RadX Moderator March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 This stoopid driver dun undertand engrand....Quite clear, that the c/p would be only for season parking nia, ON MARCH 5 and 9, I received summonses for parking on a Season Parking Lot at Sengkang (SK61). The time printed on the summonses are 5.38pm and 5.35pm respectively. In both instances, I displayed valid coupons. I am shocked for a sign on this lots states: 'Reserved for season parking including Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am.' I understand that the HDB has subcontracted this job to contractors - in this case, Sembcorp Environmental Management. I have the following questions. Are the workers properly trained? In this case, it seems not. One of the summonses bears this message: 'Parking without a valid Season Parking Ticket'. The other states: 'N/SP'. Seems like there is no standardisation. Both summonses did not indicate details of the displayed coupon which are important. Last but not least, I understand HDB has two categories of parking in red lots. One is reserved for residents 24 hours while the other is reserved from 7pm to 7am. This can be confusing to drivers, not to mention carpark wardens. Lim Kwee Kiang (Ms) quite clear it is for season parking nia....and I really dun understand her gripe I think she believe season parking oni 7pm to 7amshje neber see the word 'INCLUDING' ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 sinkies england not powderful so got diff interpretation. can mean 'Reserved for season parking' that includes 'Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am' = weekdays is 24 hours, Sundays and PH is 7pm to 7am. or 'Reserved for season parking from 7pm to 7am' including 'Sundays and public holidays' i believe she read as the latter, hence her gripe but she never thought that if it was the latter, then the 'Sundays and public holidays' is a redundant statement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 (edited) season parking is 7pm-7am leh..which is 1900hrs to 0700hrs the next morning.. his parking time is 5+pm..which should not be a prob.. edit: knn..i also read as the latter..talk about playing around with language.. Edited March 13, 2007 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Think it is a case of poor application of grammar... She thought "Reserved for [season parking including Sundays and public holidays] from 7pm to 7am", ie. which can mean imply season parking on weekdays from 7am to 7pm allowed. The correct way to read the sign is "Reserved for season parking [including Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am]" ie. reserved for season parking on a weekday, the whole day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 13, 2007 Author Share March 13, 2007 ER...pls see the INCLUDING sun/public holidays.. well, now I can see why she misunderstood...looks like many others here in MCF will too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 that's why as mentioned by a bro here before, if a letter makes those on top looks foolish, it wont be posted but if the other way round, the senders sounds stopig, 99% chance it will be posted.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 13, 2007 Author Share March 13, 2007 Yup! Engrand not powederful....anyway, I am surprised that ST can print this kind of letter liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 i read as 'Reserved for season parking including Sundays and public holidays'and ' from 7pm to 7am.[/b'] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 ' senders sounds stopig, 99% chance it will be posted..' and remember the Singtel lady, who got 504 RAM instead of 512Mb RAM.... that also write in comprain....I bet the singtel staff laffing themselves away..dumb lady never heard that some RAM used for other apps and wun be registered Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 and pray tell, what do you understand with that statement??? I am inclined to think that the other bros here would give you an english lesson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 14, 2007 Author Share March 14, 2007 Quote sinkies england not powderful so got diff interpretation. can mean 'Reserved for season parking' that includes 'Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am' = weekdays is 24 hours, Sundays and PH is 7pm to 7am. or 'Reserved for season parking from 7pm to 7am' including 'Sundays and public holidays' i believe she read as the latter, hence her gripe but she never thought that if it was the latter, then the 'Sundays and public holidays' is a redundant statement. think that was put as many ppl would assume that PH/Sundays Free parking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 (edited) Quote This stoopid driver dun undertand engrand....Quite clear, that the c/p would be only for season parking nia, ON MARCH 5 and 9, I received summonses for parking on a Season Parking Lot at Sengkang (SK61). The time printed on the summonses are 5.38pm and 5.35pm respectively. In both instances, I displayed valid coupons. I am shocked for a sign on this lots states: 'Reserved for season parking including Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am.' I understand that the HDB has subcontracted this job to contractors - in this case, Sembcorp Environmental Management. I have the following questions. Are the workers properly trained? In this case, it seems not. One of the summonses bears this message: 'Parking without a valid Season Parking Ticket'. The other states: 'N/SP'. Seems like there is no standardisation. Both summonses did not indicate details of the displayed coupon which are important. Last but not least, I understand HDB has two categories of parking in red lots. One is reserved for residents 24 hours while the other is reserved from 7pm to 7am. This can be confusing to drivers, not to mention carpark wardens. Lim Kwee Kiang (Ms) quite clear it is for season parking nia....and I really dun understand her gripe I think she believe season parking oni 7pm to 7amshje neber see the word 'INCLUDING' I think she got a case if she parked in a WHITE lot in the carpark, else if she parked in a RED lot then no use appealing!.. i used to park at a carpark with also has this sign for a long long time, no prob. But only in the lots that are drawn in white & not red! take note. From mon to sun, between 7am to 7pm, anyone can park there with valid parking coupons (50ct/30mins). but from mon to sun ,between 7pm to 7am, only season ticket holders can park there, no parking coupons allowed . This is becos the car park is under utilised during daytime, yet not enough for residents at nite! Always read carefully the signboard at car park entrance for the type of parking allowed. Got another type of car park is totally cannot park at all, all lots are red. It's solely for season parking 24hrs. Edited March 14, 2007 by Jacf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 one thing abt HDB carparks.. as long as the lots are red, only season ticket holders can park, regardless of whatever free parking or timing put up at the carpark entrance's signboard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 Quote Yup! Engrand not powederful....anyway, I am surprised that ST can print this kind of letter liao i tink st print is to highlight to the scholars that peasants england not powderful enuf to understand queen english. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 eh so wat u were saying from ur 2 posts is contradicting... u meant to say can park in red lots in the daytime with 50cents per 1/2hr or totally can park at all? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 no u misunderstood.. Im saying that can park in the car park but only in WHITE lots & display coupons. For red lots, no way u can park regardless of watever timing put up on signboard & only for season tickets holders, so even if display coupons in red lot is useless.... For eg, for a car park that has free parking on sun from 7am to 1030pm, u can only park in white lots in that carpark, & not the red lots ,rite? red lots are Always for season ticket holders only... hope to clear your doubts.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 Quote 'Reserved for season parking including Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am.'[/b] Maybe it should have said: 'Reserved for season parking Monday to Saturday 0000-2359, Sundays and Public Holidays 1900-0700. We can all suggest something, haha. Basically she is arguing the technicality of the use of language, which I do feel is fundamentally weak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 'Reserved for season parking including Sundays and public holidays from 7pm to 7am.' If red lots are always reserved for season parking 24hrs/365days, why did they put the 7pm to 7am huh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...