Kk88 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Does anyone notice this trend? care to discuss? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 The trend seems to be there as the more popular cars are available in the 1.8l version. Some of them include Civic, Altis, etc. The second possible reason is that Cat B COE is price closer or even sometimes lower than Cat A cars, making it more affordable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gohtg Neutral Newbie January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 cause those hot selling cars comes in 1.8L like Wish,Stream,Civic etc......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 (edited) Very simple, it is affortable. Back then in 2003, cars above 1600cc could easily cost more than $85,000. My old ride, 2003 1.5 corolla XLI cost me $74,388/-. Now as the price drop, those driving 1.5 back then could scraped now and purchase 1.8 and above like what I just did. I scraped (tradein) my corolla for $42,500. Minus the cost of my Picnic of $83,388/- and manage with a loan of $40,000/-. I don't mind upgrading to a 2000cc car with only a slight increase in my monthly loan. Back in 2003, the picnic cost around $110,000/-. So with so many big cc cars below $80,000/- (Sonata, Civic 1.8,..... etc) there should be a trend for ppl to change for the better ride. Edited January 24, 2007 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acrs Neutral Newbie January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Agreed Bro, Now the car is so cheap. Why buy a smaller car if we can afford a bigger cc without spending much. But got to consider about petrol , insurance and road tax expenses too . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Bro, You have the same thinking as me. However, one route is to buy a similar price 1.8 or 2.0 ride compared to a 2003 ride. Another thinking is that you can take back a similar 1.6 ride and then pay much less in installment which a lot of people is taking the route also. For me, I took the chance to upgrade. I recall clearly when I bought my Protege in 2003, the 1.6 Civic basic model is 89k. Now my "Premium" 1.8VTI-S is 74K. Unbelievable...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 mainstream cars would still fall into Cat A. Some of the reason Cat B is more in demand is mainly due to the type of cars that are being promoted here. Look at the no of WISHes and you will get an idea. Newer cars are also coming with bigger engines. In most countries, having a 1.6L and < car is a joke.. most cars are at least 1.8 and above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Does anyone notice this trend? care to discuss? Look at the stat from LTA here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/corp_info/doc/MVP01-...20by%20COE).pdf Cat A cars increase from 265,992 in 1996 to 284,551 in 2006. While Cat B cars increase from 99,875 in 1996 to 187,776 in 2006, almost double Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Agreed I was about to upgrade to Altis (1.6 going at $56,888) at BM showroom when I enquire about the picnic and was told by the SE that basic model cost $83,388. After much calculation on the spot on Road Tax, Ins and loan repayment, decided to puy picnic. Second Hand dealer at site paid for my deposit and all agreement signed on that day. No regrets on my upgrading and kids enjoys the space of picnic. (side note* ; - still eyeing at the Previa if I could affort it. Only things that prevent me from getting is the price ($96,888), cc (2400), Road Tax & Ins. Should Previa price drop further to about $85,888, I will be the first to grab it. Just hope for that day to come. Pray hard hard.... ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 I am similar like you. Did a lot of calculations prior to change. As my family is till small, dun really like a MPV. So stay with a Sedan. However, I have to agree the price is very attractive for a Picnic..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 I believe that the price of Toyota Previa will drop further as BM is promoting the 2700cc Fortunner which is a mix of SUV & MPV. Test drive it and mine you . Almost similar to driving the Luxes RX300. But the price between $120,000/- to $145,000/-. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Hmm.... Not willing to spend so much on car leh. Rather spend it somewhere else... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 True. Better plan for rainy days. Mine after so much calculation, consideration and setting aside some money for rainy days decided to upgrade with that mere extra saving in hands. Luckily that picnic was below $85,000/- nowaday which I am able to squeese out some cash for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Cash in hand is always good. As long as car comfortable, can liao. Unless got spare cash to play, why not. To me, its a must to have at least 6 months of total family income in terms of savings in case of rainy days. However, the more the merrier...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hshs 5th Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 1.8 civic for example. Only 5k different compare 1.6. But on paper is only about 3k different. Because your COE is under cat B (13-14k) instead of cat B (11-12k). Worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Does anyone notice this trend? care to discuss? 1st car owner still like to buy 1.6L below car only those 2nd and above keen to 1.8L and above car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Does anyone notice this trend? care to discuss? Toyota Wish 1.8 .... is giving 14km/litre .... vs other 1.5/1.6 litres which clock about 10km/11km per litres ... So what you say leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 I believe that the price of Toyota Previa will drop further as BM is promoting the 2700cc Fortunner which is a mix of SUV & MPV. Test drive it and mine you . Almost similar to driving the Luxes RX300. But the price between $120,000/- to $145,000/-. But fortuner look like 7th son from the current TV serial "the 10 brothers" leh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...