Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 are they two sides of the same coin? i am confused ... wider tyres = more grip (also more drag ) under what circumstance would one want more grip at the cost of more drag or vice versa? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 wet weather? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Author Share April 24, 2003 sorry - i meant to ask in the context of choosing tyres of greater width i suppose... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fisheye Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 (edited) Hmmm...i think more grip comes with more contact bet. your tyres and the road surface, hence wider tyres. But at the same time, this increases your drag or should I say, resistance to movement. This has to do with the law of physics I think....Larger surface area more grip but tradeoff is more drag I chose wider tyres because it gives a more stable ride esp. when doing a fast corner. The car hangs onto the corner better and there is less understeer. But at the same time, it increases my fuel consumption. . Its a tradeoff for better control Edited April 24, 2003 by Fisheye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Just get your 17" lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 28, 2003 Share April 28, 2003 Wider tyres oso more prone to aquaplanning. If u want to go 17" but worry abt drag, go for 205/45/17. Best of both worlds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie April 28, 2003 Author Share April 28, 2003 wanted to get but no many interesting designs leh ... got one dun look too bad but $550/rim at special price [shocked] very light can carry with 1 hand ... the rest need 2 hands to carry... mebbe i'll be shod with 16" for a while ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie April 28, 2003 Author Share April 28, 2003 17" plans delayed i guess must wait for next sale Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 28, 2003 Share April 28, 2003 If you can't find one that you fancy, sit it out first...wait for the next sales loh.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...