Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Hi bros out there. Having a dilemma now. Just dekit my humble ICE from my Protege and now contemplating whether to transfer over to my Civic FD. Below are the items: 1. PHD FB6.1Pro 6.5in component speakers 2. Audison LrX4.300 4 channel amplifier 3. 10in MTX sub in custom box powered by Sony Monoblock Already gave my Alpine 9815 HU and 12 disc changer to my brother in law as my new car has integrated HU. My dilemma is that I do not intend to add a processor like the H701 to my current setup. I am planning just to hook up the amps and sub using hi-lo convertors straight or the most add a preamp in between. I am not sure whether how much better will the sound be. If I reinstall back the system, I will be doing 2 layer of SP on the front door also. The whole installation process will cost anything between 300-400 inclusive of SP. I am thinking whether is it worth to install back or just sell of the above and then buy a reasonable component like CDT CL62 to replace the front speakers and let it drive my HU. Comments appreciated as I have thinking over for more than 2 months and I have not come to a conclusion. Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Just use back your amp and speakers and sub! Why waste good sleeping hours worrying about such things. Just do it and enjoy your ride ASAP. There are ample space in the Civic for installation. I would if I am you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 Thanks for the recommendation! Point noted!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 You have pretty decent stuff...use it. Running of the HU will never give you the SQ you will get with your old stuff. Pay a bit more for installation, you'll enjoy it more so why not. Hi-Lo converter will work but of course sound wise might not be good, even with a preamp...you might want to consider the 701...i mean, it's a 1 ime investment to get it good...but it's up to you...it'll work with or without, just reuse your old stuff...they're not low end stuff... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 alamak, $300-400 nia... people who drive mid-class cars like yourself can probably earn it back in half a day or max 2 days. just do it lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 (edited) Hi Protege, from what I know generally (I might be wrong), the original speaker systems that come with the car may not be as good and or powerful than aftermarket. If you don't know how good is the original ones as compared to the 2 items which you mentioned, you might want to consider bringing them to a trusted installer shop and seek their opinion. However, if you want to be doubly sure, seek a 2nd opinion from another insraller. As for my Mitsubishi Lancer, I shopped for my speakers, crossovers, tweeters and even showed to the shop whether the original HU that came with the car is powerful enough to take the new speakers. After reviewing the specs of the HU, the shop owner that I bought the speakers from, told me that I don't have to change the HU. Thereafter, I brought it to an installer recommended by the shopowner. I paid S$60 to remove the existing speakers and wirings and install the new ones and thicker audio cables. Edited March 22, 2007 by Mikeyeo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quaky Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 anyway if u decide to sell ur audison amp, let me noe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 I am open to sell if I have good offer. PM me. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 Its not about the money. I dun spend a lot of time in the car now and with my wife around, I can't play too loud. So I am contemplating whether is it a waste of money. 300-400 is not a big amount, but is it worth spending? I can spend this money on something else like a pair of Jacky Cheung concert tickets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 You have pretty decent stuff...use it.Running of the HU will never give you the SQ you will get with your old stuff. Pay a bit more for installation, you'll enjoy it more so why not. Hi-Lo converter will work but of course sound wise might not be good, even with a preamp...you might want to consider the 701...i mean, it's a 1 ime investment to get it good...but it's up to you...it'll work with or without, just reuse your old stuff...they're not low end stuff... I would say they are mid end stuff compared to some high end stuff that you guys are using. However, I am very happy with the SQ when I was playing active with my 9815. I know that I am going to lose out on SQ, thats why I am thinking whether is it worth to install back and just get normal sound and only achieve around 60% of the max that my system can perform. I know H701 is a one time good investment. But as I have told another forummer in my other posting, I dun spend a lot of time alone in my car anymore. So its not worth spending so much. I am just thinking whether I should just sell my existing items or just use them back without further heavy investment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 My current original speaker cannot make it one. The one that I mention that I have cost close too $800. I think that alone is more ex than the whole original system on the FD Civic already. I have 2 trusted shop I can go to. Both recommend to go with the H701 processor. But the prob is that I do not want to invest too much anymore. So I am eliminating that option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 (edited) .. 1. PHD FB6.1Pro 6.5in component speakers 2. Audison LrX4.300 4 channel amplifier 3. 10in MTX sub in custom box powered by Sony Monoblock ...My dilemma is that I do not intend to add a processor like the H701 to my current setup. I am planning just to hook up the amps and sub using hi-lo convertors straight or the most add a preamp in between. I am not sure whether how much better will the sound be. If I reinstall back the system, I will be doing 2 layer of SP on the front door also. The whole installation process will cost anything between 300-400 inclusive of SP. I am thinking whether is it worth to install back or just sell of the above and then buy a reasonable component like CDT CL62 to replace the front speakers and let it drive my HU. ... Cheers! Hi Protege, My humble opinion. If you were happy with the sound of your PHD component speakers - then install back. Else go ahead to try out the CDT62 but still use your 4-channel amp to power it up! (DO NOT use your HU to power the front spkrs since you already have a reasonably good amp.) Try to get a pre-amp at the very least so that you can at least adjust/control the balance between the front speakers and sub-woofer. YOu would most likely need to get a hi-lo. You may also be able to tap your 4-channel Audison amp to bi-amp the front component speakers - depending on how your system is set up. Definitely install back your sub - since you already have it! Just installation alone + SP may blow your budget All the best in your final decision - hope that my comments were of some help Edited March 22, 2007 by Kwongwing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 Thanks for your recommendation bro! I am happy with the PHD sound. So if I install back, I will sure stick to it. I have upgraded from CDT CL62 to PHD, so I definitely prefer PHD warmer sounding. My idea is that I will go for either with or without preamp. If really I want to do further upgrade or I got a good deal for a 2nd hand H701, I will consider installing that. If installation without preamp, I have already got a quote from my regular installer which is what I quoted on the earlier thread. I am installing the stuff under my seat, so cost will be lower. RCAs, cables, fuses, etc I already have when I remove from my ride. I think I will go for a preamp system with my existing stuff and then see whether to upgrade later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Hehe, it's not about playing loud in the car or how much time you spend in it... SQ is to play soft one mah haha...even with wife inside, at least she will also enjoy the nice clean and clear sounds compared to a stock speaker right? And that little amount of time you spend in the car...don't you want it to be as pleasant as possible? Better sound, you will drive slower...then will spend more time in the car liao lor...hehe.. Without the 701, you won't have TA so you don't have to worry about passenger sound woesr than driver side....both will enjoy equally... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 Good analysis bro! Point noted. Lucky my wife know nuts about music, if not last time when I TA to suit driver, she sure curse and swear. Anyway looking at H701 at 2nd hand market. See whether want to invest or not. Got an offer at 650. Still thinking about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 If the 2nd hand H701 at $650 includes installation - then go for it. If not add another estimated $150 for installation = $800 might as well go for brand new. Installation not that simple - have to run extra cables - took my installer about 2 - 3 hours and that does not include tuning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Author Share March 22, 2007 No installation lah. I was offered SGD1100 for brand new with installation and tuning. Actually you are right, then its better go for new. Anyway I think I will take the preamp route and then subsequently if still itchy then upgrade to H701. Thanks for the recommendation bro! Where you did your installation of your powerful setup?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 (edited) Aiyah .. mine is a simple setup with dumb pure deck HU - therefore had to install H701 (no choice) My setup was at Sin Kit / Autotrend (@Toa Payoh). Most of the items I supplied myself including cables, amps, etc. Note: even with the pre-amp route, from your list of equipment, you can at least do bi-amping Edited March 22, 2007 by Kwongwing ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...