Civic 1.6A vs Corolla 1.6A

Snakeater

Between the 2 my vote will be the Civic. So many G9 on the roads liao.

yeh...its an eye-sore to see everywhere u can find G9. [dizzy][dizzy]

Actually, dun think the rola is more fuel efficient. If both the civic and rola using the same tired size, I think the civic wins in terms of fuel efficiency. My 1.7M cxxxc can clock about 600km per 42l (14.2km/l) most of the time although i do my fair share of overtaking and driving above >100. However, a friends manual rola with the same tire size 195/60/15 can't really match the fuel consumption rate though :). However, i think if using the 175 profile one.. then maybe better loh.

Not exactly sure about the fuel consumption as I derived the conclusion from various comments from my friends and from the websites. Anyway, thanks for the information.

Will see the fuel consumption when and if I get my car in about two months time. Did not go for the guaranteed COE package when I book the car about a week ago and not willing to top-up a single cent.

Hi All,

I'm driving a G9 FL 1.6A. Civic VTI 1.5A and Focus 1.6A were my other considerations before buying the G9.

I think power, build quality and price are something quite fixed. No argument about it that civic is more powerful but it's more expensive. What are the chances that you will floor the accelerator everytime the traffic light turns green? Even so, we shall meet at the next traffic junction. Any car can be the first to reach the traffic light, only if you willing to floor the gas pedal.

Both G9 and civic should be on par in terms of build quality.

Exterior look of civic is really out of fashion. Not innovative at all. Some say G9 looks like frog, some say it's a tortise. But it looks bigger than the civic from exterior. Athough wheelbase of civic is 20mm longer than G9, and has a flat floor, it is more comfortable to sit in a G9. I think it's the ergonomic design of G9.

I believe no one will argue that G9 looks more elegant in its interior and civic is just like any other car some 10-20 years ago.

Chrome door handles and interior trimings are the in-thing...looks classy, but not silver painted ones which look so plastic and cheapo.

Consumption for same CC car is very subjective. Depends very much on driving habits, tyres, route, etc. Civic 1.5A can achieve 15+ km/l, so can a G9 1.5A. My best consumption (G9 1.6A) is 14+ km/l, but it should be better if I travel more on the highway. Do you think the new civic 1.6A (w/o CVT) can achieve that? Yet to know!!

I believe most owners buy honda because of engine...some may say it looks better.

Overall, I believe G9 is a better packaged car to buy...

No offence, just my 2cts input...

Yup I do agree that the rola has a better package now, the G9 1.6 especailly with the new face lift is a very tempting buy :). Even I was thinking about it before getting my 2nd hand civic. However, the only drawback is that there are now more G9 on the road then the even the N16. Anyway, i settled for the civic 1.7M as the depreciation was about 6.6-6.7K a year and the year was quite well maintained. Might even change to the G10 in a few years time if the direction of toyota is to become more sporty.

Ok, agree about the consumption part. Btw what's the size of tires you are using at the moment.

Just a side remark, has met a lot of rola on the road eager to overtake me. Are you one of them. haha.

Edited by David325

Hmmm.....I think I should also go and look at the Ford Focus. How come I never considered it, I don't know man!?!

The focus also selling at 80K now. Have driven my friend's one and the acceleration still lose to the rola n civic. However, the cornering is good and it has a super heavy power steering :).

i'm on 14" stock alloy. i think it is slightly undersize. 15" will be just fine. and i think pick up and fuel consumption will not differ much if you choose the right rims with the right tyres....knowing that my 14" stock alloy rim weighs over 7kg...

i will never overtake when driver keeps to speed limit even if you are on the outmost lane. that's why i don't need a car that have high torque. so do most ppl.

So heavy steering is a good thing right? or bad? Actually I prefer light steering, so no need to use much strength, just use one finger to do U-turn.

I always kenna flashed by ppl when I driving on the 1st lane, even when I'm travelling at 100Km/h.

But can't blame me lah, my car is slow mah, so I tend to give way most of the time. [:/]

Well i also perfer light steering..easy to do everything with one hand. However, my civic eps steering can be a be wierd. sometimes super light...something just light... my old N16 is just light all the way.