequently call HDB to complain about illegal cars parking along the road next to the coffeeshop. He would wait and timed the cisco wardens and then when they came and did not book the cars (normally those affected motorists will rush out and move the cars away), he would then call HDB again and complained that the wardens let the motorists go scot-free.hur.gif I meant I know they broke the rules but if they were not really obstructing traffic, just by showing up and chasing them away the wardens are also doing their job mah. Gist is live and let live lah.

2) There was another fellow that lives on a low level whereby he can walk from the mscp to his flat. He actually wrote to his MP and demanded that a lot be available for him on that level as he had paid for it!hur.gifshakehead.gif And the siao MP actually made HDB enforce the area to be sure that a lot is available for him!confused.gif Like that also can?

The warden then said that because of people like those above, his life was made very miserable. Everytime he was called to the coffeeshop, he was treated like a public enemy by the stall holders. Even though he explained to them that he was called to enforce by those who complain, the stall holders (naturally) did not care.

That warden was drawing $750 a month and his life was made miserable by motorists and flat dwellers alike. He told me that he had to endure as he is suffering from cancer and had children to feed. Most jobs did not offer him insurance because of his illness and he stayed on as a warden as he was given limited insurance coverage by Cisco. He even asked me to touch his chest where a pump was connected to injected medicine directly to his body as his veins have all but shrank bigcry.gif.

After that, we bade farewell and he went on with his rounds. I really felt sad for him but could not do much but to commiserate with him.

So for those 8 or so motorists living in a certain part of Sembawang, please do not berate the warden when you received your summons, he was only responding to a complaint by a Mr soso sly.gif.

Edited by Gadgeter

Sigh.. how many people in Singapore actually realise and understand what goes on in the background to help keep Singapore orderly... and how many appreciate the work done by the unsung heroes? It doesn't help that Singaporeans are known to complain and nitpick regarding the smallest issues...

It's just like what was portrayed in Jack Neo's Just Follow Law but much worse and harsh in reality.

Kudos to the nameless unsung heroes out there..

That's true. I really wonder is complaining and nitpicking really one of our traits? If so, what can be done to make us more gracious and less self-centered? frown.gif

So sad... [bigcry]

It's true lor...they are just doing their job and following orders. Esp in their line, hard to please everyone. We can whine and complain to relieve our own frustration at receiving a summon, but no point making things difficult for them or treating them like our eternal enemies.

It's already become part of the culture, being passed down from the first generations that were brought up to be kiasu and kiasi.

For example, if something went wrong or broke down unexpectedly, how often do you hear people say they are going to bring it back to ask for help instead of bringing the item back to complain about it?

Singaporeans are a pampered lot. Granted that no one is perfect but I think we are demanding more than what we are willing to put in. It's a rat race and a survival of the fittest where no one wants to lose out so it's every man for himself.

Graciousness has to be inculcated from young and parents are the best living examples that children learn from... it's not an easy task to change people's mindsets overnight but we can do our own small part to help..

Like they say, a little courtesy goes a long way.

Ya lor...when I heard about his story, I felt damn sad. I hope everyone realise that being summon is not their doing, but our own actions and also sometimes being saboed...tongue.gif

Exactly, a little consideration goes a long way. I long for the day whereby we are more tolerant on the roads and when someone gives way to another, more often than not a wave of thanks will be given in return.nod.gif Mutual self-respect regardless of race, language, religion or CLASS.flowerface.gif

That's the spirit. I always wave to acknowledge thanks when people give way to me and give a thumbs up to those who waves thanks to me [drivingcar]

Unfortunately there will always be some who think that they are more equal than others (Animal Farm by George Orwell).. and we can never be completely rid of them.

the thing i detest most in these instances is if the complaints are made out of vengeance by people who kanna summon before and die-die must get others to go down as well - not at all driven by public spritedness

darn...can u PM me sembawang which part?

I stay in the area too and the Indian worker tt washes car is very friendly. I would go to the extent to say he is integrated with our driver community because he acts as a lookout during his hours of washing against the recent spat of car thefts by sounding out to us once he spots suspicious character. beat that.

my area oso has some loudmouth rich brats tt keep complaining n complaining. at the same time there r inconsiderate freaks who wash with soap and all at the disabled lot. china FT. .... whenever i see those real disabled park n come out n the wheelchair slip ...i just feel blood boil.

Sembawang MP is Dr Khaw Boon Wan

Is this the dumb @ss MP who agree to the whiner (stated in eg #2 given by thread starter) to have his personal lot in the MSCP?

WTF is this??!!! I think this kind of cases should be reported as this is "suspected cronyism". Who is the whiner who thinks that he should be treated better than other MSCP users? He pay for double or triple parking charges or is he the MP's favourite "Kopi donor"?

And for the bo-liao whiner in eg #1, I think he should be one of those hired by some rival coffee shop to wreck havoc to that kopitiam....if not, this is a seriously demented escapees from WoodBridge.

I would be interesting to hear a grassroot/MP side of the story as well.

Anyway, I think some time ago there was a report about an entrepreneur car washing co in HDB carparks. They got the clearance from HDB to wash cars in multistory carpark, they show proof that the 'cleaning agent' they used are environmental friendly and will not 'corrode' the carpark concrete.

I am wondering is this company still in business?

If this company can get the approval/permit.....I am sure the leader/boss of the FT-ah-neh should be able to get the permit to wash car in all carparks if they just apply and pay the necessary fees to HDB.

(Don't we all know, the difference between Legality and Illegal is only whether the payment of FEES to the authorities is done or not)

singaporeans too pampered already..

I also everyday complain LTA allow to many cars on the road, MRT Aircon not cold enough, etc.

But take the cake.. who the Fark he think he is,

There was another fellow that lives on a low level whereby he can walk from the mscp to his flat. He actually wrote to his MP and demanded that a lot be available for him on that level as he had paid for it! And the siao MP actually made HDB enforce the area to be sure that a lot is available for him! Like that also can?