What tyres have you skidded on during regular driving

oomph

Tyre: Continental Sports Contact II

Road: HDB Multi-storey carpark - concrete

Situation: Everytime without fail when its wet, ABS kicks in even at 20-30kmh speeds.

Same experience as me. Got the shock of life when my tyres wheel spin on the wet upslope of a MCSP in Orchard. The driver in the car behind probably freak out. shakehead.gif

Falken 326.

Had to slam on the brakes in an emergency when travelling at about 75km/h on slightly damp expressway (after light rain), car skidded two full car lengths. Would have skidded further, if not for the fact that the Cefiro in front "stopped" me.

On the same tires, exited at Bukit Timah from off the CTE (exit that comes out next to KK hospital), travelling about 40km/h+ in the rain. Tapped the brake to slow down, car lost traction and skidded about 10 meters, nearly rear-ended the car in front.

Was driving a Hyundai Accent LC2 (1.3 litre Manual) at the time.

totally agreed with you....my ride also on Faulken 326....skipped more than 5times liao.. [sweatdrop] gg to throw again when April comes....

I'm on the new Pilot Preceda. Some call it PP2.

The tire has got a very nice transition between gripping and sliding. It handles wet roads, even standing water well by dispersing instead of aqualplaning over the surface.

Dry performance is probably similar to other tires in the same price range.

I use a 195/55/15 tire.

Hello NCP91,

I was quoted $141 per tire for the PP2. Would that be a good price? How much did they set you back by?

I would need to get 195/50/15 for my 206

Thanks for your feedback!

That sounds about right. But as I traded my factory alloys in as a package price and topped up, I do not know how much the cost breakdown was.

Pays to shop around for the best prices though.

sweatdrop.gifim currently on this set of tyres.

planning to change soon.

i drifted while coming down CTE(AYE) tunnel exit at merchant road.

left bend. then downslope and i held it there and accelerate somemore.

lipsrsealed.gif

it just decided to just let go without warning

I was quoted $141 per tire for the PP2. Would that be a good price? How much did they set you back by?

I would need to get 195/50/15 for my 206

PP2: I was quoted S$200 each for size 205/55/16 today.

Seems like some are made in Thailand while some are made in Japan

Any one else using New Pilot Preceda? or New Pilot Sport? Would like some feedback on them. 15" ones

Thanks!

I am also using Michelin Pilot Preceda tyre size 205/55R16.. never skid before leh.. I like cornering a lot because got struct bar, anti-roll bar and rear crash bar.. so far so good.. touch wood... no skids...

Cheers...

40kmh skid ? thats a very safe speed ... have you changed your tyres ?

Yokohama C.Drive. But 50% tyres left.. Going downslope at 80KM/H, press brakes on wet floor, whole car 'drift' down the slope.. Scary experience..

Tyre: Yokohama aspec A300 (cheaper version of aspec dB)

Road: Normal dry road tarmac

Situation: Hard braking at 40-50kph, tyres slip, ABS activated.

I call them surfing tyres... laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

It is usual that the ABS kicks in, in the situation you have highlighted. However, there other possible situations that contributed to it, is the temperature of the tyre and brakes (usually first drive of the day in the morning), and the driving habits.