Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 21, 2003 Share April 21, 2003 (edited) Hi all, There's this annoying high-pitched sound coming from my ride...let's try and pinpoint this one! 3 weeks ago I had my timing, PS, alternator, fan belts all replaced. The water pump wasn't replaced then. Days later, a continuous 'wheeee' sound was heard each time the car idled, and only after the engine had become hot. The sound would disappear when the throttle was pressed. The old water pump was found to be the culprit, as turning it by hand made this 'squeak, squeak sound'. My mech and I figured at higher pulley speeds it would have caused the continuous whining sound. So we had the pump replaced. The problem went away for a week, but I did notice that switching off the car produced this 'beep' sound from the engine. I guessed it was the sound coming from the pump (new one) again... Just yesterday, the same idle whining has started again! Any clues? Edited April 21, 2003 by Armored_Saint ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karen Neutral Newbie April 21, 2003 Share April 21, 2003 hi bro, did you mech try the idie pully, did the "beep" sound come when you turn on the air-con? if yes maybe is the air-con compresser ..... I don't think is the water pump again b'cos the sound will be louder if you acc. i don't know very much but i hope if helps cheers karen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 21, 2003 Author Share April 21, 2003 (edited) I suspect some idle valve/pulley thingy/water pump tension bolts here too as the sound is clealy coming out from the cam/alternator region. The possibility of the air-con is pretty remote; hardly suspect at all. will get the mech to re-investigate the problem again this weekend. thanks karen. Edited April 21, 2003 by Armored_Saint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 21, 2003 Share April 21, 2003 Were the pulley bearings changed? Old bearings may cause squeals and another possibility is belt tension is wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 21, 2003 Share April 21, 2003 Check the belt first. Maybe need lubrication. When u hear the sound pour some water on the belt, if sound disappear, there you have the answer, or else, then consult the mechanic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 22, 2003 Author Share April 22, 2003 Apart from the belts, the oil seals were changed and the timing belt tensioner replaced...its observed the squeal occurs only on idle, i.e. low throttle speeds...it goes away on anything above 1000RPM... Will play a bit with the tensioner and see how it goes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 22, 2003 Share April 22, 2003 The tensioner should be self adjusting. Just need to tighten once when installing then it'll "self tension" as the belt wears (stretches) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 22, 2003 Author Share April 22, 2003 (edited) That's what I thought so too, the 'self-tensioning' of the tensioner. It'd be quite ridiculous to have to figure out tensions here and there... Some years ago I read an article on a botched cambelt installation, how a loose cam bolt shredded someone's timing belt to pieces. That's must have been real nightmare. Anyway, we'll see what turns out when it's checked later this week...and keep you guys posted...it's another bit of good knowledge to be gleaned here. Edited April 22, 2003 by Armored_Saint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie April 22, 2003 Share April 22, 2003 When I changed all the belts and water pump the other time, there's a loud screeching sound when I first step on the gas during the cold morning start. It will go away after stepping on the gas for a couple of times. Happens only when engine is cold. Mechanic re-adjusted the belt tension and it's ok after that. Not sure if this is the same problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 22, 2003 Author Share April 22, 2003 Hahaha...your problem mentioned is mine totally reversed! 1) It only happens after the engine gets very hot. 2) Pushing the throttle eliminates the sound. 3) Only occurs on low idle at 700-900RPM, whether in N, D or R. 4) Does not happen every time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Author Share April 26, 2003 Well, we got to the root of the problem this morning. The alternator belt apparently was like a wee bit too tight...so the tension bolts were adjusted...and the sound was no more! But the mood was soured when I discovered a screw embedded in my front tyre... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 no problem lah....10 patch the tire then hor say liao loh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Author Share April 26, 2003 Yes, got it patched right away then...FOC... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...