Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 My guess would be the pump nozzle calibration might be not properly calibrated. Wah like that if we, end-users, did not check, kenna sucker by petroleum companies big time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/10007_sp1.php Toyota Estima's specs say the fuel tank is 65 litre. May be there is a reserve petrol tank in estima? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 frankly, for those who go pump only when red light's ON, it's easier to gauge the accuracy but for someone like me who always pump when 60%-70% empty, really dont know how to gauge... to me, as long my FC is stable (no huge fluctuation..) the pump should be working .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renotrafic Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 (edited) For my van (diesel)there is a outlet, near the fuel neck tat let the fuel in. tat small pipe is for letting excess diesel flow out... I tested liao, so confirm... I check with my mech too, he also say dun over pump it will flow out. Edited March 9, 2007 by Renotrafic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 must be meter faulty or is there a conspiracy at work? my fuel tank is 72l. whenever low fuel light comes on, i will pump to the brim. max i gotten was 59.xl, even after i drove quite far after the light came on. last sun, light came on and 2km later, i pumped spc. 61.xl !!! i was surprised cos i never hit that amount before. in this case, hard to say if really that amount or meter off. at least the estima guy has a clear cut figure to argue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 but hor, varible of around 2L in your case is very small and subjective..... even with different pump number, the auto trip also could varies by that amount... for that Estima case, something is very fishy... i can understand the "extra" few L space in the tank but 10L is a lot...... if the tank is so "huge", no reason toyota label it as 65L since they could easily label it 70L tank... doesnt make sense... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 The tank capacity stated is usually a estimated volume. It might be more or less. EG...my ex ride states 55L tank....thru 4 years, I never got more than 52L into the tank even there was once I was like driving on vapor only...tank was so low that when I open the cap, air was gushing out. Auto off at 48-49L....then managed to squeeze in 51+ liter only. My old Sunny lagi funny....pump until 70+ liter and still going....then smell petrol...and realised that my damn tank was leaking....new car somemore !! Send back to Tan Chong...the seal at the top of the tank was broken...hence all the petrol was flowing out from there effective giving my B14 Sunny a mini petrol water fall at the bottom of the car. So maybe that Estima like my Sunny sprung a leak ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullbig Clutched March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 Estima only 65-litre tank?? Even my lancer already 52 litre liao....I think the figure is just an estimate lah...tank should be able to take much more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 agreed, on my fuel cover cap, there's also a warning not to overfill the pump, first click will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joetan23 Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 I think 65L is very little for Estima...and it is not surprise that the reserve tank is 10L...I think Mazda 3 is 55L..but the light is up ard 45L... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear March 9, 2007 Author Share March 9, 2007 So how can we confirm based on the specs given for Estima whether the figure includes reserve tank? Anyway, that Estima uncle has been consistently getting about 65L when he usually pumped. He even tried swapping brands a few times and also getting 65L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 looking at this piece of news,, my ride tank is 60 litre.. reserve tank is ard 8 litre.. when warning light is on.. normally 55 to 58 litres had been used.. so normally pump with 60 recently last 2 tank.. i managed to pump 60- 62 and even 65.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 (edited) Yeap Bro, Mazda 3 is 55L Normally, i pump at 1/4 tank and is about 39~41 Ltrs But to pump an extra 10 ltrs ontop of this Estima's fuel tank is a bit Edited March 9, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joetan23 Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 then must see if it is becos he drive until really dry liao then pump lor..anyway the fuel light does not alway light up at a certain point since it is a sensor..if car is moving..the fuel can easily sense by it..and by the time car is not in motion, prob few litres of petrol is used up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joetan23 Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 the 65L could be the normal tank..so extra 10L for reserve..quite normal jus like ur 45+10L= 55L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 well.... for whole of last mth, they gave huge discounts on the petrol mah... u smart enough to know what i telling u hor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joetan23 Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 CNY period is 19% off...hmmm..do the calculation and u will know... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 Estima only 65-litre tank?? Even my lancer already 52 litre liao....I think the figure is just an estimate lah...tank should be able to take much more.. i tot lancer only 50 litres tank... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...