Anyone watched Formula-1 at Sepang before?

Ahbengdriver

For those who had watched at sepang previously, can advise which seats are worth buying in terms of good view vs price? Was considering watching this year n realised all the grand stand seats nearest to start grid sold out...price were $900 region each ticket...so fast [shocked]

watch at home lar, free, no sweat, got aircon, no need to squeeze with ppl, no need to find car park, no need to put ear plug, and u can monitor the whole track rather than just a small section of the track where u are sitting [flowerface]

Watched at grand stand facing Renault pit stop and it is awesome! [pirate]

The roar of the F1 cars is simply incredible, nothing I have experienced before (Thought I heard it all in Armour previously)

If I have the opportunity, why not?

[thumbsup]

if u motorsports lover must go see at least once.

grandstand seats mostly taken by corporate lah. find a spot from the sepang map where you have view of a big screen (that rules out the cheapest hill stands). Otherwise you'll be lost dunno where head where tail.

wow, how did u get the grand stand ticket?? it must be a great experience for u then [thumbsup]

for me i can't afford those expensive seats, so i can only watch tv at home [sweatdrop]

Besides sitting on the start/finish straights across the paddocks, the best in my opinion is the K-1 stand at the end of the straight.

This is where the cars have to slow down to turn right and then left.

Should be better than the straight where the cars will all be zooming past you at 230kmph and you see very little and very fast.

Don't know abt the prices this year but its the second or maybe third most ex.

watch at home lar, free, no sweat, got aircon, no need to squeeze with ppl, no need to find car park, no need to put ear plug, and u can monitor the whole track rather than just a small section of the track where u are sitting [flowerface]

Quite true. Last time I went, I didn't enjoy the heat (it was 37 deg C I think), and super cramped before and after the event gg off. Think National Stadium, but a dozen times more squeezy to get on the bus out of Sepang.

But having said that, should try at least once, the sound of the cars zipping by - shiok!

if u can, try to get the start grid, if not, the first corner is pretty good too. i know its costly but if ure going for the 1st time, should try to splurge cos its an experience u'll never forget, seeing all the drivers closer. eventually, can just buy those cheap tics or even watch at home.

Went for the race twice, first time bought the seats at the grand stand back straight, about $250. 2nd time bought at the front straight near end of the grid, about $350. The $350 seats are well worth the money, can see other parts of the circuit as well.

Things to note:

1) Bring Binoculars to see activities at the pit.

2) Bring Ear plugs (v.important!).

3) Bring a portable TV and tune-in to listen to the commentary (else u can never follow the race)

4) Bring 10x optical zoom camera.

Edited by F2006

... but without the smell of petrol, burning tyres and the sound of roaring engines.

Besides sitting on the start/finish straights across the paddocks, the best in my opinion is the K-1 stand at the end of the straight.

This is where the cars have to slow down to turn right and then left.

Should be better than the straight where the cars will all be zooming past you at 230kmph and you see very little and very fast.

Don't know abt the prices this year but its the second or maybe third most ex.

Saw billboard saying tickets starts from RM 50.

yea, if want to go must make sure u bring ear plug.. else u can't even rest ur hands coz u'll have to cover ur hear all the time with ur hands [dizzy]

C2 in front of the final hairpin has a number of overtaking moves. Unfortunately it is not sheltered. It is RM50 if I rem correctly. However I do feel quite drained after under the sun for a long time. Dont know why they did not build a shelter for it.

For those who had watched at sepang previously, can advise which seats are worth buying in terms of good view vs price? Was considering watching this year n realised all the grand stand seats nearest to start grid sold out...price were $900 region each ticket...so fast [shocked]

Which part of the circuit allows u to walk on the track once the race ends n celebrate wif the pit-crews??? [thumbsup]

Always see on TV, race end, ppl walking on tracks picking up tyre or CF pieces as sovenoir. [laugh]

Good for u.

My ang mo bosses here go every year one. To them, its very normal as they also attend races in their home country. But me prefer the comfort of my home. [laugh]