No_worries 6th Gear January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 My clutch pedal will give off a 'squeaky' sound whenever I press it. The sound is more obvious especially if I half clutch and clutch in again, i.e whenever I am stuck in a jam. Since mine is a hydraulic clutch, I checked the fluid level and there is no leak or whatsoever. Besides this problem, the clutch still feels the same and gear engagement is still okie. ANyone had this problem before? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 where's the sound coming from? From the clutch pedal or from the engine compartment? If it's the formal, use WD40 above the clutch pedal. You might be able to see some springs thats holding onto the pedal itself. Spray there. If it's the latter, then I'm not sure if WD40 will work. Actually if you apply grease to it, also can. More lasting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crasher Neutral Newbie January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 Your car won't happen to be a Scubby TS? I have the same problem, it's the spring just above my pedal. Spraying WD40 is only a temp solution. Grease might last longer but it'll come back. I've not found a great solution yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 Change the pump then. But thats if you really cannot tahan the sound. But I'ld think it's serviceable. Just ask your regular mech to pump grease into it. Or they might think it's easier to use silicon spray... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 The clutch pedal arm has a nylon bushing/spacer between the bracket and arm. Over time the nylon wears out and the clutch pedal creaks. Also the cable end can make a chafing noise when you press the pedal if it is dry. Some grease can help that.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crasher Neutral Newbie January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 Any way I can diy? I have a can of silicon spray sitting around somewhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear January 28, 2007 Author Share January 28, 2007 I didn't know the clutch pedal arm has a nylon bushing/spacer between the bracket and arm. Reason being my ride is using a hydraulic clutch. I guess I will ask my mechanic to check it out for me the next time I go for oil change. My ride is more than 2 years old already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 If Under Warrantly....Drive Back to Workshop Better.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 29, 2007 Share January 29, 2007 just point and spray lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 29, 2007 Share January 29, 2007 There is 2 pumps. Not 100% sure but usually the one holding onto the clutch pedal itself is usually mechanical. So grease or silicon will help if used at the right place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched January 29, 2007 Share January 29, 2007 sorry what about acc pedal that has noise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enotsol Neutral Newbie January 29, 2007 Share January 29, 2007 All pedals involves moving joints... so it's always good to lube them once in a while or when you happen to be doing cleaning or washing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Only noise? Sound from pedal or engine side? Use WD40 should help also. But does it feels jammed? ie, press liao doesn't come up? Your RPM stays even when you lift up your acc pedal? Usually the acc pedal is connected to a cable which has a spring to the end of it. Quite seldom got noise unlike the clutch which has a pump. The acc pedal most of the time is because of the cable being jammed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear January 30, 2007 Author Share January 30, 2007 The noise is coming from the driver's cabin, very clear. But interestingly, when it is warm and hot outside, the sound is gone, I didn't hear it today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 My clutch pedal will give off a 'squeaky' sound whenever I press it. The sound is more obvious especially if I half clutch and clutch in again, i.e whenever I am stuck in a jam. Since mine is a hydraulic clutch, I checked the fluid level and there is no leak or whatsoever. Besides this problem, the clutch still feels the same and gear engagement is still okie. ANyone had this problem before? I do get the squeaky sound when raining, cos the sole of my shoes got wet, and the sound come when the wet sole rubbing on the clutch pedal. I wouldn't use WD40 at that area cos there are some rubber component there, and WD40 will deteriorate rubber. Use silicon spray instead, they are rubber friendly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bertcap Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Hi, I am also having squeaky noises with my gear box but it is between the stick and the box. It is like moving the stick left and right... without shifting the gears, there is faint squeaky noises coming from the gear box. Anyone knows what could be the problem? Lack of lubrication too? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear January 30, 2007 Author Share January 30, 2007 (edited) I have this problem too. It is like you move the gear level left to right with or without clutching in, there will be a squeaky sound. My mechanic told me it is normal and I don't worry about it. Btw my ride is a Kimchi Accent. Edited January 30, 2007 by No_worries Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bertcap Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 You're right in your description. It just that I can't stand hearing squeaky noises from somewhere in my car. It does get on my nerves... making me paranoid at times... My ride is a 307 and the noise only started recently. See if I can ask my mechanic to put some grease to rid the noise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...