Redantckc 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 Hi Bro, Need your advice again. Did anyone tried the product Silent at Commonwealth? I am thinking of sound proofing my car but think Silent is too ex. Is Silent ex or it is just me? Are there better product at a better price? Also are there good shops that do SP at around commonwealth area? Thanks guys ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 Understand that they are not using 1 whole piece sound proofing material. Instead, theirs is something like zip saw puzzle. Just make sure that what you pay is worth the money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganeii Neutral Newbie February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 I had done the soundproofing of my wheel arches, fenders and boot lid with them. Material wise, I felt that Silent V1 is the best on the market as compared to other brands that are on my car. My firewall and doors are on Dynamat Extreme and all other places are on Bro Mav's bitumen sheets. This V1 material is a homologation of armaflex material with bitumen complete with aluminium backing. Its pros are that it is space saving, provde damping and shielding properties and conform/stick pretty well to surfaces. The best material I had seen and tried thus far. Having said, other than being more expensive, I din detect much improvement after soundproofing my wheel arches and fenders. Workmanship ultimately is most important in soundproofing. So make sure u supervise and specify ur requirement before committing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 The degree on the acceptable level of external sound into the car is very subjective. As for me, my car was insulated with Tuff-Coat and using Good Year LS2000 tyres. I am happy with the sound level. However, if you were to install low profile or performance tyres, no matter how one insulate the car, the external noise can still be heard inside the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redantckc 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Author Share February 5, 2007 Thanks guys for the feedback. I have looked at other thread but did not have any review on effect vs value for money. Sound like it is pretty good. I looking at installing the front 2 wheel arches and fenders, 4doors, section between engine and cabin and front of under carriage. My ride is pretty noisy from wheel and engine. Wheel although from factory but is pretty new and under 10k. So only going to change later. I am trying to do this under $600. Don't know if Silent can do it with my budget. Any other suggestion if Silent is blowing my budget? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 (edited) Silent is not cheap and will defintely blow your budget. What you have in mind will cost you more than $600. BTW, anyone here knows where to buy soundproofing sheets for doors? Edited February 5, 2007 by Dunno Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 (edited) Bro, with your budget, can try to diy... think the bros here read until sian liao but i try my best to help fellow bros save money. you can purchase a roll of bitumen and go and apply it urself. U can assure yourself of the quality and price that u are paying. At the same time gain the satisfaction of completing the job also. If u need advice on applying the bitumen yourself, can always pop by the meetup to ask ard. Cheers! Edited February 5, 2007 by Coolbreeze90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 I soundproofed the doors, floor, front wheel arch & roof. Total cost $150, but all DIY effort. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 What material did you use? So cheap? You DIY on so many areas must have used like a 7 or 8m roll? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 (edited) Got a 5m roll from mave, roof used bonnet insulator (carpet-type). I had planned to stick to a 5m roll (dun intend to load the car with more weight) so certain areas which i deem will yield least improvement did not do more than 1 layer. Now the tyres are "making noise" Edited February 5, 2007 by Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 OK, I've contacted Mav, he still has stock for the 5m. Looking for someone to share 2m with me cos I already have 1 layer on the 4 doors. Thinking of doing another layer on the 4 doors, 1 layer on the rear door (driving a Rush) and also the roof or inner wheel arcs. BTW, how heavy is 1 roll of 5m material? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Screw Neutral Newbie February 12, 2007 Share February 12, 2007 (edited) Bro, recently I heard a police case has been filed on them by a Suzuki Swift owner for their any-how installation skill on audio system. Edited February 12, 2007 by Screw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie February 12, 2007 Share February 12, 2007 > Bro, recently I heard a police case has been filed on them by a Suzuki Swift owner for their any-how installation skill on audio system. wah, careful .. the last time someone talked about a police case/report being filed on someone else, it became grounds for defamation suit :) only in singapore .... only in singapore :) just like coffee shops where most of the clientele are desperately trying to squeeze into yellow squares amounting to 2% of the total floor area. only in singapore .... only in singapore :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackfoo 1st Gear February 13, 2007 Share February 13, 2007 I had done the soundproofing of my wheel arches, fenders and boot lid with them. Material wise, I felt that Silent V1 is the best on the market as compared to other brands that are on my car. My firewall and doors are on Dynamat Extreme and all other places are on Bro Mav's bitumen sheets. This V1 material is a homologation of armaflex material with bitumen complete with aluminium backing. Its pros are that it is space saving, provde damping and shielding properties and conform/stick pretty well to surfaces. The best material I had seen and tried thus far. Having said, other than being more expensive, I din detect much improvement after soundproofing my wheel arches and fenders. Workmanship ultimately is most important in soundproofing. So make sure u supervise and specify ur requirement before committing. may i know where u install the Dynamat Extreme? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganeii Neutral Newbie February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 Hi Bro, I did Dynamat Extreme at Sin Kit Toa Payoh. But many places carry this brand though, like Chuang Sin, Autobac, Audioedge, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyv9 Neutral Newbie February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 I do up my doors and they feel more "solid" now. However, during the process, they mis-connect my speakers! Workmanship inconsistent as one side done by more experienced guy and the other side by another young chap. I think I will go to better installer next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaogary Neutral Newbie February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 I guess best is to diy. Nobody to blame except own skill. After some practice, u should get better. Only thing is you need the time. I can spend 20 hours one shot doing sound proofing. Once stripped the car, there is no turning back. You have to finish it or else u need to strip it another day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redantckc 1st Gear February 16, 2007 Author Share February 16, 2007 Thanks Guys for all the feedback. I decide to not do the sp but spend on a better tyre to reduce the road noise. Only improve by a bit but good enough for the time being. DIY is not my option because I don't want to take apart my ride and not able to put it back. Happy CNY guys.!!!!! And drive carefully over this few days... Many Rental Cars drivers on the road during this season period ... Look out for them ... cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...