Grip & drag ?

Arkaneslayer

are they two sides of the same coin? i am confused ... wider tyres = more grip (also more drag [dizzy] )

under what circumstance would one want more grip at the cost of more drag or vice versa?

Hmmm...i think more grip comes with more contact bet. your tyres and the road surface, hence wider tyres. But at the same time, this increases your drag or should I say, resistance to movement. This has to do with the law of physics I think....Larger surface area more grip but tradeoff is more drag [nod]

I chose wider tyres because it gives a more stable ride esp. when doing a fast corner. The car hangs onto the corner better and there is less understeer. But at the same time, it increases my fuel consumption. [:(] . Its a tradeoff for better control [nod]

Edited by Fisheye

Wider tyres oso more prone to aquaplanning. If u want to go 17" but worry abt drag, go for 205/45/17. Best of both worlds. [;)]

wanted to get but no many interesting designs leh ... got one dun look too bad but $550/rim at special price [shocked] [shocked] very light can carry with 1 hand [thumbsup] ... the rest need 2 hands to carry... [thumbsdown]

mebbe i'll be shod with 16" for a while ...