Rewiring Sound system

Maxyeo

Hi Guy,

Any idea how much will it cost if rewire all the cables and any good ice shop to go to ??

[sweatdrop]

That'll depend on how much is there to rewire and where the wires are going to be..

A simple basic 2 amp 1 woofer setup under seat, rewiring will cost about $80-100 for workmanship, excluding the wires...

For more complex jobs to the boot, workmanship can be from 100-200...also excluding the wires..

You might get cheaper in some shops depending on the wires and RCA cables you buy from them...the better you buy, the more they earn, the lesser the workmanship lor...unless you gonna use ALL your own cables, then purely workmanship, might be more ex as i know few shops will want to rewire if you dun buy things from them cause it'll take them at least half a day.

Got many shops you can go la...i believe some forumers here can give you names of shops that will just rewire cheap..hehe, but i'm pretty sure they will also try to tickle you into upgrading something as well hehe...

every1 got their fav ICE shop which they are comfy with..i tink u hav 2 ask ard or join in the ICE meet up..i c here like quite a taboo topic to tok abt ICE shops..

i think one thing about this MCF Ice forum is that it's one forum whereby just about almost nothing is taboo.

just take a look around and compare the kind of posts u see. u don't have a dominant group of followers from any particular installer posting biased opinions. in any forum u'll have people who've vested interest in the business. and this forum isn't an exception. but u don't have any hard selling or supporters posting strong biased opinions to help their kakis.

then there's that common taboo about "oh i better not post the price here. pm u better." i see less and less of such a taboo here now. it's a strange taboo, and i'm glad there's less of it.

u DO however have many people posting multiple bad experiences from a variety of installers, famous as well as not famous. and so far they don't seem to be some fake stories generated to sabotage installers.

u do notice that some installers are spared of the bad reputation. sometimes almost nobody has bad experiences with them. also, they are frequently recommended. and since this post is supposed to be unbiased, i shan't slant it in any way by posting any names but it's pretty obvious after searching through a few "please recommend installers" threads. and cross-checking them with "bad experiences" threads.

so i think u should feel free to recommend to our friend here what u think might be a good idea. nothing much taboo around here!

btw, u're so regular in this forum, yet never show face at the meetup leh :) missed saying hi to u at the MDDS about 3 weeks back cos i went later than u. plan to pop by wednesday sometime?

regular in forum onli lah..

at wk can surf..kacau here & there in MCF..wen bored at wk or home..

Go MDDS so can motivate myself wash my own car..

ICE meetup..scared kena poison leh..been resisting the dark forces so far.... [dead]

one interesting thing about the MCF group is how relatively unpoisoning it is. serious!

comparing with the turnouts at sgsoundsystem and s'porecaraudioDIY groups, the MCF people by far have the least "high end" stuff. u could say that the average amount spent by MCF'ers is quite obviously 50% in comparison. u hardly see an F#1. and even P9 is pretty rare too. a few clarion D1/2s but not many. and just about the same number of 701's compared to the clarions. a good number don't have outboard processors. 3-way systems number less than 50%, quite possibly less than 25%. and the conversation at the table is frequently non-audio.

so if anything, the MCF group isn't hard core enough! heh.

Hi Guy,

Any idea how much will it cost if rewire all the cables and any good ice shop to go to ??

[sweatdrop]

Relocated both CD changer and Amp from front seats to the boot, together with wiring.

Costs me $200, include labour to soundproof boot as well (material not included).

the shop i went to was $xx for rewiring, including screw in the amp into my rear seat, swop my head unit.

price very sensitive, pm me and maybe i'll sensitively tell you.

it's $80 lah. at Mok's Koncept Audio. McDonnowhat road (check the streetdirectory very near KK hospital, there's some MacSomething road. good thing is he opens sunday half day as well.

The place you went is well known for reasonable price but installer himself also admits his workmanship is ok only.

So, it all boils down to the expectation and budget of the car owner.

Btw, mok is my good friend, his shop is located at mackenzie road, arond the corner of wine alley [;)]

Well, you can go around and check out first. Actually, not a lot of good installer like to re-wire a system that isnt install by them. It's like "wiping someone's else backside". In additional, it might take longer you ever expected due to some hidden problem due to bad installation or "whatever"

I would say; talk to the installer and tell him your problem, listen to his point of view.

Asking for recommendation, my bet will be on yihing auto. Give them a ring. On btw, they are not situated at joo chiat anymore, it's at eunos.

> installer himself also admits his workmanship is ok only

with regard to this topic of "rewiring", what is the worksmanship we're talking about?

if we want a basic wiring, all installers will use ordinary low-end speaker cables, unless you bring your own. 8-gauge power cables will invariably be used unless you bring your own. anything more will incur a higher price.

if the car owner doesn't specify that he wants the cables run cleanly without stupid mistakes like running power and low-level signal together, many installers might do some short cut wiring. in this case, i specified, and mok just did it more or less my way.

no installer would solder/terminate nicely unless you're prepared to pay more than low-end price for labour.

so for $80-90 of wiring, i won't say mok does "ok only" worksmanship. they're all about the same. we just have to make sure they dun deliberately do stupid things mentioned above that needs to be redone all over again.

then there are those like yihing who won't work for pennies. these guys refuse to charge anything below their pride, so we end up with a higher quote. and they'll do stunts like bend cables at 90 degree angles, extra stuff that might only improve sound quality in the world of snake oil. u pay more, and end up hoping that all this doesn't cause extra problems, which was the case when one of these stunt installers might have generated ground loops with over-zealous grounding points.

i know who are the yihing fans. but like i said, our guys here are not so fanatical. reasonable criticism is accepted.

it's true that yihing won't work for pennies. and that's not a fault, really. it just means he won't do chicken jobs for a few tens of dollars. he'd rather focus on bigger jobs. his "soundproofing" won't be just plain old bitumen only, but then again, it's no top notch job either. so u pay the premium price, u get a pretty good product, but if u DIY u can do far better.