Very bad finish

Dfx16

Guys.. recently i had decided to remove my ride emblem

After removing it i notice that the paint job under it is very bad

Mtns back my car got kiss at the back, send to workshop for knocking and respray

Yesterday i went back to that shop to enquire why does it so

They replied that at the point of time, the emblem was not removed hence during the spraying process, lacquer sneak into it

Those waves were dry up lacquer actually

They suggest that i had to leave my car there to re-do all over again

Meaning that paying money to respray the whole back panel [dizzy]

Any bro here can suggest anything for me to DIY (Very fine sand paper, Scratch Remover cream or polishing etc)

Thanks!

DSC02579.jpg

DSC02578.jpg

i suggest u put the emblem back..cheaper.. [sweatdrop]

i tink no need respray..need the touch of the detailers like gen2 or maddriver..they wld knoe wat 2 do..

for paint job...i rather leave it to the professionals...tried DIY before...did a botched job...in the end send to workshop....sama sama... [sweatdrop]

most cost effective way is to put another emblem there....stickers cannot conceal also...

wah, which workshop is this? So unprofessional. They shd remove the emblems wat...doesnt take them long to do it.

Anyway, no cure liao now, unless respray. Suggest u stick back the emblem.

wah bro.. what thing you had there that during the respray.. did not take out. You should have taken it out. Now like that.. no chio. If you can't tahan it, then no choice but to respray. If not, find something and cover it up loh.

Looks like they did a bad job. Maybe u can try to polish with a hard rubbing compound to smoothen but I think u sud also consider putting the emblem back to cover it again.

Does this mean its a very thick layer of clearcoat?

No harm trying with some abrasive polish first since its just 'extra clearcoat'

More extreme measures would be wetsanding.

Best measure would be to put back the emblem [laugh]

Does this mean its a very thick layer of clearcoat?

No harm trying with some abrasive polish first since its just 'extra clearcoat'

More extreme measures would be wetsanding.

Best measure would be to put back the emblem

Yes layer of lacquer (clearcoat)

Bro what do u mean by abrasive polish?

For example?

Thx!

Edited by Dfx16

which workshop did that? Must avoid...

I cant remember its name but its located at Sin Ming Ind..

Tis Workshop...How can Do Tis job.....Not Professional at all.....

I'm puzzle as well since at that point of time the emblem location also slightly dent

They need to knock out as well

And why not juz remove it away and spray

Instead of leaving the emblem there and spraying over it, ended lacquer sneak underneath it

Edited by Dfx16

If I were you, I would get hold of a groomer to do it for me.

To polish away the excess clearcoat by hand [dead][sweatdrop]

You can try using stuff like Autoglym SRP, scratchX etc etc..

If by hand I would use Scratch X until the surface is roughly level, then finish with SRP. These 2 products should be available at Autobacs, if you want I can lend you my SRP as I seldom use it too [flowerface]