Mini Fridge in car

Kelpie

1. Just thinking aloud, has anyone installed an aftermarket mini fridge in the car before?

2. Is a seperate battery required to power the fridge?

Regards,

post-1-1174226093_thumb.jpg

Edited by Kelpie

These mini fridges are run by Peltier devices. Now for the overclockers out there who know this technology (and also the biologists), there is a catch. The side that cools will cool but the opposite side got to have a heatsinks to emit the heat.

You can plug to the ciggy but it will be a real drain if it is a big Peltier fridge.

i find its reduntant to use in singapore lor.. cos every petrol koisk to buy cold drinks...

in malaysia.. oso got a cheaper alternative...

-------

tried tested.. .

a medium or big styloform box... buy ice (7-eleven) or make ice in plastic bag in fridge a few days ago.....

drove up in evening to KL reach genting in midnite...

with ice and drinks...

morning (in genting) in ice box the ice havn't melt finish !

till the next evening go KL town... still got ice

,till next second day then melted...

so ....ice box cheap + ice cheap= cold drinks or food

unless u long trip every 1 week or so... no use for fridge...

and when u start ur car, fridge need to chill up take some time..

by the time u reach ur place , it might not be cold yet :(

and can buy from anywhere....

Edited by Circuit

1. You do have your point indeed [laugh].

2. However, it looks more high class than to use foam boxes for a driving holiday. This fridge got no ice or water to mantle with. I'm thinking of how to mount one at the boot.

Regards,

its a good thing if you are taking long drives up malaysia ... i do have one... i was really smart... my cigg plug doesn't go off even when the car the car is not started... so mine was plugged in 24/7 for a week before it drained my car batt... sigh...

guys be smarter dun leave it on 24/7...hahaha

its a good thing if you are taking long drives up malaysia ... i do have one... i was really smart... my cigg plug doesn't go off even when the car the car is not started... so mine was plugged in 24/7 for a week before it drained my car batt... sigh...

guys be smarter dun leave it on 24/7...hahaha

How does yours look like har? If I can find something decent I will get it permanetly wired without that ciggy plug. My car have a center access door from the rear cabin to the boot, so it will be good if the fridge can be reached through there.

Regards,

mine is a red from free from OCBC... power wire is very long... from my boot to the front dash... but mine can put only 4 cans and a shelf for chocolates or sweets... cant take pic sorry car stuck in workshop.

Another alternative is the Fridge - to - Go. It doesn't require electricity, u put the bag into your freezer for 10 hours and the coldness can last up to 10 hours depending on the surrounding temperature. I bought one and tested it on a drive to Melaka. My six cans of coffee were still very cold when I reached the destination. [thumbsup]

www.aceautoacc.com