RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 ya lor...jus like this one: An English professor wrote the words, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 (edited) I've posted this already, but 2 commas also makes a difference. Now what if it was meant to be "Reserved for season parking, including Sundays and public holidays, from 7pm - 7am"? I don't think she wrote the 'notice' accurately coz these notices usually don't say "Reserved for season parking" but "Reserved for season parking ticket holders". Edited March 14, 2007 by Icekitten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eskimosqito Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 Oh sori you 'chopped' already? I must have missed that, let me go back to last page. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eskimosqito Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 '...have remembered the 'sign' wrongly....' too dark for her to see Hey...just now took a glance at the wordings when I came home. They are definitely written "Reserved for season parking from 7pm-7am" with "including Sundays and Public Holidays" in brackets. Btw, all these lots are red lots. So this means that red or white doesn't make any difference at all. Whatever is written on the sign/notice/ground applies. I believe she just vaguely remembered the 'notice' and wrote in to complain. So while she was right to complain, she failed to express herself in proper English. You mean your c/p and the writer's the same? OIC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 This stoopid driver dun undertand engrand....Quite clear, that the c/p would be only for season parking nia, ON MARCH 5 and 9, I received summonses for parking on a Season Parking Lot at Sengkang (SK61). The time printed on the summonses are 5.38pm and 5.35pm respectively. In both instances, I displayed valid coupons. I am shocked for a sign on this lots states: 'Reserved for season parking including Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am.' I understand that the HDB has subcontracted this job to contractors - in this case, Sembcorp Environmental Management. I have the following questions. Are the workers properly trained? In this case, it seems not. One of the summonses bears this message: 'Parking without a valid Season Parking Ticket'. The other states: 'N/SP'. Seems like there is no standardisation. Both summonses did not indicate details of the displayed coupon which are important. Last but not least, I understand HDB has two categories of parking in red lots. One is reserved for residents 24 hours while the other is reserved from 7pm to 7am. This can be confusing to drivers, not to mention carpark wardens. Lim Kwee Kiang (Ms) quite clear it is for season parking nia....and I really dun understand her gripe I think she believe season parking oni 7pm to 7amshje neber see the word 'INCLUDING' Nothing to do with her english lah, its her interpretation only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eskimosqito Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 as you know, i oni plimalee ellucatiorn...i no read engreerese yeah, perhaps...but let's see what the reply comes.....from the authorities You veri cham, must have paid a lot school fees to learn how to remember all the c/p sign! authorities got pang chanc you for poor engrish not? Ah gong ah pek some dunno engrish at all how? Writings oni in engrish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 seriously HDB should look into simplyfing this statement.... probably - "Reserved for season parking ONLY?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 better change to You Park, I Fine Dun Pay, Sure Die Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 i think she is collect lah... becos for reserve parking fr 7pm - 7am, HDB has a special sign added apart fr the standard one. HDB got many variation of parking a) season parking whole day (no floor marking) b) season parking 7pm - 7am (this one sometime also got floor marking) c) season parking from 5pm d) season parking, loading and unloading only For each type of variation , HDB should use diffeent colours to represent. else ppl would any park.. sometimes white lot is same as red lot, and red lot is same as white lots.. i oso confused liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jango 2nd Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 Yah..after three pages and still there's no common agreement. Only mean one thing. IT's HDB's PROBLEM! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 (edited) I don't think the TS scored her own goal! I think the car park warden is blurred! This afternoon, at Siglap, I encountered a CISCO guy on scooter riding towards me. I stopped and asked him: "I thought this is one way?" He like 'siao siao", uttered "Ooh! and made a U-turn and went the correct way! WTF man, CISCO! Edited March 14, 2007 by Fitvip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ecaf Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 might be a conspiracy to purposely mislead us, to gain summons monies from us ps: if any govt official read this, pls don't sue me ah, i'm just kidding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 You mean your c/p and the writer's the same? OIC Not the same, but also in Sengkang. Suggesting that she might not have been making a fuss out of nothing as some have suggested. Coz the cp at my place has red lots which are reserved for season parking from 7pm-7am daily with the "including Sundays and Public Holidays" in brackets. The words are painted on the ground along the red lots. And some here might have interpreted her to be making a case out of nothing as she very likely did not write out the exact notice as they were painted along the lots, giving rise to a whole new meaning of the notice. Why do I say that? Bcoz the notices painted along lots always say "Reserved for season parking ticket holders" and not "Reserved for season parking". "Reserved for season parking" can only be seen on signboards at carpark entrances. Notice that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 '.."Reserved for season parking ticket holders" and not "Reserved for season parking". "Reserved for season parking" can only be seen on signboards at carpark entrances. Notice that?' PWAH sis....take my hat off to you...u veli the observant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 15, 2007 Share March 15, 2007 fwah..... u no tape down and Utube the bugger... sekali he was eating nasi lemak as he bike along and gibe u a no hiew face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie March 15, 2007 Share March 15, 2007 Sorry but my English is not that good.. what is the difference between 'Reserved for seasoned parking ticket holders' and 'Reserved for season parking'??? if the wordings 'Reserved for season parking from 7pm to 7am' is really painted on the ground,then she should just argued all the way to ask HDB to waive.. IMO, the '7pm to 7am' is the misleading portion... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...