Xefera 6th Gear February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scottycam Neutral Newbie February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 bro, u need to bring the LTA letter to JPJ stating tat u want to convert ur licence.With this JPJ letter only u will be able to convert ur MSian licence to SG one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 if you are here for more than 3 months you will need to convert.. but there are heaps of people not converting them :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 reason for it is due to language.. applies to taiwan and hk..they would need to re take again here :) so we are bless that our license are worth a little more :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 different states have different laws... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 I think Victoria, NSW, SA and WA are having the same rules. Not too sure about NT though. A person does not need to convert his/her overseas driving licence if he/she does not hold a permenant visa in Australia and the overseas driving licence is in English. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear February 9, 2007 Share February 9, 2007 Quote Anyway, you only need to pay one time charge of $50 for SGP license and it is valid for life thereafter, its a very good deal for Malaysian. Given the hostilities that flare up from time to time, it's possible that JPJ barred Malaysians holding Singapore license from driving Malaysian cars. Then they'll claim it's a privilege, not a right. And Blackyv, it's not true that LTA wants your MY license terminated. I've heard from friends that they got an alternative letter. You don't want the conversion letter, but a letter to certify you're free from accident; it's used for renting cars. From what I understand, the JB branch will not issue this letter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 reviving a old topic: How about a Malaysian who have converted to SG Driving Licence, and went back to live/drive in m'sia with a SG Licence? Don't sounds right... but anyone with such experience? SG Licence: No expiry MY Licence: have to renew every 5 years... *sian* Or have anyone try converting back to m'sia drv licence after yours have been revoked (after converting to SG Licence)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 there' s no rule saying that you can't drive malaysian cars with spore license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahrex Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 On 5/3/2012 at 11:31 AM, Chewbacca said: there' s no rule saying that you can't drive malaysian cars with spore license. so i can drive malaysian cars in m'sia and sg? singaporean here.. no need to convert license? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 On 5/3/2012 at 2:10 PM, Ahrex said: so i can drive malaysian cars in m'sia and sg? singaporean here.. no need to convert license? If I'm not wrong Singaporeans are not allowed to drive foreign-registered cars within Singapore. You can drive a Malaysian car within Malaysia itself on your licence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Anyone noticed that their government departments are called Jabatan - 吃饱等。some kind of sick joke? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Also, now that I'm using laptop instead of phone.... Yes, Malaysia government is a f--king joke. They really do seem to have something against Malaysian working in Singapore. They seem to think that they're 'cheating the system' or some crap. They think that they earn 2.4 times more and get to come back to Msia and spent on cheap fuel and cheap groceries. They don't think that these Malaysians are only in Singapore because of the retarded and unfair education system, severely corrupted business environement, bureaucratic and Ali-Baba arrangements. They think that it's some sort of easy way out. They don't think about the money these Malaysians tend to bring back to M'sia, don't think about how much they actually spend in Malaysia. They're a bunch of retards. But then again, we all know about that already, don't we? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 On 5/3/2012 at 2:10 PM, Ahrex said: so i can drive malaysian cars in m'sia and sg? singaporean here.. no need to convert license? I believe bro Chewbacca is referring to MY side rules. On SG side, no Singaporean is allowed to drive a non SG registered vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junesh1983 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 When conversion LTA issue letter u produce in JB they give you another letter and may or may not terminate your license ( some kena cut right away, some disabled in system, some still can renew). When you surrender sg license, they will terminate and give a letter for you to get MY license back. If you have SG license, you can drive SG car MY car. If you have SG license and caught producing MY license, you can be fined (if found) as it is considered illegal you having a terminated license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 On 5/3/2012 at 3:40 AM, Rosschang said: reviving a old topic: How about a Malaysian who have converted to SG Driving Licence, and went back to live/drive in m'sia with a SG Licence? Don't sounds right... but anyone with such experience? SG Licence: No expiry MY Licence: have to renew every 5 years... *sian* Or have anyone try converting back to m'sia drv licence after yours have been revoked (after converting to SG Licence)? Posts in the following thread started by Bluepica on Feb 9, 2012 is fairly updated regarding this topic. M'sian driving Msia car in Malaysia using Singapore licence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Yup Singaporeans is straight forward Drive sg car in sg n my Malaysian can drive my car in my n sg It's the prs They can't drive my car in sg That happens to my 2 prs friends It's more for pr Surely they choose sg license but my passport Lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...