Why Subaru not top 10 car in SG and some other qns.

Psylence

TS is a drivers car there is no such thing as 'If you can't afford a rex, buy a TS" kinda feel.' not everyone is a chiongster but alot of tomyam chiongster .. [laugh]

aiyo.. do your reseach before saying this.. all not true abt a 1.6i :P

Aniway.. buying a car is relative. Depends on individual. Person that buy the car muz like it lor :P

Buying a impreza 1.6i does not mean you cannot afford REX what. Do you agree that if ppl buy a korean made is because they cannot afford a jap made? Buy lancers beause they are cheapo ? [hur]

It all depends on what you need. What you want in a car! For me, i hate to go to the carpark and few lots and lots of car similiar to mine. :)

BTW, why you need a rex in singapore? want to be white man target huh?

Edited by Jrage

especially raining days while every tom dick is driving like a turtle [laugh] subaru can chiong fast fast no problem like in dry condition but..with good wet tyres please.. [thumbsup]

Dear all,

I have a couple question to ask regarding Subaru cars :

1) Recently (last weekend I think) there's an article in Today Weekend that showed the top 10 cars in Singapore last year. Surprisingly Subaru is not in the top 10 and cars like Suzuki and Korean cars are in(not to say Korean cars are bad). I thought since it's a Japan car it should at least be in the top 10? Any thoughts?

2) My sis and her husband are expecting their first child soon and are very interested in buying Subaru Impreza(Manual) because her husband like it's handling and relatively cheap price. Is this a good first car to have especially since it's primarily for family usage and not hobby?

3) A lot of people mentioned that the rear cabin is among the smallest for a 1.6l car, is it true?

4) Is the AT version better or worse?

5) For a first time car buyer who intends to use it as a family car what would be the ideal car?

Thanks!

If its for a family car, I'd suggest the Forester. Its price has dropped to ~$83K.... its not really that very big inside, but for a one child family, its alright. 2 kiddos still ok but cannot have fat maid hor.. [laugh]

The boot is spacious and it'll allow you to even ferry your baby cot in assemled form around. Going on long drive hols to malaysia also no problem as everything from baby's bath tub, to bottle steriliser, to electric kettle and stuff can go inside and have space for your usual luggage.

Luggin around all those stuff.... no problem on being under-powered. It'll move the 500 - 600kg of people + luggage weight with ease.

Maybe you can share the following.. we can see if can give you advise?

1. Daily drive? to work , how far is home to work place? If very far, then impreza not economical lor. FC at best is only 10km/l. Shld consider others.

2. Expecting children soon? then you consider boot space.

3. Who's driving? Do you enjoy driving AWD ?

4. Budget expenditure per yr ? 12k - 20k ?

5. Going to Malaysia with the car? if yes, maybe vtec 7speed is worth considering.:)

6. Manual or Auto

pic.. 4WD more stable and better control lor :) but in singapore road. Maybe not so applicable.

BTW, I know alot of REX are not meant for singapore.They are meant for JB [idea]

Dear all,

1) Recently (last weekend I think) there's an article in Today Weekend that showed the top 10 cars in Singapore last year. Surprisingly Subaru is not in the top 10 and cars like Suzuki and Korean cars are in(not to say Korean cars are bad). I thought since it's a Japan car it should at least be in the top 10? Any thoughts?

2) My sis and her husband are expecting their first child soon and are very interested in buying Subaru Impreza(Manual) because her husband like it's handling and relatively cheap price. Is this a good first car to have especially since it's primarily for family usage and not hobby?

3) A lot of people mentioned that the rear cabin is among the smallest for a 1.6l car, is it true?

5) For a first time car buyer who intends to use it as a family car what would be the ideal car?

Thanks!

1) Its depends on what refers being the Top Ten Car. Performance? Space? FC? or just being popular, or All said.

Every individual reads this differently so do not let such comparison affect your decision. One man's meat may be another man's poison.

