Jrage 1st Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 (edited) just bought a impreza 1.6i :) Reason for our choice. 1) price is relative cheap now 2) LOW INSURANCE compared to fit/jazz, swift , vio.. abt 500-700 difference. 3) space. We planing to have children soon. swift and fit is relatively too small for us. 4) FC is not a concern. We are getting a wkend a.k.a. OPC. So fc will be relatively low, and the lower insurance premium would have compersated the different. 5) Look of the impreza. Not too bad. 6) Improve pickup. Pickup is better now then TS. 7) Love to drive. Driver wants a manual car. Edited March 5, 2007 by Jrage ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 i think yr info is tum balik liao TS is a bigger car than vios and bigger cabin Altho ... not very much bigger i dont feel it's bigger, i'm driving a vios and my company car is ts. been driving both car regularly, feel that ts cabin is smaller than vios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 i thought i read on the papers that the voice of the beng is actually the CEO himself. Maybe lah, I saw his picture on the papers....I wont say he look ahseng so wonder why he want to sell his car using a seng image. BTW this CEO beng is not in my bengdriver club one hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 it's not true it has a higher maintenance...in fact it is quite affordable. however, i think the reasons for not popular because: 1.expensive because dealer got higher profit margin 2.resale 3.more fuel consumption due to AWD 4.Ah Beng car 5.Higher insurance (?) Affordable maybe too subjective... as everybody has a comfort zone when it comes to vehicle maint. Once outta comfort zone, that person may find it expensive. It is true that Subaru parts are more ex & that is exactly the case for Vivio with my friend's experience too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ikan Neutral Newbie March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 Normal Impreza (just Forget it!) Don't waste money, buy Altis, Latio, Vios, Jazz, Swift, Yaris... etc better, korean cars also not bad :) Unless you get WRX version Having a children does't mean you need a big car, unless your children size like King Kong!!! JAZZ SWIFT YARIS, who said cannot carry children? Try - Colt Turbo/Swift Sport/Yaris RS, you will enjoy manual ride too :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 carrying of child may require child seats. the boot must be big enough to store the seats when not in use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 Used to love WRX as drove that in Australia when studying, but now see liao Turn Off like a FAT Chick lying on the bed waiting to be root by you!! super turn off [/reply] That's bcos it's singaporeans driving it. Singaporeans tend to spoil the art themselves. Y ad is so ah beng bcos majority of the owners or potential buyers have the ah beng blood in them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 Affordable maybe too subjective... as everybody has a comfort zone when it comes to vehicle maint. Once outta comfort zone, that person may find it expensive. It is true that Subaru parts are more ex & that is exactly the case for Vivio with my friend's experience too. exactly. my friend also told me his maintanance cost for his vivio is high esp spare parts. but the FC is good. he's suppose to replace the drive shaft but find it too expensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoom99 Neutral Newbie March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 The Impreza is more of a sporty then a family saloon. Space wise it's really small compared to this same class like Mit lancer and Altis. In my opinion, it's a good car but it doesn't fit into the "family" purpose vehicle. Rather it is to serve a niche market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 Maybe they wanna target the niche market which is the ah beng market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 Haa... but ah beng mkt may not be the niche mkt that u & I perceive. Many dun look ah beng...but opportunities or ads will make them unleash their ah beng blood w/o the ppl themselves knowing too. Look at the dressed up cars on road nowadys, the drivers dun look beng but drive like beng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 I personally think that the Killer Whale advertisement is a SUPER TURN OFF. MotorImage is telling people that their target customers are majority Ah Beng......... ha ha I won't agree that Subaru drivers are mainly ah beng but I can testify that most I met on the road are impatiently fast and often, reckless drivers.. Many have MODs and eye-catching logos done to their car.. Often, the drivers are 20s-30s, driving alone or with friends; hardly with family. Just my observation after a few bad encounters with Subaru cars.. Too bad for those decent and considerate Subaru drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan78 Neutral Newbie March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 It really depends on what you already have in mind, and what kind of budget you are going for. But to touch on your questions:- 1) Subaru Impreza (TS or i model) doesn't really sell that well mainly because of its power to weight ratio. It really has one of the slowest pickup in the 1.6 category (stock car comparison). 2) The handling's superb, no doubt about it. AWD and low C.G. (thus less roll), quiet boxer engine (talking about stock condition) makes it a good family car in safety and comfort aspects. But if your concern is about whether you can beat the next traffic light, do give this car a miss. 3) For 1.6 cars, the rear cabin space is really determined by how much the front driver and passenger pushes back their seats, would suggest you to go try it out at the showroom yourself to determine it. 4) AT would be easier to drive, but slower in pickup and higher in petrol consumption 5) There's really no point asking in here cos many people gauge it based on their own expectations. Shortlist a number of cars, and the main thing is to go test drive the vehicles to see which one you are more comfortable with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 For me, its either the WRX or no subaru for me. The TS, a decent 1.6L car, seems more to me lik a "If you can't afford a rex, buy a TS" kinda feel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 (edited) Not quite. The TS has lower insurance than the rex. In terms of running cost, its much more manageable. And, the point is that its a good buy for those who want the look of a rex, but lower running cost. No more ts liao. Now, its the 1.6i. Subaru probably realised that people have been joking about ts like Turbo Stolen or Too Slow. One put off, however, is MI's profit margin on their cars. If not, subaru cars are quite enticing purchases. The drive feel is really good compared with other jap rides. AWD and boxer engine. Surprisingly, last time boxer engine used in aircraft somemore. Just like the rotary. Edited March 5, 2007 by Vesfreq Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 (edited) I think the major reason is: Subaru Every thing HIGH High insureance, High FC, High performance, High accident risk, High speeding, High income needed... Edited March 5, 2007 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 becos u are slow period.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie March 5, 2007 Share March 5, 2007 no.. the main reason is they can't afford a subaru be it TS, wrx, forrester or legacy let alone the B9 tribeca..if not u won't see so many tomyam and kimchi can liaoz.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...