Limws1 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 My wife hit a Mazda 3 last Thur on AYE. The Mazda got a small dent next to the license plate. See pic. The owner wants to change the whole bumper at Mazda Motors and claim from my insurance. In the end, we settle for a private settlement at CAS to change the bumper. In addition, I agreed to compensate $50 for his taxi fare. The repair cost me $600. Do you think the owner is resonable? If claim my insurance, will my insurance allow him to change the bumper? What would you do if you encounter such driver? [inline IMAGE_028.jpg] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 $600 for this. never in my life will give them this amount. will let them claim insurance instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 Change whole bumper bcos of a small dent? The workshop should be able to knock out the dent and do respray. $600 is too much for such a small damage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 If U hav workshop.......Call him go to your workshop and Repair.... Dun let him claim Insurance.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 If metal body part den can hit back, but if kena plastic one i think need to change as hit back will still leave a scar. However if kena a little bit, i think no need to change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superduper Neutral Newbie January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 you have not meet this type of guy yet. There are only 2 options: either you settle with him or get him to claim from your insurance. He is not interested in your recomd workshop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Author Share January 8, 2007 $600 for this. never in my life will give them this amount. will let them claim insurance instead Claim insurance for $600 may end up paying higher premium for the next 3 years. The additional premiums will most likely exceed $600. If let him claim insurance, he will surely go to agent to change the bumper which may cost up to $2000. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Author Share January 8, 2007 If U hav workshop.......Call him go to your workshop and Repair.... Dun let him claim Insurance.... The owner is not interested in repair. His first choice is change whole bumper at agent workshop. Hope his karma will catch up with him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 like this dent cost $600 he is a sucking blood ghost meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewtankw 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 I have met worst.. Last time I kena someone's backside.. Just slight scratches.. He cry father cry mother. die die dun want to settle.. SOmemore near his house, call his father and mother and insurance agent to come down somemore.. It's freakking unbelievable. In the end let insurance settle.. Guess whats the final sum?... 3000+++ Have to pay for his lost of use of car for 3 days KNN. Sometimes claim insurance is even worse. You end up paying through your lost of NCD as well as premium increase for the next 2-3yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonjees 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 My wife hit a Mazda 3 last Thur on AYE. The Mazda got a small dent next to the license plate. See pic. The owner wants to change the whole bumper at Mazda Motors and claim from my insurance. In the end, we settle for a private settlement at CAS to change the bumper. In addition, I agreed to compensate $50 for his taxi fare. The repair cost me $600. Do you think the owner is resonable? If claim my insurance, will my insurance allow him to change the bumper? What would you do if you encounter such driver? u lucky already $600 change new bumper plus spraying and workmanship. for that bumper i am sure it cant be knock out cos its plastic. it is the car owner's right to claim insurance and request for a new bumper. its really a simple application of the theory, you hit it, you pay for it. just be glad you didnt knock a ferrari hehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonjees 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 if can settle privately its the best, if u get claimed, ncb will be gone and loading imposed as well next year. if you have got 30% or more NCB its just not worth it to lose it cos of $3k. 3 yrs to collect back the percentage discounts, insurance companies just laughing all the way to the bank while they impose the loading on you. Somemore next year wanna change insurance company also cannot, die die must let them impose the loading for a year hehe. Someone just reversed his car onto mine, crack my rare front bumper (heart break ), lets see if he makes the wise choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Author Share January 8, 2007 Plastic bumper can be repaired even when dented. Checkout http://www.adsm.com.sg/works.php Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonjees 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 $600 for a new bumper plus spraying expensive meh? heng is mazda 3, so many nowadays thats why maybe cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonjees 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 sure, just heat and putty over lor ... but they also cant just respray that one spot, whole bumper has to be resprayed. there will still be reflection of the dent. if you knock ppl's car, of cos you will want to pay the least possible amount for your mistake. but you got to think in the victim's shoe, why should he/she compromise when its not his/her fault? its like you brought a birthday cake, take it out, put on table, then a stranger just comes and sticks his finger in the cake and offers to fill it up with cream. like that can mah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avatar_mp3 Neutral Newbie January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 I sympathies with you but he has every right to demand that kind of repair even if it were to change bumper since he is the innocent party. It could be only a small dent to you but maybe to him, its an eye sore and repairing a bumper will never be as good as getting a new one. Maybe just forget about this incident and move on.... This kinda thing happen everyday... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Author Share January 8, 2007 Yes I already settled his repair bill. My insurance is up for renewal with 50% NCD. I'll buy NCD protector next round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 My wife hit a Mazda 3 last Thur on AYE. The Mazda got a small dent next to the license plate. See pic. The owner wants to change the whole bumper at Mazda Motors and claim from my insurance. In the end, we settle for a private settlement at CAS to change the bumper. In addition, I agreed to compensate $50 for his taxi fare. The repair cost me $600. Do you think the owner is resonable? If claim my insurance, will my insurance allow him to change the bumper? What would you do if you encounter such driver? Hi friend, dun bother abt this guy. He cannot claim insurance for such a small dent. Offer him your workshop repair. If he does not want, dun bother. He will not be able to claim you as his excess will be more than the repair cost itself. Cheers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...