2) For family usage and further more 1st car... if u refering to TS Sedan, than should be no diff from any other car in the same catagory. IMHO, it would be good to drive 1st a 2WD, than proceed to 4WD. Note that 4WD FC will always be higher. TS performance is just like any other sedan by the way, except 4WD stability.

3) Depending on yr family size I would say. For me, yes, its a bit small, especially a 1.6L car.

4) Cannot get wat u mean by better or worse. U mean FC or wat????

5) Personnal preference. No such thing as ideal car that fits anyone. Some go for Jazz, some Getz, some QQ is good enough. Some..... 1st time Mercs liao [laugh][laugh] Any, since you talk abt Jap made car, taking into consideration your catagory of choice (price and cc) For me, I recommend Latio, Lancer or Mazda 3. If you don't mind Thai made, Altis or City are good too.

Happy shopping... and most important, test out the cars personnally.

Maybe you can share the following.. we can see if can give you advise?

1. Daily drive? to work , how far is home to work place? If very far, then impreza not economical lor. FC at best is only 10km/l. Shld consider others.

2. Expecting children soon? then you consider boot space.

3. Who's driving? Do you enjoy driving AWD ?

4. Budget expenditure per yr ? 12k - 20k ?

5. Going to Malaysia with the car? if yes, maybe vtec 7speed is worth considering.:)

6. Manual or Auto

pic.. 4WD more stable and better control lor :) but in singapore road. Maybe not so applicable.

BTW, I know alot of REX are not meant for singapore.They are meant for JB

====

Subaru car being All time four wheels driven is more difficult to be tow away in JB, hence less targeted by car thief. It is also a less popular car in MY hence less market value for the car thief to re-sell. Together with passive safety features like the excellent ring cage, the AWD coupled with the excellent chasis provides one of the strongest protection for the occupant you can find amongst this price range. While driving in MY especially on rainny days. if you value the life both inside and outside the car more than the petrol price, Subaru is the obvious choice when compared to other tin can.

Edited by Mobilio

Hi all,

I'm new here.. 1st posting.. also considering subaru impreza vs mazda 3.. impreza abt 6k cheaper.. getting a weekend car.. i like impreza due to the perf.. but wife likes mazda 3.. look good.. need to make a decision today.. for the low coe.. any advice greatly appreciated.. thanks

Dear all,

Thanks!

If I am not wrong, Subaru Forester was one of the top three SUV sold last year? After Tuson and RX300. It is obvious that all the shot comings you mentioned above was arrested if you choose Forester. If you choose the top of the range XT, you get a sports car ( 0-100 in 7 plus second). An almost a convertible feels if you opened the giant sun roof. Excellent all round visibility for a safe driving in AWD with HID lamps. Good enough handling that matches its performance in its factory fitted option but with endless upgrade option. Enough space for you to move a bed room's content for friend who rent a room or frequent Ikea store. Ocassional off track for the uncharted path if you so wish. Fuel consumption considered not bad between 6.5 to 9.5 km/l depends on your driving style. Many older REX driver ( Enlarged family) bought it as it is almost a perfect all in one vehicle successfully put into one.

Edited by Mobilio

Ya, I agree with you. Maxing out our disposable income on a car is not a wise thing to do. Must buy a car based on one's needs. If a korean car can do the job of bringing me and my family from A to B or buying groceries then I am contented. Some people don't need a car to show off their status or make up for that lost bit of ego.

I'm new here.. 1st posting.. also considering subaru impreza vs mazda 3.. impreza abt 6k cheaper.. getting a weekend car.. i like impreza due to the perf.. but wife likes mazda 3.. look good.. need to make a decision today.. for the low coe.. any advice greatly appreciated.. thanks

Mazda3 don't have manual, right? I suppose u are looking at both Auto trans.

Since u are considering Auto , I suppose u are more into its handling capability rather than the engine performance. Auto in a Impreza will be slower in the response.

Look wise, both look equally good when well groomed. :)

Do u like frameless window? the wind noise is more apparent. It looks cool.