Friendstar Supercharged March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 I married her becos it was love at first sight. Riding her, i felt her enthusiastic pulse... and the eager oomph. That was back in 1988. A grey toyota corona CD. The COE was up in 1998. I had to divorce her. My wife and parents insisted on a MPV. It was recession then. I couldnt afford to keep 2 cars. Unwillingly, i bid farewell to this trusty steed. My fingers ran over the well-maintained smooth and Gen2 skin, my heard ached but i shed no tears. Only last week, I saw the same corona CD (same number plate) galloped pass me. It was serving a young family. I knew immediately they'r happy with it as evident in their smiles and relaxed expressions. As I stood by the road side watching it went by, a weak smile came from within. The car still looks the same. I'm comforted that the current owner still takes good care of it. For it'll forever be loyal to him till the day it loses its breath. A tribute to one of the best car ever made. Toyota Corona CD. Also, thank you for your kind attention. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cactus Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 I can empathize with you. Reading your post reminds me of my ex car which I totalled in a crash. Heart also will feel sour everytime I see the same model running past. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Touch_n_go Neutral Newbie March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ario Neutral Newbie March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Wah Lau. Sound so Sad Bro..almost cry man. Drama leh!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 ur next car can be a corona lor now these range of coe cars are going slightly above 10k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Whats so good abt corona CD ? What is know is Corona GLi (Big butt) is the best 1.6l car i've own! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 ~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decibel Neutral Newbie March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Guess this is something alot of us do. Whenever I see the same model/color of my first car drive by, I will always check the number plate wishing it was her, though I know theres no way it can be, as I sent her to her final resting place myself... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 all the sentimental folks i saw my dad's previous car (astina 323) which i grew up with for close to 10 years and got to drive for a while, all the way in thailand, same colour somemore. that got me excited for awhile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman 1st Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Ha ha... I'm slightly different, but I know how you guys feel. Since I was just a kid, my dad has this carplate (EQxxZ) for many many years, from car to car. This is also the same number when I started driving. I secretly hoped that one day I would "take over" the number, but that was not to be. He was forced to sell the car, number and all. Over the years, I have seen the same number on at least 4 different cars. It brings back very fond memories everytime I see it. If I can afford it in future, I'll go and hunt down the current owner and offer him $10K or something like that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 There was one time i saw my father's previous car (many cars before current) around farmart area. It was park at the road side, it's a Datsun 120Y Stationwagon, different color but same number (E*1945*) i can't remember the letters, just know it's a "E" series plate my date own in late 70s to early 80s before changing to a Sunny California. I was kind of excited that this car still exist after almost 30 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparcoray Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 good that u get to see ur "old flames" all my "old flames" have been either scrapped or exported. hee hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 17, 2007 Author Share March 17, 2007 Thanks everyone for replying! I guess you all know how it feels. one of the first car you ever own. so its a "cannot bear to let go" feeling. I hope for all my bros here, u all will see ur old flame again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 my dad use to drive one, no complains over it, however due to new model coming up, tempted to sell.. driven corona CD b4 for a while when waiting for my new car, the air con is v v cold. power wise still nt too bad, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 17, 2007 Author Share March 17, 2007 i tot the power is very good? FC also excellent (its non VVTi) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 It's good that the current owner is taking good care of your old flame ... my old flame was less fortunate, the last time I met up with her after we parted was in Katong SC's carpark. We were all alone, she and I and I was speechless when I saw her. She was nothing short of beautiful when we were together, I took great care of her as if she was the only one I would ever love. But in that carpark, under the dim flourescent lights I could see that she has aged, and the scratches and marks on her formerly silk smooth skin hint of all kinds of abuse that I could never imagine doing to her. I felt really sad after that meeting with her, and never saw her again. But in my heart, I always think of my first flame and the great times we had together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gravestone March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 (edited) I married her becos it was love at first sight. Riding her, i felt her enthusiastic pulse... and the eager oomph. That was back in 1988. A grey toyota corona CD. The COE was up in 1998. I had to divorce her. My wife and parents insisted on a MPV. It was recession then. I couldnt afford to keep 2 cars. Unwillingly, i bid farewell to this trusty steed. My fingers ran over the well-maintained smooth and Gen2 skin, my heard ached but i shed no tears. Only last week, I saw the same corona CD (same number plate) galloped pass me. It was serving a young family. I knew immediately they'r happy with it as evident in their smiles and relaxed expressions. As I stood by the road side watching it went by, a weak smile came from within. The car still looks the same. I'm comforted that the current owner still takes good care of it. For it'll forever be loyal to him till the day it loses its breath. A tribute to one of the best car ever made. Toyota Corona CD. Also, thank you for your kind attention. Hey, the only Corona CD I ever drove was a Police patrol car back in the early nineties!! Power delivery was STRONG and gear changes were extremely smooth! One of THE best patrol cars around then!! Except that during those days, car was not airconditioned! Edited March 17, 2007 by Gravestone ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...