Gabriel 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 actualli can de... if on the straights.. dat if if ur wheel alignment is not out.. so dat ur steering wheel will not turn by itselfs when u remove ur left hand off the wheel to engage the next gear...and ur right hand still perched @ the window @ all times... how i noe...coz i tried b4 le mah.. but for the drift...hmmmm... chromas...where are u ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 guys guys... u are getting 'sexist' here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Two knees holding steering wheel leaves hands free to put on lipstick. Or search purse for twenty cent coins. Better not be wearing mini skirt cause legs have to open... on the other hand, mini skirt would be perfect... ======================== I had many a "free show" when long ago I wud station myself at the CP entry barrier to monitor when it was faulty. Best part was there was an up-slope so the gers wud be pushed back in their seat with legs open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 bro..bully the sista here ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 same webby i posted in the thread on correct procedure of stopping which also mention correct steering technique http://members.optusnet.com.au/o_anderson/control.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Many guys prefer right hand on steering & left hand free to do "other" stuff. But u not a guy so u won't know about this. I also drive with right hand on steering. Last time at 3 o'clock position but now changed to a steering which has a grip at the 2 o'clock position so I use that. Left hand usually on gear stick, resting on my thigh or thumb steadying at 6 o'clock position. But I still feel that the appropriate way is to drive with two hands la. Although we drive well enough with one hand, we have to admit that it isn't the appropriate way for best reaction time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun7557 Neutral Newbie February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 3 - 9 with thumbs on the wheels not wrap around the wheel like giving the 2 thumbs up signs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 Bro, this is not bully leh. I just give her an insight as to why guys hold the steering with 1 hand only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 I also drive with right hand on steering. Last time at 3 o'clock position but now changed to a steering which has a grip at the 2 o'clock position so I use that. Left hand usually on gear stick, resting on my thigh or thumb steadying at 6 o'clock position. But I still feel that the appropriate way is to drive with two hands la. Although we drive well enough with one hand, we have to admit that it isn't the appropriate way for best reaction time. ============================= I used to drive with a 2-10 position but my present car got very light steering so I use 3-9 position. Even this feels light at h'way speeds so I sometimes use 4-8 position for h'ways. Of course the best is 2 hands on the wheel to react faster to an emergency but if u can read the road well, u can usually anticipate problems coming up. But then again it gets boring holding the steering after so many years so I add some variety on how I hold the steering to reduce the boredom. Long ago I used to drive with my left hand on GF's thigh & got so used to it that one time another ger was sitting there & I automatically put my hand on her thigh without realising. Funny thing was she didn't seem to mind. Lucky I didn't get a slap in the face instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 Long ago I used to drive with my left hand on GF's thigh & got so used to it that one time another ger was sitting there & I automatically put my hand on her thigh without realising. Funny thing was she didn't seem to mind. Lucky I didn't get a slap in the face instead. Mine manual la...left hand always busy, so not boring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 now give me an insight as to how to get a to sit beside me ... so dat me can hold the steering wif onli 1 hand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Then if she looks at you in horror just say "Sorry! Sorry! I didn't mean to! I'm just used to resting one hand that side when I drive. For that moment, just forgoten there's someone sitting there." Right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 hmmm..so dat is wad i am supposed to say maybe me go try one day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Wah seh.. what are this 2-10 lah, 3-9 lah, o-clock o-clock position... forgive me ignorance... what are these I only know kamasutra position I always hold one hand steering, one hand gear-shift, if happy and relax, I put wrist over steering with the other resting on armrest, like tat correct or not??? along highway, I use pointy finger or thumb to steer very relax leh.... except got once a british friend sit beside me, while driving, he kept looking at my steering... hmm.... last time during learning, instructor says place both hands on steering all the time... how to drive lah like that? use leg to shift gear meh? so bro.. got any link to site showing correct method of driving or not? think must brainwash myself back to these what.... correct driving technic.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 2-10 is to hold the steering wheel at the 2nd and 10th position as in a clock so is the same as 3-9... Both r the more 'correct/recommended' method. Thumbs must be outside of the steering wheel's meaning thumbs facing up for safety reasons. Last time during learning, I drive with one hand on steering, the other on gear shift...kena F by instructor...Now still driving with one hand on steering, the other hand resting at window As long as u can react fast enough, shouldn't be a problem as long as one of ur hand is on the steering wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear February 23, 2007 Share February 23, 2007 right.... now I recall these position.. but was nvr told of the names of these holding method.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungryforcar 1st Gear February 23, 2007 Share February 23, 2007 i use 3-9 method cos is a manual car and no power steering Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 23, 2007 Share February 23, 2007 Long ago I used to drive with my left hand on GF's thigh & got so used to it that one time another ger was sitting there & I automatically put my hand on her thigh without realising. Funny thing was she didn't seem to mind. Lucky I didn't get a slap in the face instead. Mine manual la...left hand always busy, so not boring. =============================== Mine was also a manual at the time. Can still 'relax' on the drives on h'ways n such. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...