MY to push ahead with RM20 surcharge

Apollo

RM20 Levy On Foreign Cars Unlikely To Affect Arrivals From S'pore

By Jackson Sawatan

SINGAPORE, Jan 29 (Bernama) -- The proposal to impose RM20 levy on foreign cars entering Malaysia is unlikely to affect arrivals from Singapore, the country which contributed the biggest number of tourists to Malaysia, Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said.

He said that it was just a matter of getting used to paying the levy.

"I believe Singaporeans will still come to Malaysia even after the imposition of the levy. It's just RM20 which is not a big amount if you convert that into Singapore dollar... I think you'll get used to it," he told a news conference, here Monday. rifle.gif

Tengku Adnan is in Singapore to attend the Asean Tourism Ministers Meeting which is one of the key meetings in conjunction with the ongoing Asean Tourism Forum (ATF) 2007.

Tengku Adnan said that cars from Malaysia were also being charged S$20 to enter Singapore and he had not heard of complaints from the Malaysian motorists even though the amount was huge if converted into the Malaysian ringgit (S$1 = RM2.28).

Tengku Adnan would not say when the authorities would begin to collect the fee or who would be tasked to collect it.

"The matter is currently being finalised by the Attorney-General's Chambers."

Tengku Adnan was also asked whether the target of 10 million tourist arrivals from Singapore this year, is achievable given the various issues such as crime rate in Johor Baharu and the possible haze this year, which may affect the travel plans of Singaporeans.

Tengku Adnan said that the state of crime in Johor Baharu was not as bad as was made out to be by the media here.

"The crime statistics for the whole of Malaysia have gone down, including those in Johor," he said. laugh.gif

Out of 20 million trips that Singaporeans made to Malaysia annually, only 0.005 per cent of the trips encountered problems, he said.

"I'm not saying that it's good (statistics). We certainly don't like what is happening and we are working very closely to the authorities to look at this matter seriously," he said. Security is being beefed up to bring the rate further down and to make sure the safety of tourists are taken care of, he said.

Malaysia has targeted nine million tourists from Singapore last year. As of October, Malaysia already recorded 7.9 million arrivals from the island state.

A total of 72 companies from Malaysia's travel and trade industry participated in the ATF 2007.

---------------

http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/news.php?id=244046

tis guy also another one trying to massage the numbers. out of 20 million trips made by Spore, 0.005% encounter problem. but then go on to say only 7.9mil spore recorded. cow head no meet horse mouth.

once implemented no more causeway jams. haha...

funny, our VEP has certain timing but their surcharge doesnt.

anyway its time to end the love affair with JB. take budget airline to bangkok for weekend! [laugh]

the million $$ question is when? will it happen in our life time? or will only our next grandchildren have to pay? (by the time they sort it out) [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][:p]

Edited by Alfpoon

well, if u ask me, it's a fair deal,

MY car come to SG pay SGD$20

SG car go MY pay RM$20

where is the problem?? infact, SG car has better deal.... cheaper petrol, cheaper seafood, cheaper meimei.... [lipsrsealed]

all these gahmen people, be they sg or my, think just because we can afford cars we can afford anything, just GET USED to it.... nb [furious]

ya..i saw it too..greyish black in colour...It seems to be for cars leaving M'sia.

...looks like we need to get another card soon.

that being said, there's so much for them to sort out. to collect cash or by store value card? where to top up?

as it is, even the current toll pass can only top up in M'sia.

Aiyah... boycott JB lor.

Just need everyone of you to stop visiting JB for one or two months and they will feel the effects.

SG car go MY pay RM$20

Same here Bro [grouphug][grouphug][grouphug][:)]

However, for the 0.005% crime rate part i have my doubts on their words [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

anyway its time to end the love affair with JB. take budget airline to bangkok for weekend! [laugh]

But now thailand also dun like us.. [shakehead]

No traffic jam at the causeway? Sure? But the tourism minister said RM20, if converted to SIN is little. Unless the levy is 3~5 fold, then its the same situation.

On my scouting days during Job Week, we use to go to the private housing estate but my friend would go to the public housing estate instead. Although, he was given genreally like $0.50~$1.00 per house hold, at the end of the exercise, he was easily the top earner.

Aiyah... boycott JB lor.

Just need everyone of you to stop visiting JB for one or two months and they will feel the effects.

Thats why if SG is smart they shld build a track like sepang. BAsically there are 2 big grps of SG cars going up. One grp goes to PG or Sepang to track, n we donate so much RM$ there. The other grp just go holidaying n shopping which I see a certain % will shy away in future.

Taking away the holiday grp, that leaves the trackies grp - who needs to burn rubber on their porsches, lamborghinis, RS4, M3, and what have you. If SG has its own track, all these $$ will come back to SG.

Bloody stupid ting, last time sae until now. Like char boh like that. Wan implement implement la! Sae so much like last time, but nv do. This hoax of the RM20 entry is nv ending. [rifle]

SG car go MY pay RM$20

Same here Bro [grouphug][grouphug][grouphug][:)]

However, for the 0.005% crime rate part i have my doubts on their words [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Dun forget, wen we enter JB, we are boosting up their economy. Take their petrol, makan, shopping, exchange money.

Whereas in SG, the locals already contribute a significant amt of $$$ to our XXXXXXXX liao.