Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Dracon, A friend of mine got the STI, loved it for its power, but now am contemplating switching to Civic Type R. Over time, his preference changed and is looking for something not so raw for daily commute and once a while driving fun. Was his original choice wrong? No. He enjoyed it. Will his change be wrong? Again, no. I'm sure he'll enjoy the different nature of CTR. So you just have to go with what you really want, be it GTI or STI. They're quite different, just as STI and CTR. You have to prioritise your wants/needs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Don't race a STI lah, what you didnt lose won't hurt your ego. Anyway it's 2L vs 2.5L, not fair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dodobird Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 dont be silly, take a 2L sti, u get the same result. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Nah ... snail different size, not fair also ... And there's always one with a bigger snail out there. U buy STI, maybe chieat by another STI or another EVO or ciao cxxxc. Then how?? See the fallacy of your POV? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Get the GTI, STIs are sooo boring. So many wannabees on the road. After all, you did say it was an ugly car. Trust me, once you get the STI, after one year or less, you'll start questioning yourself why you did not get the GTI. Then you start finding reasons in some car forum to justify your purchase to some people you don't even know or met before. You're already tired of your HGT, you still want to start feeling like this again with the STI?? A car is not just about big BHP and all, so think carefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Nod. Different strokes for different folks. I prefer the more refined image tat comes with the GTI anyway. I like to enjoy the car as a whole, good driving/nice interior/exterior. Not a super duper fast 0-100 which does not have any of the other aspects. PS: I have not seen a WRX/STI which strikes me as non-beng, even those with no spoiler/stickers, etc. Donno y, maybe its just me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spade Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 STI? My 50 yr old aunty drives one. So there's your beng image. Have you owned one before? How can we trust you if you've not owned one before? WRXs are reliable cars as claimed by my aunty who upgraded from a humble WRX to an STi over the course of 10 plus years, although parts are generally a little more expensive than Toyota, still definitely much cheaper than GTi service parts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Am deciding between these 2 at the moment. 1) A really beautiful car in my opinion the Golf GTI. Will be getting from parellel importer as will be cheaper by abt 10k. - $110k 2) A really ugly car, but power and handling is top notch for its money, the WRX STI-S. being less beng than the normal STI, i'd rather go for this and its cheaper by 4k too. Its also cheaper than the GTI by 10k. - $99.5k Really at a dilema at the moment. Would really like to own the GTI but at an extra 10k in car price would mean i gotta eat less every month... lol... What you guys think? WRX price is pretty valuable for a sport car, but imo i still prefer to get GTI if i were u. However do note that new Golf GTI will be launch according to car mag. The new CEO juz appointed and he sack the design team. The new design of golf by the new team imo look pretty gd too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jho0001 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 Top up and get yourself a R32...problem solved I personally like performance the GTI 0 - 100 is pretty naff 7.2secs, STI is quick but interior is not appealing and the ah beng image is not good, I think just buy taking off the rear spoiler is a huge improvement. Alternatively, buy the Golf GTI, get use/bored of the performance and then spend a few grand upgrading the ECU etc, there are a few mods you can make to get looooads more bhp out of the GTI but it's expensive. Either way, its a nice choice to have to make. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 wow so she drives the car hard? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 R32 very overprice, performance so so. Driver struggle with R32, and its not as gd as Golf GTI, drink too much fuel and isn't any quicker den its GTI, BIGGEST DISSAPOINTMENT in the track! Not i say one, its written in March Autocar, Hot Hatch mega test at Bedford Autodrome track, UK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 (edited) And where did I ever mentioned the word "beng" in my post? Hmmmm. Edited March 22, 2007 by Hogster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear March 22, 2007 Share March 22, 2007 gti is probably better for daily use. its FC is pretty decent too compared to STI. just get the GTI and keep it as it is. this would help yr running costs as well. the extra 10k is worth it! but u sure PI is a good option? warranty issues how? btw, is the GTI manual or DSG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flee Neutral Newbie March 23, 2007 Share March 23, 2007 seems like you also never owned a STi. Only your aunt? So can trust you or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flee Neutral Newbie March 23, 2007 Share March 23, 2007 i will get the GTI : 1) Projects a less ricer look 2) Better FC 3) Better build quality 4) Prob better ride quality in city driving situations Cons 1) You buying GTI from PI? Then better check up on warranty issues and servicing. 2) 10K more...can you tahan this extra 10K? If can, go ahead. 3) Servicing might be equally expensive, or more than STi. Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched March 23, 2007 Share March 23, 2007 A WRX is a only a Jap but the Golf is A GERMAN CONTI ! You drive a GOLF up to a high class hotel, you may get a chance to park at the porch but if you are WRX, the doorman would wave you to go to the carpark downstairs ! Honestly, if I ever get to be in your position, the choice is obvious. It is the GOLF of course. The WRX, is just too BENG and too unuseable on the road. What is the use of 280 horses when you only got 24 points in 2 years ! Get the picture ? 200 horses is all you need in Singapore ! Oh yes, the FC for the WRX is about 6 to 7 km per litre compared to the GTI which gets round about 8 to 9 km per litre ! CBX Eh bro.. Nobody will like tt see one la. LOL!! Try driving a Ford forcus. its Amercian brand also. =p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 R32 very overprice, performance so so. Driver struggle with R32, and its not as gd as Golf GTI, drink too much fuel and isn't any quicker den its GTI, BIGGEST DISSAPOINTMENT in the track! Not i say one, its written in March Autocar, Hot Hatch mega test at Bedford Autodrome track, UK. Yes the R32 is overpriced in SIngapore... and so is the new AUDI S3 which won second place in the March AUTOCAR review which you read... AND so is the Megane R26 which "won" 1st place in the same AUTOCAR review.... in fact, i doubt you can get the Megane R26 into singapore.... ALL these cars... priced liked they dont want to sell them.... in fact IF u ask me, it seems that these cars are NICHE products by PRICE ONLY and nothing else... the agents here do not allow them to be niche by the specification of the cars; for example; MANUAL versions only, 2 doors only, not as practical as their bread and butter siblings, petrol consumption higher than normal, more maintenance needed etc... blah blah blah. they just price it high & call it NICHE... then later tell you that no market for such cars in singapore.............. In any case, i wouldnt read too much into the "march autocar test"...the R32, as a whole package is simply much more than just 0-100kph or defined by the fastest lap timing... in fact when they compare across the range like that, it definitely should not be taken as scientific fact. how then do u account for the numerous good reviews from reputable media that states that the R32 is an excellent car? excellent because it is fast enough, it is more fun to drive than even the Audi S3. Also how does one read into the R32 driven by Sabine Schmidt beating the Audi S3 (driven by another pro driver) around the track? Albeit by a very small margin of 0.01secs?? i digress.... but ive learned sometimes its best not to draw conclusion from 1 magazine... but rather a broader view from a few reputable ones (read as: not too biased) and then add it to your own experience and come up with a verdict.. cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 Actually the Megane RS price is still quite reasonable during promotion. Was enquiring about it sometime back but chicken out eventually. This one probably more rare in sgp than supercar even. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...