Dr_yap Neutral Newbie February 7, 2007 Share February 7, 2007 hi, anyone here tried the 3M invisible film car protector where they would apply a layer all over your car body so as to prevent stones chips and scratches from on road usage. Pretty ex as I have enquired. The SA says can repel small rocks and stones without damaging your paint work and car body. Is it of any good anyway? would like some opinions.. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlovz Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 yep...i tried that. but i use it on my car doors. More to prevent dents from other car door opening. its really tough film from what i see. But its ex lor. U only need to cover certain portion of the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teckheng Neutral Newbie February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 do they have in CF design ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 the film i feel might only be able to prevent scratches/cuts rather than dents. if someone were to slam his door hard enough, or use a hammer to wack any of the car panels, a dent would definitely be left behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlovz Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 (edited) yep agreeded but its to prevent accidental dents caused by kids or sometime people in a rush and accidentally caused unintenional knocks on your car door.... most dents on my previous ride were caused by accidental knocks. Like 5 cents , 10 cent kind of size. This 3M film; from what I see should be able to sustain knocks of un-unintenional.... Of course if those really out to destroy....armour the whole car also no use... Edited February 8, 2007 by Carlovz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 I went to the 3M workshop at autosaver sometimes last year...watched how 3M staff demo the film on the bonnet.. They said only covered the front bonnet portion..not whole car..it wld be very exp and it's quite tough to trim and paste evenly on uneven curves surface... only worries is after sometime, due to rain/moist/weather/wear, the film may peels off or shrinks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 no CF design lah..only plain transparent clear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlovz Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 yes, its suppose to cover the front bonnet portion as the front will kana most hits at high speed. But from the guy at Auotsaver, he said most went to cover the door instead.. Cos cars owners in singapore worry the side more than the front of car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 (edited) maybe most drivers are more concerned about dings dents on doors? personally think 3M protection film more for prevent scratches than dent ...but frankly speaking, if film is only covered front bonnet portion, you can easily tell coz the film is more glossy not cheap leh... Edited February 8, 2007 by Spikedoll Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xabby Neutral Newbie February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 Any idea what the costs would roughly be like?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolffish Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 Hi, if you are referring to the stretchy plastic fil that they stick over the paint, then i used it before on my previous car. Its works, no problem preventing chips and scratches from road usage. Think the film was used to stick over those advertisement stickers in on rally cars, so that the adverts won't come over as the car sbrushes against trees or bushes. I had a minor accident with a taxi, taxi fender brushed against my car body, the film held firmly, no damage to paint work. However, i had totalled that car about a 1.5 yrs back (the film didn't save her this time ), else can have a living proof. However, think light colored cars eg white may not be very suitable, becos the last time i did mine (car was white), the film came in rolls with width of 1.0m, they had to join if body panel is too big eg bonet. The joint part will collect dirt and dust, abit unsightly. If you are thinking of getting, u have to check whether they brought in the broader rolls, or at least a single pc is enough to cover the bonet. Material will turn yellowish if come in contact with petrol, so make sure you wipe those petrol off. You will still get water marks on this film. My personal opinion, dun need to do for the whole car, maybe just the doors and the headlights(you can get chips if doing high speed on highways) And yes, damage to pocket is quite deep. Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 the film i feel might only be able to prevent scratches/cuts rather than dents. if someone were to slam his door hard enough, or use a hammer to wack any of the car panels, a dent would definitely be left behind. Where Can Get Tis Film ?........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 How exp is exp? Abit late coz ardi got chip paint even though i dun travel at high speeds Worth considering as I may be re-spraying the front bumper after accumulating more chips Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnie Neutral Newbie February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 why not do it on the roof instead? since bird droppings is worse than any dings you can get on your side door? i suppose once the flim is on, you can't polish the car anymore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 (edited) cost is about 1k+++ to 2k+ dependent on the car type 3M PPFilms you can get it here: autosaver.com.sg IMHO there is a much better film to apply, includes the headlight & foglight protection also. xpel.com you can get xpel from K-guard.com.sg the best installation workmanship+packages for addditional protection for xpel is probably from paintshileldasiapacific.com in KL. drive up and they will do your ride proper cos is the AP training center. the bloke is called David that is the MD. usual customers Ferrari, Lotus, Lambo, Porsche, RS Audis, M BMWs, VW Rcars et cetra.....all xpel. IMHO this is the benchmark of the industry Paint protection films. be prepared to pay. so dont blink when you see the bill. you have been warned Edited February 8, 2007 by Decksurgeon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rliewky 1st Gear February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 decksurgeon, what is the damage like for the xpel PPF in Singapore and KL? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teckheng Neutral Newbie February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 would you happen to know where can i get CF stickers ? or CF film roll ? I wan to CF some part of my ride... no CF design lah..only plain transparent clear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie February 8, 2007 Share February 8, 2007 pretty much the same pricing. KL has more options like sides of door strips, door handle cups, wheel arch etc but the KL wormanship is way better. give you a rough idea headlight alone is RM400, about $200+ here. the pricing is pretty much aligned between KL and SG the cheapest way to get it is to order from the US and DIY...but its not an easy job. see this on cayman. you really need to be a pro to apply the stuff on the bumpers, the headlights and flat surfaces can DIY if youre pretty handy. http://www.caymanclub.net/reviews/showprod...roduct=19&cat=3 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...