Kianbeng Clutched January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 SG only charge $20 from 2am - 5pm, mon-fri leh. Somemore each year got 10 free pass. If MY charge, I think it's whole day one. My relatives from msia never had to pay S$20 coz they plan properly. Either come in over weekend or use the 10 free passes. Unless MY also give free pass / charge certain hours. But I doubt so coz it'll be too hard for them to manage. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 me also long time didn't go in liao. Maybe 3-4months. Sian. now got 2 kids....scare of the recent crime rates. Last time (>10yrs ago) I also got robbed. But never report mah. The 0.005% must be those who reported leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Hope SG take away the 3/4 tank rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 in sg, they impose that becos we hv restricted land n roads to drive, if we let all the my cars in, everywhere will be jammed. so wats the reason for my? maybe to reduce the crime rate, if not many sgians goes in, likely the crime rate will drop...that's the only reason i can think of... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 true... and we pay much much much more road tax compared to cars of e same capacity over in Msia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scottycam Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 both of u must think with ur senses lei, if sg dun charge $20 per msian cars, then we all can convert the number of msian motorbikes tat come in everyday into msian cars liao.Tats why it was implemented during peak hours and on weekdays only. Even now some of these msian workers car pool to work here as it saves them lots of hassle with the motorbike jams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 I also think so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Basically, RM20 is imposed to discourage Thai from going into Malaysia to pump diesel. Everyday, there is alway huge crowd around MY/Thai border petrol kiosk. Price diff is huge btw both countries is huge. MY: RM 1.581 Thai: Bhat 22.54 or RM 2.07 Diff.: RM 0.489 With RM 20, it is negative saving. Why was it imposed? Because MY petrol price is partly paid by MY govt. For us, the saving is still not huge enough to discourage us to pump in JB. By the way, i nvr drive up to JB for makan, groceries & pump petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Haven't go NS Highway .... must pay high toll fee liao .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 (edited) Many singaporean go there for cheap thrill, if it's no longer cheap, just stop going loh...... Anyway I dun think there's any thrill in there. Although their makan and petrol are cheap, but think about the time wasted in jam and custom. I dun think it is worth it Edited January 30, 2007 by Riceracer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Same here, had not being driving to MY for the past 3 years after a near miss in a robbery case at a shopping centre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ironstarz 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 extra link for ppl to read http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Tue...cle/local1_html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Author Share January 30, 2007 Singapore motorists just have to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watergun Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 well, if u ask me, it's a fair deal, MY car come to SG pay SGD$20 SG car go MY pay RM$20 where is the problem?? infact, SG car has better deal.... cheaper petrol, cheaper seafood, cheaper meimei.... Many won't mind as long as they don't get robbed. MY car in SG - chances of getting robbed is almost zero. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 ya now not worth liao. got to load up so much more on seafood, cigarettes, and diapers b4 breakeven. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deepblue Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 they pay bcos they use the well maintained road here. you go over there, need to scared of robbery, scared of pot holes, scared police extortion, and you still need to pay!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highwaycode Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Only Way...is to BOYCOTT liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neokn Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...