Maids wash car

Adam251

Hi bro I totally agree.

Asking maid to wash for free is an exploit.

At least offer her a pay package for all the hard labor.

I have no maid and dun intend to have any.

But i am curious, why is asking the maid to wash the owner's car an exploitation?

Why is it necessary to pay her an additional package?

If that is the case, can we have different package for

1)sweep floor

2)mop floor

3)wipe windows

4)cook

5)etc, etc

Then might as well get those part-time people or grooming pple to do the household chores or car washes.

Reason for a maid: to do everything within her means that you yourself is lazy to do, isnt that right?

I feel that since there is no abuse there is nothing to pity because this is the life they chose. It is their way out of poverty. They could stay at their home country and be farmers and livein slums all their life but they chose to provide well for their family, i applaud them for their courage to make this decision but in no means do i pity them. Becuase down the road, they be very well-to-do and will enjoy the fruits of their harvests while we will still be slogging like mad paying off alot of loans. As we SGporeans chose to live in short-term luxury.

If ever i have a maid, and i am being cautioned by the authorities when the maid washes my car. den i would want to know, in which way isnt the car part of my household just like the rest of my house. And it is a household chores.

Maybe they will reply the car belong to the bank not you [sweatdrop]

so next time your boss give u more work load, u cannt complain also right, since it the job u choose,

Totally agree with you. I don't understand these people's mentality. They entrust their most precious kids to the maids to look after, and yet ill-treat the maids. Of course the maids will be resentful and will not put in their best.

My Indon maid gets every Sunday off. Since she started working for us 6 months ago, she has put on 5 kgs. She eats exactly what we eat and most of the time, because we work late, she eats first and my wife and I get to eat cold dinner after work. When we go out to restaurants, we must force her to order desert because she is always shy.I insist that she goes to bed by 10 pm every night (wakes up at 6 am) so that she get full 8 hours. In the afternoons, when she finishes her chores, she takes a 1 hour nap with my younger kid.

In return, she pays me back by being really really fond of my children. When they are sick, she worries a lot, stays up at night just to check their temperature and give them medication etc. Well worth it to treat the maid well - you get better care for your kids.

You got a good maid. But being good to her does not necessarily means she will be a good maid though the chances are higher.

seriously, wad can u complain, if the boss says either u take or go. and moreover, i believe it is within the job scope.

so i guess, when your boss (if you have a boss) give u additional work or project to do? u gonna stomp your feet and complain to MOM? [laugh]

How much work is too much work?

Edited by Galantspeedz

of cuz. exploitation will be if you ask her wash other pple car's and even charge them for it while she get nothing. that is a no no

But for own car, i really dun see anything wrong with it if not, i might as well dun hire maid.

I believe the govt, can help by reducing the levy and transfering that rebate to the maid's pay. After all they only issue work permits leh and charges $200 a mth (i think) [sweatdrop]

Now think again, where does the 'exploitation' comes from? [lipsrsealed]

True, I usually do not ask my maids to wash my car - I take my car to the car wash once a week. But my maid insists that she can do it on Sunday mornings, before she goes off for her day off.

Once their tap opener was no good, the mother ask the maid to go n borrow from me. Then the maid ask me "Uncle, can borrow the opener?" I reluctantly lend it to her. If its the owner, I would have told him to go to hell lah!!!

Every week also see them when I washing my own ride.

Me change car from COE Civic to FL Nissan Sunny.

That owner from Nissan Sunny to Civic FD. [laugh]

Under MOM, there is no such term as "Maid".

The term used under MOM is "domestic helper".

There are terms are guidelines as to what a domestic helper can do and cannot do.

eg. if you are running coffee shop business, you cannot ask your domestic helper to clean the tables or throw the garbage in the coffee shop.

Under MOM, there is no clear rule saying your domestic helper cannot clean your car. But the lines are grey. It is up to one's interpretation of the rule.

The exploitative employer will ask the DH to do everything covered under the rule, and more... as long as he does not get caught. But is willing to fight the case if he gets caught by referring to the interpretation of the rule.

The more humane employer will ask the DH to do everything he deems he will do himself (within the rules) but is too busy to do, or simply lazy to do.

The good employer will treat the maid like its own family.

Just like working for a local company, the local mentality is, pay $1 but must get back $1.50 worth of goods and services. That's why many people dont like to work for local companies.

Foreign companies (especially those from the west) in general are more humane and hence, reward their staff better, give them more flexi working hours and treat them like their own family.

So are local employer for DH compared to the western foreign counterpart.

It's the mentality of the general who grew up being incalcated this way.

I am not saying there is anything wrong with either, but those sitting on the fence, judge for yourself.

Just like what a holy man once said, "Do not unto others what you would not want others do unto you".

I agree mostly.

whether is it maid or DH have no bearing. It still is the same to me.

The exploitative employer will ask the DH to do everything covered under the rule, and more... as long as he does not get caught. But is willing to fight the case if he gets caught by referring to the interpretation of the rule.

The more humane employer will ask the DH to do everything he deems he will do himself (within the rules) but is too busy to do, or simply lazy to do.

The good employer will treat the maid like its own family.

I agree with the above 3 sentences but i dun think you will pay your family to do the household chores. So there will always be a slight difference, even if you are eating on the saem table and even sleeping on the same bed [lipsrsealed]

A collegue had his home domestic helper wash his Corolla once. He discovered tat instead of car sponge, she uses those green scotch brite .... tat was the last time I think. [dizzy]

Why i feel this way is becos of having little incentives to help you after what they are paid to do (household chores) washing the car is totally diff.

Well you could say that technically they have to wash the car too so they wash the car as though they wash the floor or plates with mama lemon lor...

A small incentive package is something u do to encourage them and it will be useful as the maid will at least wash a car like how a car should be washed.

We will not be there to monitor the maid 24/7 and we dunno wat they will do when we are not watching...

Imagine if the maid were to use detergent to wash the car...

Well anyway this is just my point of view la...

Haha good one bro...

Teach her all kinds of detailing skills then when she go back to her ome country she can open car grooming shop haha...

i dun see anything wrong with giving add. incentive.

but what i dun get is, if dun give incentive means exploiting?

and u compare washing plates with cars as different. Wad i notice is, when owners ask their maids to wash their cars, none of them ask the maid to buy special car washing equipment out from their own pockets, so why is the exploitation?

den i guess 1 maid to look after a hdb and 1 maid to look after a pvt hse is also diff? [sweatdrop] the one with the pvt hse is also exploition?

I guess pvt house maid is suay lor cos extra work due to larger cleaning area...

Then again the most suay ones are those who gotta do housework + babysit...

It really is very siong u know...

Maybe the word "exploit" is too strong and i apologise for the choice of words.

My stand is that if i want my maid to wash my car, i would give a little incentive for the job.

I feel that it add extra burden on the maid cos she gotta additional jobs...

I guess its a case by case basis and one man's meat is another man's poison.

No hard feelings at all.

Cheers.

oh,.. no diff washing cars or washing plates.

the only diff is, one is traditionally husband's chore while the other is the wife's chore. so, if the wife washes the car,... nothing wrong asking the female employee doing it i guess.

But perhaps it would be better value for money employing a male domestic helper. One would get maximum benefit by getting a stronger slave doing maximum chores including painting the house, fix the leaking pipe, washing the car (and polish the burger too) and guarding the home.

But no.... due to lack market demand (since the wimp at home wouldnt allow his ego to be bruised), most agency would only supply female helper.

no wonder sm call for our society to be more gracious.