Meetup 31st Jan

Spinworkx

Aiyah, Hyunn, no need to get new RTA expert to start thread and sabo him la...

I sabo myself...

Β 

Meetup this Wed, same time, same place...same porridge dinner (oops, sorry, that's for me only)

Actually ah....what is the same time? I never knew haha...

Β 

Hyunn...anymore good CD to recommend? The Audiophile 1 & 2 made me sleep man...4 was so much better...

↑ Advertisement

Hi Bro,

Β 

Still remember me? Vectrasonic. Met up u abt 1 mth ago on one of the rainy meet up. Saw u DIY ICE. I too just finish DIYed mine. But sound sux so need some help on tuning. can u help?

Β 

Will be going for tomo meet up. See u there.

Hi Bro,

So you hosting this meetup tomorrow hur?.. Do you know means buying all of us drinks leh.. that's why Hyun reluctant to 'initiate' ...

Β 

I'll be there.. I need help from you, Hyun, Sarong1, Coolbreeze, Kermit and the regulars to audit my TA for 'double' image if any cause the last time, Kermit told me having a 'stray' image for certain frequencies, i guess. Need to recheck this again.

Hi Vec,

I think I remembered you mentioned you without proper ICE and were there for the 1st time that rainy day meetup.

Β 

Can list down your current 'DIY' setup components and what you want the regulars here to help?

That's me.

Β 

1 x 4 channel (diamond audio 3400.4)

1 x 1 channel (diamond audio 3600.1)

1 x RF P2

1 x helix 62 mk comp speaker

1 x CDT CL 61 comp speaker

Β 

I tried to tune and it's no good at all (first time tuning).

Gain too high have POP sound, too low no kick.

Β 

HELP

Edited by Vectrasonic

Will be there tml.

Β 

Got a few new cds to test.

Β 

quite interesting!

Β 

Heehee

Β 

See u guys tml...

Β 

Hyun u dunno that the initiator usually has to buy everyone tea one meh??

Β 

Heehee

Β 

anyways, this meetup has be come a SOP liao. no need for an starter....

Β 

if got newbies, then just tell them abt this place and they will know when to come.

Β 

anyways, i shld be there rain or shine unless if i got work or other commitments.

Edited by Coolbreeze90

Hi Bro,

<< using factory fitted HU and connected to PPI pre amp.>>

Β 

IMHO, this is gonna be a very restrictive source unit to getting better sound. Let's see if other bros can help.

Β 

Hyun?.. any comments please?

Edited by Bobcatsysop

Yea, most factory fitted HU do not have much settings to change and a Preamp also won't help much cause it won't have enough bands or will be hard to fine tune.

Well, i guess it's still worth a try until you get a better HU :)

I'm pretty sure there's many gurus that can help you get the best out of what you have..TA will be out of the question though...

comment ah? i'm still wondering why mega car factories make pretty looking HU that can do like nothing.

Β 

i was browsing the mercedes-benz new showroom (kenna poisoned??? no lah. visiting friend there hehe.) and their A class B class cars, the A-pillar got tweeter mounting! the door speaker is also nicely sitting outside! ok lah, so they made an effort to install the component speakers REASONABLY. the door speakers aren't angled upwards or anything, hehe. and the A-pillar flush mount is so flush it might have gone down the toilet bowl. but still it's a start. but u look at the HU, and it's one of those good look but not good eat HU.

Β 

and those good looks make them so hard to change. i haven't dismanted any of these euro cars panels .. i suppose u can still yank the whole thing out. it's just that u'll end up with a flat surface rather than a curvy dashboard.

Β 

and those intelligent features that give u digital displays of everything from Outside Temperature to Osaka Time, why they hell did they pick that kind of font? Microsoft Word got not enough fonts for them to choose from meh?

Hi Hyun,

Β 

<<i'm still wondering why mega car factories make pretty looking HU that can do like nothing. u look at the HU, and it's one of those good look but not good eat HU. and those good looks make them so hard to change. i haven't dismanted any of these euro cars panels .. i suppose u can still yank the whole thing out. it's just that u'll end up with a flat surface rather than a curvy dashboard.>>

Β 

This is the kind of problem we are facing with regard to a resonable HU that you can do TA and have at least a 5-band EQ will also do.. would be something that we can work on..

↑ Advertisement