Throttle2 Supersonic January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 My IU drop out from my car recently and I called up LTA to tell them about my problem and ask where I can get my IU fixed. They refer me to VICOM. I then drove to VICOM and waited for 20 mins plus to get my IU "inspected". The mechanics tell me this: "Either you buy the IU bracket or u go outside and buy the 3M tape to paste my IU back" Huh???!!? I was shocked and went on to say that "Hey aren't my IU under warranty?" and the VICOM guy tells me that "Only the IU is under warranty, not the holder" So now I think what the gahmen is telling me this. "The IU is what we treasure most cos it generates $$$ when you go pass our ERP but for your own safety.. nah.. its yours.. so better pay up to get the bracket replaced or get your own 3M tape or any tape to paste it back and hopefully during an accident, it won't fly out and hit your head!" I am absolutely appalled to hear that. Although it is just a small thing but come to think of that, this small thing can result in fatal accident. I remembered once that the media did focus on the safety of the IU and even showed the scene whereby one car kena accident and the IU was still intact and remains safe cos think the members of the public was worried about that. But now, this small thing happened to my car and no one bothers about it and even ask me to pay for the bracket. Oh c'mon, what is the price of the bracket when compared to the amount of ERP that we have been giving all these while. Isn't our safety worth more than that few dollars? si bei bo liao lah you. just paste the stupid thing back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 (edited) si bei bo liao lah you. just paste the stupid thing back. Cannot any how touch the iu, later it start to charge double on every ERP gantry [laugh] Edited January 22, 2011 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Bro..gettin 3M double side tape is much cheaper & easier than u callin LTA/Vicom,gg 2 Vicom, waitin 4 so long & get such answers,& posting a long complain here. I can do it 4 u..i got double side tape..PM 2 deal..FOC.. Agree. Penny wise pound foolish. Can ownself settle easily but go back cos "got warranty". Dun wan waste the warranty. And its true. The tape not under warranty. They could had just gave u the IU in the first place and ask u tape urself when u bought the car. They provided value added service now u wanna take advantage =D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung7 Neutral Newbie January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 In the first place... no one wants the IU.. it's a device that is placed there to charge tolls.. with this device, it is so easy to erect gantries anywhere and change the prices anytime. It's only in World Class SG that we have to "maintain" this device... in fact, I would think that this device be given lifetime warranty, even if the thing drops LTA has to rectify it FOC.. anyway.. this is a 3 year old thread... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 basket if TS is chio bu confirm almost every reply willing to help Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovemyride 4th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 It is interesting that for IU which is out of warranty, you will need to pay to get it inspected by VICOM. For mechanical failure of the IU, many people realise it when they are unable to get out of ERP operated car parks or when LTA send you fines for ERP gantry. And when you write in to appeal, they might agree to waive the admin charge and send you voucher to get your IU inspected. I agree that the IU should be maintained by LTA or whichever agency and not the car owner. Because we as car owners, can continue to survive with the car without the IU. Just that the law prevents us from doing so. So IU drop out, IU failure, LTA should rectify the fault for the car owner as long as the car remains registered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceshelterx Neutral Newbie January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 It is interesting that for IU which is out of warranty, you will need to pay to get it inspected by VICOM. For mechanical failure of the IU, many people realise it when they are unable to get out of ERP operated car parks or when LTA send you fines for ERP gantry. And when you write in to appeal, they might agree to waive the admin charge and send you voucher to get your IU inspected. I agree that the IU should be maintained by LTA or whichever agency and not the car owner. Because we as car owners, can continue to survive with the car without the IU. Just that the law prevents us from doing so. So IU drop out, IU failure, LTA should rectify the fault for the car owner as long as the car remains registered. Totally agree.... but hey... when i look at my purchase agreement... UI installation is one of the charges le.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 Totally agree.... but hey... when i look at my purchase agreement... UI installation is one of the charges le.... if IU faulty, how come the ERP gantry can still detect? i thought if IU fauilty or off/missing, no charge at all? