Mussorgsky Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 (edited) My IU drop out from my car recently and I called up LTA to tell them about my problem and ask where I can get my IU fixed. They refer me to VICOM. I then drove to VICOM and waited for 20 mins plus to get my IU "inspected". The mechanics tell me this: "Either you buy the IU bracket or u go outside and buy the 3M tape to paste my IU back" Huh???!!? I was shocked and went on to say that "Hey aren't my IU under warranty?" and the VICOM guy tells me that "Only the IU is under warranty, not the holder" So now I think what the gahmen is telling me this. "The IU is what we treasure most cos it generates $$$ when you go pass our ERP but for your own safety.. nah.. its yours.. so better pay up to get the bracket replaced or get your own 3M tape or any tape to paste it back and hopefully during an accident, it won't fly out and hit your head!" I am absolutely appalled to hear that. Although it is just a small thing but come to think of that, this small thing can result in fatal accident. I remembered once that the media did focus on the safety of the IU and even showed the scene whereby one car kena accident and the IU was still intact and remains safe cos think the members of the public was worried about that. But now, this small thing happened to my car and no one bothers about it and even ask me to pay for the bracket. Oh c'mon, what is the price of the bracket when compared to the amount of ERP that we have been giving all these while. Isn't our safety worth more than that few dollars? Edited March 7, 2007 by Mussorgsky ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Then you should ask him ...... now I want to complain that whoever that install this IU didn't install properly and causes it to drop .... so complain where.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Bro..gettin 3M double side tape is much cheaper & easier than u callin LTA/Vicom,gg 2 Vicom, waitin 4 so long & get such answers,& posting a long complain here. I can do it 4 u..i got double side tape..PM 2 deal..FOC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 hi bro.. was curious.. was ur car tinted?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toledo 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 just curious, did you do any window tinting prior to the IU falling out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 the transparent stickers.. can get fr rainforest thread sponsor lah, he sell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
See_nik Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 My IU drop out from my car recently and I called up LTA to tell them about my problem and ask where I can get my IU fixed. They refer me to VICOM. I then drove to VICOM and waited for 20 mins plus to get my IU "inspected". The mechanics tell me this: "Either you buy the IU bracket or u go outside and buy the 3M tape to paste my IU back" Huh???!!? I was shocked and went on to say that "Hey aren't my IU under warranty?" and the VICOM guy tells me that "Only the IU is under warranty, not the holder" So now I think what the gahmen is telling me this. "The IU is what we treasure most cos it generates $$$ when you go pass our ERP but for your own safety.. nah.. its yours.. so better pay up to get the bracket replaced or get your own 3M tape or any tape to paste it back and hopefully during an accident, it won't fly out and hit your head!" I am absolutely appalled to hear that. Although it is just a small thing but come to think of that, this small thing can result in fatal accident. I remembered once that the media did focus on the safety of the IU and even showed the scene whereby one car kena accident and the IU was still intact and remains safe cos think the members of the public was worried about that. But now, this small thing happened to my car and no one bothers about it and even ask me to pay for the bracket. Oh c'mon, what is the price of the bracket when compared to the amount of ERP that we have been giving all these while. Isn't our safety worth more than that few dollars? Aren't you a little spoilt? Go fix the IU - is that too difficult? Next we'll get these complaints about car breaking down and why dun the Gahmen fix them afterall we pay so much road tax ........ or the radio reception no good/spoilt and then complain why dun the media authorities fix it coz pay so much radio licence fees ..... or maybe petrol tank leaking why dun the oil companies pay coz paying so much for petrol oreadi ....... or door lock/power window spoilt why dun the insurance companies pay coz paying so much insurance oreadi ....... SIGH ............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 they should fix it for u. it's a 3 min DIY job. but the 3M tape is not cheap this smacks of the typical attitude from gahmen agencies despite the taxes we pay to be on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mussorgsky Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Author Share March 7, 2007 My car was not tinted at all. Anyway.. I am selling my ride soon... So I just push my IU back and hope that it won't drop out again. Think that's just life in Singapore. Pay and Pay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lengendcf 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Like this, you are being selfish and in a way very inconsiderate to the next poor chap who's going to buy yr car. You are concerned about safety issue, that the IU may fly and hit you. But you are in a way lucky to have the IU dropped out without causing any injuries. But when the next time, it really did fall off, do you think the guy driving will be as lucky as well as to have an advance knowledge??? I agreed that you are a spoilt brat! By the way, is your real name JACK who buang a picanto, he have the same farking mentality as you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 wat the FARK... All shoot him spoilt brat. I think wat he says is true to an extent. The govt put something in your car to generate revenue but doesnt upkeep it and leaves it to the owner to do DIY if anything happens. That is really sad man! Anyway, yeah its damn dangerous. Lucky it drop out on its own and u didnt wait for an accident. imagine the IU fly out and hit u square on the forehead. Airbag also cannot save u Go buy some 3m tape, tape it in front of the vicom pple and throw the leftover roll at them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Must the IU be attached to the windscreen? Can it be on the dashboard? I find it super ugly. Is there a mod to make it detachable? I don't pass through the ERP gantries very often, so I can take it off most of the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 i wonder if u read the above posts before u post? what if u meet with a accident when it is "attached"? if it can be removed and put back easily means it can fly out easily during an accident. detachable? no point leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lbc13 Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 I hope no one flame me for being spoilt. I just hope that someone will come along and revamp the position of the IU, keeping it under or hidden below the dash board or something, this should somehow reduce the number of petty theives from smashing the windscreen for the cash card. It's about high time they do that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaer Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Dude, buy one of those rubber mat and place your IU on top. That's what I did to mine when I removed it to install my tint. Didn't want to buy a roll of 3M just to stick this back. Still working! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiatmobile 1st Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Brother, They are trying to shove you away in order to do something better. To them, they think that this is "Bo Liao" issues and that you should used a 3M double sided tape to stick it by yourself.... However, you should have taken down the name and made a complaint to LTA on their services. Recently, i went to Vicom to renew my Road Tax. At the counter, they accept VISA only for Reapir. For Road Tax, ONLY Diners Club Card is accepted. According to the lady, this is LTA rules.... I was damn piss off..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 I cannot believe that the guy who started this topic can actually indirectly blame the govt for his IU problem.So ashame of him. just get the 3M tape to fix it up if he wants to save costs. blame this blame that wont't solve anything. is the govt going to provide for his every need? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mussorgsky Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Author Share March 7, 2007 Oh come on brothers.. Cool down.. first I must admit I am a spoilt brat. I am the sort that always like to complain a lot.. Especially the gahmen. In fact.. During the general election, i attended most of the other parties rally. secondly, I am concerned about the safety of the future owner and that's why i drive my car to VICOM for inspection. lastly.. I just want to start off this interesting discussion and gather different views. I do not mind getting my own tape to stick it. But i cannot assure that the tape that I used will be safe.. That is able to hold the weight of the IU and stand the sun shine. If 3M tape really works.. My IU wouldn't have drop off. Can someone suggest some solution to this. Let's stay cool and discuss.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...