Czech Neutral Newbie February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 anyway i think y the waja's price is still around the 50k region is because the engine's from mitsubishi.. so they need to pay the royalty to mitsubishi. anyone disagree with my thoughts?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meggyc Neutral Newbie February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 (edited) Just wondering what car(s)/models/year of mark are you comparing with as a benchmark for the Waja? Lots of Toyota and Honda bros say that their new models cars have better handling at higher speeds. Interesting to see who is right Also, I know lots Waja bros say that Waja has Lotus engineering. Unfortunately, facts point that it is the Satria and the Gen-2 that are mostly tuned with the help of Lotus. Waja is only partially tuned after 2003 model. So who is right in this case? Don't talk about comparison to european cars either. Proton once claimed that Waja meets Euro crash test but when EuroNcap crashed it at 60km/h, the car's body was damaged so badly by the impact that it became unstable. Edited February 3, 2007 by Meggyc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmo Clutched February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 (edited) Handling is good Edited February 3, 2007 by Gizmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 Nope...i lompang on my fren's waja. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sss_man Neutral Newbie February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 I've been a Waja owner for slightly over 3 years now since new. Most of the time, u'll get more negative feedback/review of this car rather than the positive ones mainly because of it's branding and also its a malaysian national car. Should eg. bmw, saab or those more prestigious car maker is the one which produced the waja, then it'll definitely be the other way round. As for my own review after OWNING the waja, all I can say is its a very reliable workhorse, economical to maintained and stunningly handsome with some cosmetics makeover. Dun have much bad review on the waja except full of praise. Only problematics parts encountered is the filmsy door handle which breaks easily (replaced all before once), but then, each whole set replacement that comes with body colour cost me only rm25 which is equivalent to S$11! i dun think any other car maker can beat this car when it comes to spare parts pricing. In terms of performance, engine power is comparable to my ex mazda 323 and handling wise, better than my ex civic ek3 comparing stock to stock. Looks is subjective depending on individual taste but one's can find aftermarkets parts in abundance at dirt cheap price across the causeway. BUT sadly, a new owner will be taking over my waja in a couple of days time. The waja is the 6th car i've owned and also the longest, all my ex ride between 1 year or at most 2 years only. Guess i'm the typical singaporean when it comes to car ownership. FYI, i succumb to the temptation of getting myself Singapore most favourite & sellable MPV, i think everybody knows what hehehe..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laxidate Neutral Newbie February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 Wish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 M'sia boleh. Proton tak boleh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sss_man Neutral Newbie February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 quite obvious yeah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 I used to drove two Es Civic - '00 ESi and '02 VTi. ESi (non Vtec) is hopeless..... VTi with Vtec is power but both the above with wishbone behind does not give me a "stable" feel when travelling up north when drive past 140-150kmph...... Previously tried Citroen Xantia Other such as Toyota Corona EG Civic not too bad but still usual Jap but I think slightly better than ES Well for those whom feel their Jap handles "better", I guess each have their own "preference" (PS Used to drive BMW - 1st batch highway patrol, fell "stable" too) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 Quote Handling is good Agreed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 Quote Hi Kelvin, how's your new ride? well, so far so good..... planning to get more accessories for it,. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laxidate Neutral Newbie April 18, 2007 Share April 18, 2007 Yeah,a case of form over function Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 Quote The "new" Waja front grill looks VW.... is that a hint that VW will take over Proton in March? I hope VW is not going to loose arm and leg on Proton just like what they did with Rover. State protected automoblie company just cannot it, it not only the management, I think it rot to it core, can't just fire everybody after taking over ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...