Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 I heard that if one goes away for long periods (a few weeks/months) and leaving the car un-driven, the car should not be left entirely alone. The car needs to be started up occasionally to prevent problems. Anyone knows the reason? This is old school but is this really necessary to start the engine occasionally, especially modern cars? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 For weeks is still quite ok but for months, it is not advisable. Should unplug the battery but this will cause ECU to reset, your HU FM station to loss memory,...etc. What happen, you going away for months? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 Not too long,if not kena overhaul Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 Leaving the tyres in one single spot (pressure of car on that particular spot for long periods) will also cause the tyre to be "pregnant" (spoil) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Author Share March 8, 2007 Got an overseas assignment that will take about 3 weeks. But who knows someday might kena longer periods that could take months.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Author Share March 8, 2007 overhaul???? So serious ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Author Share March 8, 2007 Leaving the tyres in one single spot (pressure of car on that particular spot for long periods) will also cause the tyre to be "pregnant" (spoil) I supposed you are referring to parking on uneven ground, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 hahhaha, overhaul...not so serious lah... if it were, then what will happen to the many unbought protons left out in the open in jurong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 it's called flatspotting... just like F15 Eagles that are left overhight on the tarmac... hahah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otsego Clutched March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 for a few weeks only, u can take of all ur wheels and jack up ur car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 nothing will go wrong with just a few weeks... if your are leaving for a good few months then remove the battery.... you can easily retune your HU channels :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanhs8 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 I heard that if one goes away for long periods (a few weeks/months) and leaving the car un-driven, the car should not be left entirely alone. The car needs to be started up occasionally to prevent problems. Anyone knows the reason? This is old school but is this really necessary to start the engine occasionally, especially modern cars? battery ,tyres,engines not lubricated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukesky Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 got 1 red altis in my carpark that was parked there for at least 1.5 years..never move at all but the tyres still round, never 'lao hong'. But maybe when drive off, the rubber will all just fall off the rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 got so serious or not?? 1.5 years?? did u check whether the driver is in the car i.e. mati liao....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 12, 2007 Author Share March 12, 2007 Huh? Then where should I keep my tyres? Won't the pressure on the jacking points hurt the car even more? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 12, 2007 Author Share March 12, 2007 Thanks for the info, bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched March 12, 2007 Share March 12, 2007 Maybe he was so lucky to be able to park at the same lot for 1.5yrs everytime he came back?? Did u check whether there's already a thick thick layer of dust over it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Huh! Condo ah? Or landed? No need buy season parking? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...