IU drop out from windshield and this is what VICOM tell me...

Mussorgsky

for me I would not complain coz it's just the sticky stuff that can;t stick it anymore..just buy a new tape and settled..nothing big prob

btw yr siggy very big leh sweatdrop.gif

In every product, there are bound to have a few defected ones. Guess you are one of the unlucky ones. [:|]

By the way, how much is the bracket ? If it doesnt cost much, just buy from them lor. Orelse DIY with 3M tape. [idea]

No point getting so work-up over these little things. Life is more meaningfull than that. [nod]

Cheers bro.... [sunny]

Haha this is like one of the funniest threads I've read in a while. My IU is also detached from my lorry windscreen, but I certainly don't feel like it's gonna fly off and cause me grevious head injuries when I e-brake. Just use 3M double-sided mounting tape and stick it back on lah.

BTW, you sound like the type of person who'll sue 3M if the IU should fall out again. Very very amusing. [laugh]

No big deal really. True that it's dangerous if its not properly secured but it onus of the car owners to ensure it is secure IMO.

Just like bikes, as long you IU is properly fitted, it does'nt matter how you do it. And the money comes out from your own pocket if you wana do your own brackets.

My car was not tinted at all. Anyway.. I am selling my ride soon... So I just push my IU back and hope that it won't drop out again. Think that's just life in Singapore. Pay and Pay..

my kangoo faced the same problem. also not tinted. i realised that it will stick most of the time, but if park under the hot sun, it will drop. in the end, the stickiness got weaker and i had to buy the clear 3M double sided tape to stick it back (the thick one for mounting heavy stuff on walls).

Of cos I change bulb at home. I am the Mr DIY at home. Oh come on... Dun you guys get the message across? Its not the tape that is the problem. I can get it from any DIY shop. Its the way that this matter has been treated and the different view that I choose to see.

i wonder if u read the above posts before u post?

what if u meet with a accident when it is "attached"? if it can be removed and put back easily means it can fly out easily during an accident. detachable? no point leh.

Attached or not, if serious accident, it'll still hit you.

The IU is one thing that spoils the looks of 99% of the cars/bikes in Singapore.

Edited by nhyone

Yah. Think its time to revolutionise the design of our IU! Probably have integrated device built in to new car models. That will be cool. Our gahmen encourage us to be innovative but then look at our "red light" camera. Its one of the ugliest thing on earth!

Can't they just paint some colour over it and make it more appealing even though it will spoilt its "stealth" capabilities. hehe..

u ask them to change the design and give them a new coat of paint, they will have excuse to increase dunno wat charges again.. coz all these replacement and upgrading needs money.

Why bother about new coat of paint or design? They shouldnt be there in the first place! laugh.gif

can stick just liddat meh?

few years back, when i did my tinting.... must use the approved double side sticker from LTA or something....

else.... will kena fine if kena checked (think some issues with taking out the unit & place on bolehland vehicle or something)

dunno abt now though

Is it? Hmm.. that VICOM guy just tell me to go outside and buy 3M tape to paste it back. He did not warn me about the tape that requires LTA approval. That's why I am kinda of surprised to hear such comment.

"Attached or not, if serious accident, it'll still hit you." - let's just accept this statement of yours as correct (although i do not agree with it at all). so what about not too serious accidents?

it will be really really really reall silly to get hit by the IU in a minor accident (which is very possible if u make it detachable) when it could have been avoided simply by doing nothing at all (ie, leaving it as it is).

well, if looks is more important to you then your own safety, ok, i bo wei kong.