Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 It came out in HK's newspaper as HK custom officers siezed the pumping gadgets brought into HK. Then Exxo had to call back all its existing pumping gadgets used in HK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Russ 1st Gear March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Possibilities: OVERFILL - With Petrol, very dangerous cos you risk blowing up the station or setting your car on fire, esp if the vapours ignite due to hot exhaust. With Diesel, will not catch fire but the floor will be as slippery as a skating rink after that. PUMP CALIBRATION - Possible but our authorities do check the stations and ensure that they are within tolerance. PUMP NOT RESET TO ZERO - Quite unlikely unless the nozzle was not placed back properly. Say a motorbike comes in and pumps 10 litres, then doesn't put back nozzle and quietly slips off. Next guy comes in and pumps starts from 10 litres .... TANK BIGGER THAN SPECIFIED - I know for a fact that Australian Volvos in the 1980s used to have 80 litre tanks when the spec was 60 litres. So if the Estima was a PI model meant for Australia, this could happen (Sometimes, you drive for hours without seeing a station). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 OVERFILL by +10 litre = Quite unlikely. PUMP CALIBRATION = possible and proven in HK. PUMP NOT RESET TO ZERO = Unless due to mechanical error, otherwise the pump shuold automatically reset to zero when the nozzle is lfted. TANK BIGGER THAN SPECIFIED = Possible. Manufacturers usually would have some buffer on their specs. That's why some said they can pump a lot more petrol than 1/4 when they cross to JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 (edited) mine is the opposite horror story... imagine u lift the pump, abt to insert the nozzle into the filler hole( no penetration yet ...), even before i pull the trigger, petrol gush out, est abt 0.5l worth, splashed all over the filler hole, and nearby area + car body ... quickly pull back, then a pump attendant walked by n see see, dun believe, i pointed the nozzle down at the floor ... some more gush out !!! lesser this time, he said i dunno how to pull, another one came along dun believe, same demo ... a small puddle gathered and the last drop drips... all along the meter shows : $0.00 !!! The attendant quickly took a rag and wanted to wipe it of the car body !!!!! , heng stopped in time, closed fuel plug and use water pour... nbz... the area below the filler hole + car body full of petrol... est abt 1l worth of 8000 grade petrol, probably paid by the prev. guy is now somewer in the drains of a petrol stn in cck... pls dun ask me why i dun continue to consume the 1l, its my paint work that i m more concerned abt than the 1l.... anyway , 1st in yrs that i hv seen such thing... any bros / sis wif same exp ? mice Edited March 10, 2007 by Bluemice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
See_nik Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Estima only 65-litre tank?? Even my lancer already 52 litre liao....I think the figure is just an estimate lah...tank should be able to take much more.. I doubt the figure is an estimate. One would expect that the measurement of sure a critical aspect of a car to be accurate. And it is a Toyota, not a 2 cents company. If toyota says the tank is 65L, I trust it is 65L. +/- 10L ? Me thinks either: 1. Pump miscalibration. 2. Deliberate cheating. 3. Leakage/spillage at pump or in car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...