Will LTA shrink COE quota?

Quantum

one day COE will be abolished. ERP will be as expensive as 10dollars

Actually u r rite. From what i heard, LTA got a futuristic imaginative plan such as when a driver travelling on a straight road, he turn left he will kena deduct 3 bucks, turn right kena deduct 5 bucks, go staright after the traffic light deduct 10 bucks, u will charge for every road u use around the island, tat moment they will deduct COE. As COE are use to limit volume but tat dun limit usage. Currently ERP gentry around the island is showing govt some effort to minimise and control vehicle usage. ERP gentry and COE are the 2 tools currently that work hand in hand to ease the traffic but i dun see it be effective, the roads are still as jam as ever.

Agreed... i got friends who had been driving cars for years and when u ask them to take bus or MRT they are really at a loss... sometimes MRT is even faster than travelling in a car.. :)

if you can print one cert and sell it at $10k+, do you think you want to abolish this system? labour cost,paper and printer ink costs so little only for printing that cert.

how bout we see things another way;

coe high, ppl take loan, den household disposable income for car ownership, govt must share wif banks.. why? because must factor in the interest cost which ppl pay out of pocket.. say ppl budget $1000/mth for cars.. den maybe govt eat $400, car dealer eat $200, bank eat $200, rest misc...

if coe scrap,car supply become cheap n plentiful, govt implement ERP islandwide, then for ppl with $1000/mth budget, govt can eat $650, car dealer eat $150, bank eat wind, rest misc

so if given this scenario, you think govt will bite or not? [sweatdrop]

Edited by Joneses

but i dun see it be effective, the roads are still as jam as ever.

its not suppose to 'work' effectively now.. if its 'works' effectively now, den nobody will buy cars.. its suppose to 'work' (i.e. erp price becomes so high it turns ppl to public transport) when they feel that enough ppl have bought their cars.. so how much is enough? only LTA knows [sweatdrop]

So any views on this coming COE Bid? Shld be UPz? Or DOWNz?

This wednesday 17th Jan COE result should go down, then car prices will go down also, pple starting going to showroom book their rides, dealers have 3 weeks time to collect orders as there will be a 3 weeks break, on the 7th Feb one should be go up again.

It seems that LTA wants to push the 2 COE exercises of Feb to be before CNY and before budget day on 15 Feb. [sweatdrop] So no more 3 weeks break.

February COE 1st round ends 2nd Feb '07 (Friday) and 2nd rounds ends 13th Feb '07 (Tuesday)....

http://www.mta.org.sg/documents/TenderSchedule07.pdf

Edited by Ahyoo2002

hmm.. they put there revised with two ** for the febuary bids..

i wonder when and why they revised it... our scholar govt so smart.. sure must got some reason one [sweatdrop]

U make the right point, few mths ago newspaper got publish article abt govt wanna push more ppl to take public transport in near future. The people they refer to most probably are the car owners. I think they wait till the right quota meet liao, many kena trap liao den [whip][knife] all of them

Oh.. ok.. sorry, my mistake, thanks for ur link.

Cos i was thinking that Feb 1st bidding start on Feb 1st mon and result out on Feb 1st wed. [:)]

Thanks [thumbsup] Bro for correcting it.

hmm.. they put there revised with two ** for the febuary bids..

i wonder when and why they revised it... our scholar govt so smart.. sure must got some reason one [sweatdrop]

What I can see from here is that instead of only one COE exercise to be in time before CNY and budget, now is 2 exercises.

Look at positive side, it means more poeple can get their ride before CNY. [flowerface]

If true then die liao.

I think maybe more ERP on the card??? [sweatdrop]

COE is to control car population, ERP to control the usage, so they make you be able to own the cars, but only can use it like OPC, where you must use public transport more [bigcry]

What I can see from here is that instead of only one COE exercise to be in time before CNY and budget, now is 2 exercises.

Look at positive side, it means more poeple can get their ride before CNY.

teh govt usually plan their schedules very well; i.e. already take into account the holidays.. i'm just wondering if its a last minute change and why..

what scenario could be of benefit if they bring forward the 2nd COE exercise in feb? hmm.. maybe if their budget confirm liao going to announce scrapping of COE? then can squeeze the maximum out of the COE as well as move forwards their usage-centric traffic control policy? [laugh] i think IF they annoucne during budget, it will be immediate effect right? cuz even if say effective april 07, who wud wan to bid for march 07 COE?

i read the Business Times article on PM Lees indication on the budget.. sounds like they are gunning for a budget with huge economic impact.. after all this is the first budget speech after his electoral mandate in 2006.. cannot play play.. even our economy boom after PM Lee got his mandate.. [laugh]

haha so many conspiracy theories [sweatdrop]