Shinco GPS for just $500

Alim

One point to add: pls take note whether it comes with a map or not. If it does, check the last date of update and the frequency of update as well. If no map, dun buy it. A GPS is only as good as its map.

One important thing about GPS is not just the price or the screen size, but the map. Do they provide a good and detailed Singapore/Malaysia map with good navigation? If so, then this Shinco GPS will be good value for $.

can asking something? those dedicated gps (not pda type) can be flushed or installed with a different navigation software from the original one?

cos I understand some of the map that came with certain navigation software provider is more detailed.

I know nuts about GPS coz I don't have any point of reference, so how do we test if the map is good and detailed?

1. I was looking at it too a few days ago.

2. A brand new one from workshop is around $850 or so. Shinco leh, though good for TV but not sure about its quality on GPS.

Regards,

Quite a number of workshop selling Shinco GPS. I didn't check whether they have a demo as I'm not sure about their reliability and after sales support. But at $500 is a steal when compared with other more established brands, that is almost half price.

Regards,

are you a road blind like me ? maybe u want to consider a GPS enabled PDA phone.....much more functions and download free maps from malsing..... the con is screen is smaller. from website, the price is 760 for the pda phohne.

got agps le....that's means u download satelite data from internet, the satelitte fix will be much faster. cold boot normally 5 mins, with agps, abt 1 min ba. not sure if other gps device got anot... [:p]

i used it to go malaysia up to ipoh then down to malacca with no problems..

i can recommend u which model to buy. i can also give u a demo to show u how it works but u have to come outside my house [laugh]

~just sharing some idiot proof device i am using.

haha ok.....must be simple n easy to use right....

u need to check how long before it can connect to satelite....quite a hassle, sometimes if it takes like 5 mins to connect (~ slow), it will make u [dizzy]

is your phone internal gps with sirfIII or agps model? wat phone is that? i'm using mine in s'pore for abt a month and no issues except for errors due to map inaccuracies. wondering if capable of going into west malaysia for a try. [thumbsup]

question is does the signals stay connected 1) thru out your drive 2)in tunnels 3) when speed in access of 100 plus?

just curious...

if your last coordinates in the system (before you shut down gps) is your starting coordinates when you restarted gps, it will be a hell lot faster.

if not, i just switched it on (since it is with me all the time) while going to the carpark to get my car. by the time my car warms up, it will locked in pretty soon. [thumbsup]

ya..my pda phone is /w internal gps - SIRFSTAR III & agps enabled. every 7 days connect to my pc to internet for satelite positions update.

haha, i can only say if got agps, the fix time is hell lot faster.. e.g. normal cold fix, 3-5 mins... with agps 20sec-1min. hot fix, 20 secs, with agps 5 secs.

no problem.....go west malaysia is a breeze, wun get lost one. just plan your route and the places u want to visit before hand. make sure u download the latest map frm malsing, already got all the places of interests, food, shopping..

malaysia got no tunnel ba...~ it stay connected all the way, unless u under some heavy shelter.

sgpore tunnel, it will auto reconnect when it comes out....v fast one, 5 secs... but in tunnel, no reception. haha, u need to know which exit u gonna exit beforehand.

ya must make sure it has SIRFSTAR III.. fix time is fast n position is accurate.

but agps [sweatdrop] , not sure if it is common.. it is not a necessity, although it helps to reduce the fix time.

just to share, for free malsing maps, u can't search for hdb flat no. and postal code.

my fren bought some agis map..can search for postal code / hdb flat no.....$100+, but the msia map [thumbsdown] .