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 (edited) Typical case of a complain king. So when you buy a car and after some time if the tire puncture you go back and complain about warranty ? I do agree with the viacom that it is the "device" that they warranty not the holder if u really kept the piece of paper. Typical case of never check properly anyhow complain. They cannot detect ur iu , they take ur pic of car , write a letter and inform you of a faulty device and tells u to change/check it. Edited January 23, 2011 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 Typical case of a complain king. So when you buy a car and after some time if the tire puncture you go back and complain about warranty ? I do agree with the viacom that it is the "device" that they warranty not the holder if u really kept the piece of paper. Typical case of never check properly anyhow complain. They cannot detect ur iu , they take ur pic of car , write a letter and inform you of a faulty device and tells u to change/check it. how they know your IU cannot detect if its not even tranmitting signals? assuming i cut the damn wire, they also wont know if i go through the gantry or not. so how they catch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 same thing as if u don't put a cashcard in the transmitter. If they don't detect anyone they would just snap a picture and give u a ticket for it. If you wanna contest , they would get you to go to viacom for a check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 It is interesting that for IU which is out of warranty, you will need to pay to get it inspected by VICOM. For mechanical failure of the IU, many people realise it when they are unable to get out of ERP operated car parks or when LTA send you fines for ERP gantry. And when you write in to appeal, they might agree to waive the admin charge and send you voucher to get your IU inspected. I agree that the IU should be maintained by LTA or whichever agency and not the car owner. Because we as car owners, can continue to survive with the car without the IU. Just that the law prevents us from doing so. So IU drop out, IU failure, LTA should rectify the fault for the car owner as long as the car remains registered. I didn't know about the voucher. Last year when my old IU kept malfunctioning, it randomly stopped detecting the cashcard inside, leading to a bunch of fines which took a while to waive. Even though I went to Vicom Kaki Bukit to get it inspected voluntarily, the guy there didn't want to replace it, saying that it's cashcard that's dirty (hello? I have 3 cashcards in use and they all exhibit the same problem!) and that it'll be fine after wiping it. He even wiped it and kept jamming the card into it till it worked. After arguing for ages, I decided I had better things to do and left (ok, stupid me there). This led to another week of fines (all were waived eventually). Eventually I went to Vicom Sin Ming and got it replaced and paid something stupid like $150++ for it. Just so that I could pay even more money to use the road. Seriously I think our government will take the chance to charge you for any damn thing they can, even if it's something made mandatory by them. Their function in this country seems to be the creation of problems for its inhabitants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asure7 1st Gear January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 (edited) opps sorry reply wrong person Edited January 27, 2011 by Asure7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asure7 1st Gear January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 Bro, i think they are taking u for a ride. From the picture, your bracket is not broken right? only need the tape? Vicom should provide you the mounting tape. The tape is special, cannot anyhow buy 3M tapes and DIY (of course you can, just don't get caught by TP). If you look carefully at the UIs on other cars, there is a small little sticker with the word "erp" under the tape. Only authorized places like Vicom have that to certify that the tape can be used for UI. I know a few people who went vicom and got the thing pasted with the tape for free. Maybe you should make a complaint on the mechanic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 (edited) how they know your IU cannot detect if its not even tranmitting signals? assuming i cut the damn wire, they also wont know if i go through the gantry or not. so how they catch? Same system as how red light camera know u run red light? hello. no need IU to detect a car. Edited January 27, 2011 by Nf0rc3r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 if IU faulty, how come the ERP gantry can still detect? i thought if IU fauilty or off/missing, no charge at all? how i wish you are the Minister of transport... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 Same system as how red light camera know u run red light? hello. no need IU to detect a car. what u mean? . u mean the gantry can detect missing IU? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung7 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2011 Share January 27, 2011 look behind the gantries and see how many cameras there are... if there was a way to hack the erp system, don't you think that many pple would have done so.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...