Bus lane out of bound around CBD

Fivegear

Guess our new Transport Minister is launching a series of measures that will really make public transport users love him.

As the chinese say 'New officer-in-charge...3 strokes of fire' or something like that. [laugh][laugh]

Get your digi-cams ready.... make sure the buses don't use the normal lanes :P

Oops... camera HP oso can :P

Edited by Kklee

erhmm.. if not wrong, bus can oso use normal lanes to travel as long as the bus dun road hog.. So in fact they can use any lane legally at all times.. but for cars, we are not allowed to move on the bus lanes during certain hrs.. but the new measures will mean no more bus lanes operations on Sat.

Dun know where u hear it from, but here the report from Channelnewsasia website-

Changes to bus lane operating hours from April

By Noor Mohd Aziz, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 15 January 2007 2301 hrs

SINGAPORE : There will be changes to the bus lane operation hours from April 2007.

The Land Transport Authority will be extending the full day bus lane scheme to other areas in the Central Business District, namely Eu Tong Sen Street, Hill Street, Victoria Street, Bras Basah Road and Somerset Road.

The weekday bus lane operation hours of 4.30pm to 7pm will be changed to 5pm to 8pm.

The bus lane operations on Saturdays will cease at all locations, except where full day bus lanes are in effect.

And in another move, more niche bus services are in the works.

The Public Transport Council is currently reviewing guidelines for this premium bus service.

These measures were announced by Transport Minister Raymond Lim on Monday evening at the opening ceremony of the new Fort Canning Tunnel.

The three-lane tunnel took nearly three and half years to build and was constructed at a cost of $34 million.

The tunnel will be opened to the public from 6am on January 16.

It will lead from Stamford Road to Penang Lane. There will be an ERP gantry at the end of the tunnel. - CNA /ls

No point lar. Its marginal improvement. What will help is to make sure ppl do not hog the lanes, or do stupid stunts like reversing after missing a turning, and the No. 1 cause of slow traffic is the retarded reaction of most drivers. Light turn green, most drivers are still busy kaypohing abt neighboring car mods thinking whether to take pic send to stomp or talking to partner while gazing in her eyes(go hotel do), look into their mirror to find new zits and so on..... sigh!!

Agree that buses can use normal lanes too. IMHO, with this implementation, certain issues would be solved, but if the buses still need to use normal lanes, then this implementation is not entirely successful.

Think about this... with the implementation, other road users have one lane less to use ( capacity reduced )i.e 4-lane reduce by 25% and 3-lane reduces by 33%. Same amount of traffic, less capacity, traffic jam, ERP increase?

IIRC, the MRT is primarily to move lots of people around where bus services cannot provide thus the pairing of MRT with feeder services (now also LRT) in our satellite towns. That should be the correct implementation i.e. if we replace trunk services passing thru town and replace them with competitively priced feeder services within CBD, the traffic issues should be resolved.

Aiyo, do u know why? Because everyone busy looking at ur new 6AT. [:p] Traffic upside down because got a chio chio rx-8 zooming down the street. [:)]

From the article .... "The Land Transport Authority had introduced the full day bus lane along Orchard Road as a pilot scheme. The trial, which lasts for six months, started in 3 October 2005."

Issit ?? shocked.gif I didn't even know about that & I always drop off my wife after istana along the bus-lane when she need to go Plaza Sing. sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

".....if we replace trunk services passing thru town and replace them with competitively priced feeder services within CBD, the traffic issues should be resolved. "

I dont think this will work out as there are already too many pple complaining the lack of feeder bus or trunk bus in the residential area.

MRT & Bus pairing maybe good idea but the convenience of taking a single bus trip to the destination is just too attractive to most pple.

i think i ever read someone posting this qn in the ST forum complaining that she can't turn easily into Plaza Sing on the left due to a full day bus lane there and the dotted line is too near the junction for her to cut in on time to turn left. Think LTA got replied that it can be done.. etc,

if turn left out from small road onto main road, think u can inch out a bit slowly onto the bus lane and then quickly signal to move out of the bus lane. I dun see any problem with turning out right too.