Genes 6th Gear March 6, 2007 Author Share March 6, 2007 intro leh! below 80k pls ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 happy choosing bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear March 6, 2007 Author Share March 6, 2007 Choose till quite headache now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thioeh Neutral Newbie March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 You consider Nissan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 haha...best is to take advise here as a rough guideline... and follow ur heart in choosing the car... be it conti or jap... and go for test drives... like for myself..dun realli like seating position of civic...too low for my liking... as for astra GTC...me dun noe..not much around so cant comment.. but quite chioz if u asked me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbogoo Neutral Newbie March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 if i were you i choose opel. civic too common liao, don't seem to have any kick leh. Anyway, go with your heart.Most importantly is when the driver look forward to drive the car everyday. resale value is not much of an issue if you want to drive a conti car. Sure ganna jialat one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 bro..u drive kangoo too ah?? yup..me would rather haf a unique ride as in one u dun see so often Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 1) Swift Sport: Nice and zippy drive 2) Colt Ver. R: A more powerful alternative to the swift sport 3) WRX: No need to explain much. Best buy in terms of performance. 4) MR-S: This car is a classic... going out of production soon. 5) Tuscani: If you've considered the GTC just because it looks nice, look at this car 1st. Looks good at a dirt cheap price tag... 6) Legacy R: Comfy and solid. 7) Mazda 6: Though outgoing model but good deal now. Best handling 2.0 saloon i reckon. 8) Honda Accord (JDM): Good value and well built. 9) Rav 4: Worth considering. SUV looks cool for couples too. 10) Rush/Terios: A smaller Rav 4. Do note that i've excluded MPVs and Contis. No MPVs due to your current requirements and no Contis because i feel that their price dun justify the value and performance. The only contis in my book are: Merc, BMW, Audi, VW, Saab and Volvo. Ford still ok. The top 5 are more sporty choices and while the lower 5 more more practical options. though some may not be too sporty, you never know when you'll need the practicality. or else you would'nt have chose the Civic. But check out what are the up and coming models heading to our shores 1st before making a final choice. Enjoy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dymatize 1st Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 Before I bought my Peugeot, I test drove the Opel Astra 1.6. Did you test drive that? It has the MTA gear system and after a lil practice during the test drive, it was pretty fun and engaging to play with. Just an alternative to the GTC Auto =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear March 6, 2007 Author Share March 6, 2007 1) Swift Sport: Nice and zippy drive Pang tang gambler dun like Losezuki.. 2) Colt Ver. R: A more powerful alternative to the swift sport went to see le.. but she didnt like it 3) WRX: No need to explain much. Best buy in terms of performance. pang tang gambler dun like Losebaru.. 4) MR-S: This car is a classic... going out of production soon. out of budget me thinks 5) Tuscani: If you've considered the GTC just because it looks nice, look at this car 1st. Looks good at a dirt cheap price tag... she dun like koreans 6) Legacy R: Comfy and solid. pang tang gambler dun like Losebaru... 7) Mazda 6: Though outgoing model but good deal now. Best handling 2.0 saloon i reckon. She dun like mazdas in general too.. 8) Honda Accord (JDM): Good value and well built. Definitely in the radar.. will run thru with her if shes ok with buying from PI 9) Rav 4: Worth considering. SUV looks cool for couples too. over budget 10) Rush/Terios: A smaller Rav 4. Will test terios at the next opportunity First of all, thanks for taking the time and effort to think and type out all these options. They are good options.. and some of them are what I have put forward too. But she doesn't want to have anything that might sound unlucky.. which rules out a lot of options.. Will bring her to check out the terios and sound her out about the JDM accord. Thanks again bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear March 6, 2007 Author Share March 6, 2007 We only test drove the 1.8 Auto.. not the MTA Have half a mind to keep this next car for as long as possible so would like as little parts available to go wrong as possible.. would have liked a manual too.. but for the fact that she doesnt wanna work a clutch.. bo bian lor... next best thing to me is a proper auto liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 no problem. btw mrs and rav4 within budget. both available below 80k from PI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dymatize 1st Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 MTA is a clutchess car. But its not like Tiptronic where you call it a semi auto MTA is a semi manual, so you gotta release the accelerator slightly before shifting gears. None of the hassle of needing to step on the clutch. Addictive still. =) But yeah, an pure Auto would be alot more convenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear March 6, 2007 Author Share March 6, 2007 Okay! now to see if she minds PI anot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear March 6, 2007 Author Share March 6, 2007 I understand that the MTA is a manual car with an automated clutch, and not an auto with manual override. For me, I didn't consider the MTA because I feel that it is still relatively new tech, and that there are more moving parts to possibly go wrong in a MTA variant. Further down the road when its more of a mature tech, it would come into contention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 Too bad there's no more new Integra's for sale, as you mentioned you wanted Japanese reliability and looks (Coupe). Otherwise, that'll sound like what you're looking for. Go for JDM Accord then - less common compared to Civic FD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dymatize 1st Gear March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 ooops... sorry! shouldn't have made the assumption. choosing a new car is so fun isn't it. such a pleasurable thing to look forward to after work or on the weekends. Considered the Citroen C4? I drove my friend's before and its pretty sweet. Good insulation and handling. Great great equipment list too. The only problem is that its not as zippy as the Astra or as imposing as the Accord JDM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched March 6, 2007 Share March 6, 2007 the crack on ur abatar is cracking up.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...