Lowering spring+ suitable shocks or coilovers?

Boyboy

of course, if cost is no object, coilovers...

but what if the coilover goes kaput? then must replace that side..

isn't it cheaper to just install lowering springs and aftermarket shocks? i'm not gonna want to vary my ride height or stiffness. going more for lowering and stiffening to improve my cornering, but don't want to spend a bomb.

my ride's a getz. what do u guys n gals recommend? for springs and shocks tt is.. have read up a bit on coilovers liao

I asked a workshop in JB and they told me that coilover need to be serviced every 2 years.

After servicing the coilover is as good as new. The service cost about $340 ringgit.

Spring+Shocks should still be somewhat cheaper vs coilovers. I dont use Coilovers which I have been told by workshops can be very stiff n even at the most comfy setting. They told me its for cars where owners do a lot of tracking but heh most of us use our cars 95% of time on our roads, not track right?. So I went with springs+shocks to lower n get the reasonable comfort I want. I mean, come on, I often hear a lot of people saying how good coilovers give u in terms of handling to get the better lap time on track n position, but are our cars track cars? Maybe 2% of the time on track only?

So I went with Eibach Springs and Koni FSD(Frequency Selective Dampers). Car lowered, yet confort level is close to OEM. No regrets. I dont track(at least for the time being) n even if I do I ll just do it for the thrill, dont really bother too much about track time of position.

icic.. i know that for lowered spring with STOCK damper, the comfort is greatly compromised.

not to mention that the shocks will have a reduced life span. maybe i'll just lower the springs first and get a good set of shocks when my stock ones die.. [idea]

$340 every 2 yrs sounds a bit ex huh? cos shocks shd last longer than that..

There are lowering springs that doesn't compromise on ride comfort... Eibach is one of them... It works well with stock shocks.... if budget permits, go for coilovers.... Handling will be greatly improved.... BC coils is one brand where u can change just the shocks if they kaput... [;)][;)]

thx for the info.. [:)]

might change to spring first on original shocks until my stock shocks give way, than change to sports shocks.. better for cashflow [laugh]

anyway, in case anyone else digs up this thread, update from me

i did BC coilovers. handling is sweet now, but very much bumpier than stock. guess u can't have everything. haven;'t gone for re-adjustment (of height and stiffness) and wheel alignment). i may make the front end a lil lower and soften it all round.

I just ask Fong Kim regarding BC for my ride(cerato) it cost $1250 plus free balancing. Quite affordable so decided to change soon. Regarding yr ride maybe u wanna give them a call. But i guess price range is around there la.

bro.... free alignment ya not balancing.....balancing is done during rotation or changing tires or rims....

Shue Te. Y today i keep on typing crap. Yaya is alighment. Today not myself. IN another thread also type wrong thing dui to read HotStuff de shi hou co ck eye. Haiz ok. Sry guys for Wrong Info. Pai Seh Pai Seh.

u sound like wolvy

if u aren't, wad a snob u are [rolleyes]. i believe any ride can use coilovers, as long as the driver prefers handling to comfort. my getz has been transformed. it's no sports car, but the cornering limit is much higher now. i have not yet breached the dry grip yet. last time, tyre screech around most corners [laugh]